We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean, convenient place to stay for a reasonalble price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pines Motel

Save Saved
You added Pines Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pines Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   920 Camino Real, Cottonwood, AZ 86326   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Cottonwood
GreenLeadersBronze level
Buena Park, California
1 review
“A clean, convenient place to stay for a reasonalble price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

The Pines motel staff was friendly, and accommodated our early arrival. Our room was very comfortable, and big enough for up to three people to stretch out. The kitchenette amenities were in good working order, and clean. The motel is located within walking distance of a major grocery store, that is open early, and closes late, and within short driving distance of a WalMart. In terms of local sightseeing, the motel is less than an hour away from Sedona, AZ, with its beautiful scenic rock formations, and close to Jerome, a historic mining town.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCory, Manager at Pines Motel, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thank you! We think our location is very helpful in its' central location near all you would need. Sedona is 20 minutes away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    36
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
29
58
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

very nice, clean, family run motel. close to everything in Cottonwood. we stayed in a mini-suite with our friends, which worked out great economically. We made one breakfast in the room, and used their outdoor barbeque and picnic tables one evening;a beautiful,warm, full moon night.
Great jumping off location for day trips to Sedona, Jerome and Prescott.
would definately stay there again!

Room Tip: liked the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCory, Manager at Pines Motel, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thank you for your review! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

I stayed at the Pines Motel in October 2010 in a one bedroom with a queen sized bed and enjoyed it very much. The rooms have been refurbished with new furniture and the bed was very, very, comfortable. The motel is not right on the main road (although it is close) which means you don't hear all the traffic passing by all night long. It made for a quiet night which is what I like. The room was a bit on the small side but for me that wasn't a drawback. It may be for others though. At any rate, I was pleasantly surprised when I found the place and enjoyed it so much that I stayed an additional two nights as a base for seeing everything else in the surrounding area (Sedona, Jerome, etc). On previous visits to Cottonwood, I've stayed at the Super 8 and Motel 6 but in my opinion, the Pines is much better.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCory, Manager at Pines Motel, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thank you r28a!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

The room was quint and small - which is all that was needed as we were gone all day and only there to sleep at night. We had the kingsize bed and it was very comfortable, pillows on bed also very comfortable. looking on priceline for prices - the price for this room was >$80, which i wouldn't have paid for for just sleeping there - however found a better price at http://www.azpinesmotel.com/ and that price was good enough for what we had planned and for the room. Bathroom was small, but did the trick - hot showers. Refridgerator in room nice to have. pool was not open when we were there, as colder out but it looked nice although is small pool

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCory, Manager at Pines Motel, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Thank you for your review! I'm glad our place worked out for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland,ct
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

We found the Pines staff very friendly and personable, The room was clean and fresh. The location central to many popular attractions.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCory, Manager at Pines Motel, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

The rooms are nothing like they are pictured on the website...The tub was totally disgusting...There are plenty of other motels in the area to choose from...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCory, Manager at Pines Motel, responded to this review, July 5, 2010
Thank you for your review. The pictures you speak of on the website are of the MiniSuites with feather blankets. However, you chose a 2 queen standard room and there are accurate pictures of both types of rooms from the website reservations. The tubs you speak of are vigorously cleaned after every guest and applogize it may have appeared dirty. One quick call to the front desk would have prompted a quick inspection by our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palermo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

We stayed in the kitchen suites in the newer section of the motel. The proprietor thinks the mattresses are Serta Master Suite. I forgot to look before leaving, but if it's a comfy sleet with nice sheets and bedding you will love this place. They offer a nice BBQ and it's close to the grocery store. The room is very large and everything was super clean. I would definitely stay again, if ever in this town. Too bad it's not a chain! I would definitely look for them in other areas of the world if they were. The beds equal those I had in San Francisco, CA and paid a whole lot more for the experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCory, Manager at Pines Motel, responded to this review, April 13, 2010
Thank you for the great review! Those beds ARE comfy!! :) See you next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pines Motel

Address: 920 Camino Real, Cottonwood, AZ 86326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Cottonwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Cottonwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pines Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a hill, the Pines Motel boasts beautiful views of the scenic Cottonwood and Verde Valley areas. The Pines Motel is in the middle of it all. We are only 15 minutes from the magnificent red rocks of Sedona, Arizona and Oak Creek Canyon and other popular destinations such as the Verde River, Verde Canyon Railroad, Out of Africa, Cliff Castle Casino, Grand Canyon, Jerome, Clarkdale, Camp Verde, Montezuma's Castle and Tuzigoot. Browse our site and learn about area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Pines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pines Hotel Cottonwood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pines Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.