We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay for a group” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cottonwood Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cottonwood Hotel to your Saves list
Cottonwood Hotel
930 N. Main Street, Cottonwood, AZ 86326   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Cottonwood B&B and Inns
Monument, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay for a group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I just recently took organized a couple ride on motorcycles through Arizona. We were looking for a places to stay that would allow our group to gather and feel like we could be a group. This place was perfect. We had the entire upstairs to ourselves, plus they had a great deck out front that overlooked the main street, which made for a great place to relax and have a little social hour. The rooms were very nice and clean. Don't let the outside fool you when you pull up. It's a great place to stay and we will be back.

Room Tip: My wife and I had the wine room which was very nice. We saw all the rooms and you can't go wron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood_Hotel_930, Owner at Cottonwood Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing the historic Cottonwood Hotel for your recent stay and for taking the time to write us a nice review. I was happy to hear that we worked out for your large group. We look forward to your next visit. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    19
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
40
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I enjoy Arizona history. Before you arrive at Cottonwood Hotel you are given a choice of accommodations and then your own parking spot. When you arrive, you are given a tour by the owner, Karen, who delights in telling of her love for her hotel and the Cottonwood area. It’s charm comes out in the room you might have selected with wood floors and decor that fits the room name; ours was the Mae West Room. Karen has decorated and updated the room so you feel you have stepped back in time; yet, at the same time, including the high speed internet, Direct TV, frig, microwave, etc. Bathroom is “true to the times” small with claw-footed bath tub, yet, has a good shower head and great luxury towels and amenities. The hotel is in a prime location to the Verde Valley, Jerome, Sedona, Tuzigoot Nat’l Monument, Blazin’ M Ranch, wine tasting rooms and a great museum we discovered called Clemenceau Heritage Museum. Great restaurants across or down Main Street from Nic’s Italian Steak & Crab House to Bing’s Burger Station in a 40s full-service gas station. There is unique shopping all up and down Main Street; our favorite was Larry’s Antiques. The Cottonwood Hotel balcony was a relaxing place to unwind and share the day’s experiences with other guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood_Hotel_930, Owner at Cottonwood Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write the Cottonwood Hotel such an awesome review and share with others your Old Town experience. I was delighted to hear that you had a great time and greatly appreciate your support for our cultural heritage. Thanks again for choosing us for your lodging needs. Hope to see you again during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

It's the only hotel we stay at in Cottonwood. Right downtown and close to everything. Very cozy. Oh and...John freakin Wayne used to stay here. Ohhh yehhh... if you're a couple...stay in room number five. Leopard skin pillow cases and what not.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood_Hotel_930, Owner at Cottonwood Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Happy to hear that my smallest room #5 called "Dusk" worked again for this cozy couple. This room has one of the original bathrooms where John Wayne actually soaked his booty in the clawfoot tub! Wayne romanced Gail Russell here at the Cottonwood Hotel during their 1946 filming of “Angel & the Badman” on more than one occasion and not just this room. We dedicated our largest unit #2 to the “Duke”, calling it the John Wayne Suite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The Cottonwood Hotel is truly a magnificent landmark in old town Cottonwood. The history alone would make it a wonderful stay, however, the owner, Karen, has visibly put her heart and soul into making this hotel a truly one of a kind experience. My family planned a weekend to celebrate my father's 75th birthday. We booked a reservation on the Verde Canyon Train trip, but wanted to spend an entire weekend together. After looking on line, and reading numerous reviews of the Cottonwood Hotel, my boyfriend and I took a recon trip to Cottonwood to check things out. There are NOT ENOUGH words to describe this most perfect getaway. Karen had one room left for that day, apologizing that it was the "smallest" room at the hotel. Small or not, her attention to every little detail in this room was remarkable. From the wine glasses and corkscrew, to the matching linens and towel and shower curtain, plus the accessibility to power strips so you are never at a loss for an outlet...she has thought of everything. After our first trip there, we went home and immediately made reservations for our family weekend. Karen greeted us by name, remembered we there for my father's birthday, had little extra decorations in my parent's suite (the Mae West Suite)...had tasting coupons for the Pillsbury Wine company. She also has countless recommendations of places to eat and things to do. She is a gem in this little desert town. I almost hesitate to write this review for fear of having to fight for room in the future. Honestly, if your travel plans include Cottonwood, and if they don't, they should...this is the place to stay. We will be back again and again and again. Thank you Karen for sharing this piece of history and a beautiful piece of yourself with all of us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood_Hotel_930, Owner at Cottonwood Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share all of your positive comments about your stay with us at the Cottonwood Hotel. Reviews like yours truly make it all worthwhile to own and run a small hotel. I was thrilled to hear that after your first visit with us, you went home and booked online, choosing us for you and your family to celebrate your dads birthday. I always love adding that little extra touch to any celebration that I am aware of being celebrated here. It was again a pleasure having you as a guest and much gratitude for your appreciation and patronage. I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Karen and her Cottonwood Hotel are absolutely wonderful! We stayed in the John Wayne suite #2 over the Memorial Day weekend and had a great time. Her hotel is welcoming and nicely appointed. The beds are a welcome comfort after a long day of sightseeing. The balcony, overlooking Main Street of Old Town Cottonwood, is a great place to unwind with a nice bottle of wine from one of the 3 local tasting rooms. Old Town Cottonwood is the perfect location to base a visit to the area. It doesn't have the crowds of Sedona but is just a few minutes away. The hotel is also close to the Verde Valley Railroad & Tuzigoot National Monument, both a must see. The only negative was the fact that we could not stay longer in this beautiful area and utilize Karen's vast knowledge of the local history and sites. We can't wait to go back and the Cottonwood Hotel will definitely be on our list. Thanks for the hospitality Karen!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood_Hotel_930, Owner at Cottonwood Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Wow! Thanks so much for the great review and for the Cottonwood Hotel. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in my little historic hotel and Old Town. Makes my "Labour of Love" even more grateful for the journey. Can't wait for your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Cottonwood Hotel is situated in a great spot in downtown Cottonwood. The hotel is located within minutes of the Verde Valley Railroad & Tuzigoot National Monument.

Karen on the website made no bones about #5 Dusk being small. The room is beautifully decorated and thoroughly charming. It is refreshing to see an Innkeeper take pride in their hotel including the cleanliness & products they use. I was even surprised when my husband commented on the room and he was pleased. The mattress is soooo comfortable!

Karen made different recommendations for us and we went to Nic's for dinner. The food was excellent.

We would love to come back and sit on the balcony with a glass of wine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood_Hotel_930, Owner at Cottonwood Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Room #5 'Dusk' is the Cottonwood Hotel's only small standard room in the hotel. For $30+ an upgrade to one of our deluxe rooms may be more desirable for most with twice the space. They are also well-appointed with wet-bar/kitchenette, sitting area, wine glasses, cork screw, real coffee mugs and more. We always appreciate our guests taking the time to write us a pleasant review. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

After a busy but fun week of hanging out with family, my girlfriend and I decided to get away for a night to decompress (it was also her birthday the week before, and we hadn't really had an opportunity to celebrate alone). I wanted to surprise her and initially considered taking her to one of our usual places, but thought it would be fun to try some place new, so after reading about the Cottonwood Hotel on TripAdvisor, I thought I'd take a chance on it. I am SO glad I did (and so was she!). This was a funky, charming little hotel and was exactly what we were looking for. Karen greeted me us by name as we walked in the door and cheerfully showed us up to our room, pointing out all of its history and amenities. Since I had mentioned we were celebrating my girlfriend's birthday, she had done a few nice extra personal touches for the birthday girl (definitely earned me some points!). Although the room had a ton of history (it's called the Mae West room, and John Wayne had bathed in the tub) it had several modern amenities, too, like DirecTV and a VERY comfortable mattress. Karen also showed us the common balcony that all of the upstairs rooms (all 5 of them!) could access ... it had a great view of Main Street as well as great views of the Verde Valley. She also had some great recommendations for local restaurants, too ... the hotel is walking distance to several great places to eat, and more importantly for us, it was walking distance to the tasting rooms of all three of the local Cottonwood wineries. After doing some tasting and enjoying some dinner, we brought a bottle back to the room and enjoyed it on the lit balcony, which was the perfect way to end the night. If you're looking for an ultra-modern, metropolitan hotel, this will disappoint you ... but then again, you're probably not heading to Cottonwood, Arizona in search of an ultra-modern hotel. ;) But if you're looking for a comfortable and relaxing place to stay with some history, personality, charm, and romance, you will definitely NOT be disappointed in the Cottonwood Hotel. I've told all my friends about it and can't recommend it highly enough!

Room Tip: The Mae West room was a great room for a romantic getaway, and the balcony is a great place to enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood_Hotel_930, Owner at Cottonwood Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
We always appreciate these most gratifying reviews. Just a mention that the Cottonwood Hotel in downtown Cottonwood Arizona is the only hotel listed on the National Register of Cottonwood Commercial Historic District as Historical Places to Stay! As a local historian and historic preservationist, we try our best in recapturing the history, along with blending comfort and modern amenities in our well-appointed rooms. Being one of the most centralized hotels in the Verde Valley, we also serve Jerome, Cornville and Sedona. From the hotel you can walk to the largest section of the Verde Valley Wine Trail tasting rooms and antique shops, plus popular restaurants for dining and breakfast. Thank you for supporting small business. We look forward to your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cottonwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottonwood Hotel

Address: 930 N. Main Street, Cottonwood, AZ 86326
Location: United States > Arizona > Cottonwood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cottonwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottonwood Hotel, circa 1917, is a small boutique hotel in downtown (Old Town) Cottonwood, AZ, listed on the United States National Preservation Cottonwood Commercial Historic District of Historical Places to stay. We have 5 units in the upper floor hotel available by the night. 1 Small room, 2 deluxe rooms, 1 small suite, and 1 apartment style suite. Below the hotel is a 2BR/2BA apartment suite, studio suite and a double queen. Walk to breakfast, lunch, dinner, pubs, wine tasting rooms (biggest section of the Verde Valley Wine Trail),eclectic shops, antiques and galleries, hiking trails, Verde River, state park. Jerome 6 miles, Sedona 16 miles, Clarkdale 1 mile, Verde Canyon train 3 miles, Page Springs/Cornville Vineyards 6 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cottonwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottonwood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.