We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Food in a Very Loud Restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 15 Quince Grill & Cantina - CLOSED

15 Quince Grill & Cantina
747 S Main St, Cottonwood, AZ 86326
(928) 634-7087
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Kirtland, Ohio
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“OK Food in a Very Loud Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This restaurant used to be in Jerome, AZ and relocated to Cottonwood, AZ. It has large capacity seating and is nicely decorated.

The food was just OK. We had chicken tacos and a burrito. No chips or salsas were served before the meal. The meals were nothing special.

It was very difficult to hold a conversation at our table due to the amount of noise. This did not make for an enjoyable evening.

I don't think we will return since there are a lot of great Mexican eateries in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    20
    16
    2
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Going Downhill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I have been a big fan of Quince since discovering it in Jerome a couple of years ago. I was delighted when I heard they were moving closer to me. But growing pains have been awful! I have eaten at the Cottonwood location every other week since they opened, and they manage to disappoint me in new ways every time. The portions keep getting smaller, the orders are wrong, the service is poor, and the place is too noisy. Last night I went back for their "new" Wednesday Burger Night. They would not cook burgers to order (I prefer rare) so I got an undersized, well-done, dried out patty on a dry bun. A Big Mac would have been more satisfying for $5. Didn't get any price break on my draft, either. My partner got the wrong drink, but the server avoided us until it seemed too late to complain. They still make killer green sauce, but I'm going to need some arm-twisting to go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great local fare and super Blood Orange Margarita...yum! Crispy and light chips, and fresh salsas...mmmm...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST GROVE
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worth going back for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Three years ago while on a day trip to Jerome, AZ we were stumbled across Quince and found that we could have a breakfast or lunch as it first opened. That served my husband and I beautifully because he was more inclined for eggs and I for a burger. So for three years I have been telling anyone that would hear that Quince served me a burger that was the best in my life and I was dreaming of the day that I could go back and enjoy another.

That time came when we visited AZ again and took our usual trip to Jerome to shop at some of our favorite places and eat at Quince. As we were checking out with our gifts the clerk overhead me say that we were going to walk down the street to eat at Quince. She told us that they moved to Cottonwood as they really needed more space. We weren't done exploring and introducing our daughter and granddaughter to Jerome so do we eat at another place in Jerome? No, we were going back down to Cottonwood that was 15 minutes away and come back to Jerome to finish our day. It was so worth it!!

I had the New Mexico Cheeseburger, my daughter the Chipotle Burger, my husband the Cobb Salad and my granddaughter enjoyed a child's cheeseburger. The beer offerings were lackluster and then twice when we did decide our server came back to say that the kegs were empty. Poor planning. Water would have to do.

When our order came someone had made a mistake and gave me another type of burger. I realized that another table had the same problem. Our burgers had been switched, but the owner/chef delivered my corrected burger himself. It did not disappoint. The tasty ground meat was juicy and the hatch chiles burst through with tasty heat. Everyone else grunted their approval of their lunches, too. It was better than I had remembered.

There are lots of wonderful choices and if you are a vegetarian you can get your burger replaced with a black bean burger. I can't imagine that one wouldn't find it hard to choose since the menu is extensive.

I should add that the breakfast that my husband had three years ago was nothing short of perfect according to him.

The relocation is on the main street of Cottonwood in a stucco, pueblo-styled building with plenty of parking. While it doesn't have the quirky atmosphere of Jerome it is easy to find.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“NOT IN JEROME”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This restaurant is no longer located in Jerome and needs to update their listing and website! We didn't eat there because we were looking for a restaurant in Jerome.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 15 Quince Grill & Cantina also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 15 Quince Grill & Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.