We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal in Cottonwood!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schoolhouse Restaurant

Schoolhouse Restaurant
202 N Main St, Cottonwood, AZ 86324
+1 928-634-0700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 91 Restaurants in Cottonwood
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Serving Lunch 11:00AM-2:00PM Tuesday-Friday Dinner 5:00PM-9:00PM Tuesday-Saturday
Sedona, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great meal in Cottonwood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had heard good things about this restaurant from our friends so decided to check it out ourselves. My wife and I were seated at the Chef's bar, right in front of the kitchen where we could see all the food prepared and talk to the chef/owner. We had great meal and experience. The favors were great, the food prepared perfectly, and the choice of entrees were excellent. Can't say enough good things about this place. We enjoyed it so much that we booked a party of 12 for the following week in celebration of our son's graduation. This is the best meal we have had in this area for years. Recommend the Chef's bar for those who want the added experience of seeing how the food is prepared and served.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C D, Owner at Schoolhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for joining us on both occasions were very happy we could create a memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    20
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We were told by multiple people this place is a must for foodies. We stopped in for lunch and were blown away. They take every dish to a whole new level. And prices are very reasonable. I never would've thought a chicken salad sandwich and side salad could be so incredible. We wished we could buy their salad dressing. And chef makes his own pickles which were phenomenal. I loved them so much they sent me home with a box of them. My husband had pork belly carnitas wrapped in a bacon shell. It was ridiculously good! Cottonwood is our new napa just 2 hrs from home!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C D, Owner at Schoolhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you so much!!! We are happy to have you as part of our local family of diners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“in need of some improvement--chef, please read”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We visited for the first time--lots of local buzz. Some pros and some definite cons.
Pros: chef is trying to be creative, and this is very appreciated in the Verde Valley. Portions are large, I might even say too large. Some very good flavor combinations.
Cons: parking is insufficient. LOUD!!! No full bar, just a handful of "cocktails" and a wine list that while "reasonable" could definitely use tweaking, including more local wines. It's one thing to say many wines are $25, but at that price, there could be much better selections. Our Tempranilllo was on the bravado side.
OVERALL: Service was charming. I think I finally hit on it tonight and hubby agreed: the menu was wrong for this time of year. Our temps are currently in the 80s and 90s and yet the selections were more like football food--corndogs, perogies, short ribs, Kale???? That is fall and winter food and not suitable for the current time of year. It made choosing very hard--nothing was appealing given that disconnect.
We will try again, and try to support a locally owned place--but I would say work on a full bar, space out the tables, adjust the tables and lighting, and lighten up the menu (I do want to try the various sushi rolls)--and then you will have a winner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C D, Owner at Schoolhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your extremely valuable input. We actually jus refreshed he menu for the summer season like we will every season. We actually pull most of our produce from our own ranch in Page Springs so we are able to do a lot of things most cant. We are working on the parking and other physical aspects of the building but we have numerous hold backs due to the historical building status. I cant wait to make you some sushi and get our rankings up higher on your next visit. Thank you again for taking the time to communicate wit us and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best Experience of our Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Thanks Checkered Past for the recommendation. The food was amazing and the staff extremely friendly and informed. Heather was happy to take our reservation and then very nice when we arrived early. She took the great photos in the lobby. Check them out. Bethany our server, gave great advice and was very attentive. We enjoyed the Beef Tenderloin and the Roasted Chicken and finished with two Peach Cobblers. WOW! Wish we lived closer. Definitely will visit again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C D, Owner at Schoolhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for joining us on your vacation I am so pleased to give a memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Branch, Michigan
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“30th Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Found ourselves in Cottenwood on our 30th. Asked around as to where to eat and were given a couple of choices of places well known, and popular. Also mentioned was this place, people had heard it was good, but no-one had been there. We were told reservations were required. Decided to let fate decide. If we could get reserved at our time it would be here, if not, elswhere.

We called and were told we could only get places at the chef's table, and would have to come now. Now fit our plans so our choice was made, but what is this chef's table?

Chef's table means you spend the evening with Chris, chef and part of the ownership team. You get to see every plate that comes out of the kitchen, which is both good and bad, as every plate looks wonderful. Chris handles every single plate that that is served and makes sure it is perfect.

Our food was incredible, the service great, the prices more than fair, portions good sized. A lot of restaurants could take, and should take, lessons from this couple. With Chris running back of house and his wife (I am really sorry I forgot her name) running the front and being a waitress, this team works hard, but seems to have fun.

This was much more than a great dinner, it was a wonderful experience.

The next morning as we were driving toward Phoenix, we get a call on our cell phone and it is The Schoolhouse, wanting to know if we enjoyed our dinner and inviting us to return. If we have any regret it is that Cottonwood,Arizona is a long way from South Branch, Michigan, and returning probably isn't in the cards.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C D, Owner at Schoolhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for all your amazingly kind words and it was absolutely our pleasure to have you in for your anniversary..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schoolhouse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Schoolhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schoolhouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.