We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tavern Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Tavern Hotel to your Saves list
The Tavern Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   904 North Main Street, Cottonwood, AZ 86326   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sip and Stay Package!
Ranked #1 of 7 Cottonwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I have been to Cottonwood many times, but never stayed there. We decided on a weekend getaway with a group of friends to go kayaking and wine tasting and we chose The Tavern Hotel as our home base. With only 10 rooms and a cottage, we took up half the hotel! It was absolutely beautiful and quiet and extremely clean. The rooms are just as they look in the pictures on the website, I wish I could move the bathroom to my house! My only complaint is very small - the vessel sinks are a bit high - I am only 5'3" and I had to stand on my tiptoes to wash my face and got myself a bit wet doing so. But it didn't ruin our stay in the least bit. The beds and pillows were very comfortable, I love the wood floors and the closet area was very convenient. The location is great - right in the middle of everything, but yet very quiet. We did the "Sip and Stay" package, which includes a $50 gift card to a restaurant that is owned by the same company that owns the hotel (we chose Nic's), 2 free continental breakfasts at a choice of 2 places (or $5 towards breakfast per person instead) and 3 free wine tastings - and you can add on an extra night, which we did. Very well worth the money. I would definitely stay here again - a good time was had by all.
One tip - you check in at the bar inside the Tavern Grille - it's not open until 11:00 a.m.

Room Tip: There is a cottage behind the hotel that has a living room and 2 bedrooms and it sleeps 6 - good for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We are glad to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and with future guests. We hope to see you all again next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    24
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
120
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellton, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Sip and Stay is a great deal - free cocktail, wine tasting at three wineries, major voucher for dinner at one of several restaurants, voucher for breakfast at one of two restaurants and a really cool vibe during the whole adventure. Old town Cottonwood is small, enchanting and everything is walking distance so there is no worry enjoying all of the included alcohol. Bocce was our choice for dinner and we had four very different, but all excellent meals. Our lunch was at the Tavern Grille where we enjoyed an interesting menu and again, delicious meals.

This boutique hotel is very European feeling, even to checking in at the adjacent tavern as is common in Europe. The staff was excellent (thanks especially to Laura and Jane!) and very welcoming and informative. We enjoyed the comfy front deck both for a glass of wine in the evening and as the locale for morning coffee (of course there is top-notch in-room coffee). We would return in a heartbeat, and feel it was a tremendous value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be equal quiet, well furnished and appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for the fabulous review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It is also great to hear that you had two lovely meals and the staff was memorable. Thank you again and we will see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandler
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great decor, located right in downtown Cottonwood and very clean.

Rooms look really nice....

The Best place to stay when visiting the area!

You can walk to tasting rooms, antique shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for the nice review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you next time you are staying in the area,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We got a great deal on a two-night “Sip and Stay” package, which included 2 nights, a gift card for dinner, free wine tasting, a couple free drinks, and coupons for breakfast. We liked it so much we jumped at the chance to stay a third night when someone canceled and a room opened up. Even though we didn’t have time to use all of our free drink cards, we still got our money’s worth. The management and staff were friendly, professional, and helpful, asking if we needed anything and if we enjoyed our stay.

The Tavern Hotel is not very impressive from the outside, but the inside looks like a high-end boutique hotel. Although it once was a grocery store, the building was completely redone when it was converted into a hotel. Everything looks clean and new, and has a very modern feel. The décor is luxurious and soothing – like a place where you’d have a massage or do yoga. Our room was a bit larger than most hotel rooms, with a king-sized bed, flat screen TV, desk, and easy chair. A partition divided the room from the bathroom sink area, and the toilet and gorgeous walk-around shower were in a separate room. I loved the tiles in the bathroom, the color tones of the walls. Even the entry hall was beautiful. The front porch contained tables and chairs for enjoying the perfect Cottonwood weather.

We loved the small-town feel of Cottonwood. It’s much quieter, smaller, and less commercialized than Sedona, but it has some very nice restaurants, interesting shops, and shady walking trails. Cottonwood is very convenient to the Verde River, Dead Horse State Park, and Tuzigoot National Monument, and is a short drive from Jerome and Sedona. The Tavern itself is a very short walk from several nice restaurants, and there are a few others within walking distance (and even more in Jerome and Sedona).

There were only a few negatives (and they weren’t major negatives). 1) My husband would have preferred that each room have its own outdoor space. 2) I’m accustomed to the wonderful beds and pillows at Westins, Hiltons, and Hampton Inns, so I was disappointed in the bed and pillows. They were okay, just not as nice as I like, and the pillows gave me a stiff neck. 3) To check in to the hotel, you have to go into the Tavern bar, which can be annoying when the bar is loud and crowded and you’re tired from traveling (but it makes sense not to have a front desk/lobby at such a small hotel). Obviously none of these issues will keep us from coming back - again and again.

If you want to stay at the Tavern, book early. There are only about 8 or 10 rooms and they book up fast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, we apologize for the few, minor issues. Grab a couple friends next time and stay at the cottage because it has great outdoor space! We look forward to seeing you both next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, AZ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Recently we spent two nights at the Tavern Hotel in Cottenwood, Az. After Hotel .com. screwed up or reservation, we contacted the Tavern Hotel directly and were connected with Laura. She fixed the reservation. We stayed on the sip and stay package. It was wonderful. The hotel is clean, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. Located downtown we could walk to a number of places, very convenient. We ate at Bocce(very good) and Nick's( wonderful). We had a great time and plan to return this summer. Jerry and Carol

Room Tip: We had a double queen and it was great. Next time we will get the king, looked a little bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
We are delighted to hear that Laura was able to help you with the mix up. Our customer's satisfaction is very important to us. The King bedrooms are more spacious for your next visit! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
187 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I want to start of by saying the TTH has far and away one of the top rooms of places we have stayed. Beautifully updated, clean, and comfortable Spa like in every way even the interior hallway!!. Pictures on the hotel site do not lie. Upon arrival we were given a free 2 drink voucher for the attached grill and 2 breakfast vouchers at nearby eateries, Creama café and/or The Red Rooster Café, both about a minute walk from hotel. We decided to try the town of Cottonwood for the first time after previous visits to nearby Sedona and Jerome. This town is one on the rise with several good restaurants, Wine tasting establishments and coffee houses. Very quaint weekend getaway spot.
While we loved the room there are a few improvements that have not been addressed in recent reviews...
1. No front desk. You have to go across a parking lot and go to the attached Tavern Grill and check in. You actually have to check in at the bar and the bartender had to multi-task to check us in. Also you have to get you ice from the same location no ice machine in the main hotel and there is room at the back of this establishment for one. You're pretty much on your own.
2. No designated parking for guests. Since the lot is shared with the Grill, it's pretty much first come first served. You have to have your fingers crossed. We didn't see this coming.
3. Room phone - No information or buttons on the phone to reach front desk of housekeeping.
4. We stayed in room 102 at the front of hotel. This is right where the front door is to this establishment (Card entry) We were woken up several times from LOUD guests returning from their evening festivities (Around 11:00pm) I don't know if they'd been drinking or what but there were several waves of them around this time of night. Rooms 101 and 102 are at the front.
These were the issues. Taking nothing away from the nice room or very nice staff at the grill perhaps this hotel was just different for our taste and expectations. Again the room could not have been more comfortable and the staff at the grill could not have been nicer. We also stayed here on Mother's Day weekend. It is out thought that if we stayed here on a weekday, non holiday things would not maybe been a little more peaceful. We would certainly consider staying here again in the future but in that timeframe.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
We appreciate your feedback and we are happy that your overall stay was enjoyable. Our establishment is very unique, as are all of our businesses, working out of very small historic buildings and trying to make them modern, grand, and functional. We appreciate your understanding and are also very pleased to inform you that we will be seeing some great changes and improvements in the next year or two including a front desk! We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Cool, boutique hotel. Modern European feel. Nicely appointed. Big tiled walk in shower. Included 2 drinks at the bar & and discount breakfast coupons. A little strange checking in at the adjoining bar but the staff were super friendly. Will be back soon.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
It always makes us happy when our guests are pleasantly surprised! Thank you for the great review, we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cottonwood
2.1 mi away
Pines Motel
Pines Motel
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
#7 of 7 in Cottonwood
3.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
16.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.1 mi away
The Iron Horse Inn
The Iron Horse Inn
#2 of 7 in Cottonwood
5.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cottonwood Hotel
Cottonwood Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cottonwood
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tavern Hotel

Address: 904 North Main Street, Cottonwood, AZ 86326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Cottonwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cottonwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tavern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tavern Hotel is nestled in the heart of Old Town Cottonwood's dining, shopping, and entertainment district. This luxury boutique hotel features deluxe accommodations, combining historic details with chic elegance. Your unique experience begins at check in. Our front desk is located at the bar inside The Tavern Grille where you will be greeted and offered a complimentary cocktail while checking in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Tavern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tavern Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.