We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tavern Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Tavern Hotel to your Saves list
The Tavern Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   904 North Main Street, Cottonwood, AZ 86326   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Cottonwood B&B and Inns
chandler
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great decor, located right in downtown Cottonwood and very clean.

Rooms look really nice....

The Best place to stay when visiting the area!

You can walk to tasting rooms, antique shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for the nice review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you next time you are staying in the area,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
93
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We got a great deal on a two-night “Sip and Stay” package, which included 2 nights, a gift card for dinner, free wine tasting, a couple free drinks, and coupons for breakfast. We liked it so much we jumped at the chance to stay a third night when someone canceled and a room opened up. Even though we didn’t have time to use all of our free drink cards, we still got our money’s worth. The management and staff were friendly, professional, and helpful, asking if we needed anything and if we enjoyed our stay.

The Tavern Hotel is not very impressive from the outside, but the inside looks like a high-end boutique hotel. Although it once was a grocery store, the building was completely redone when it was converted into a hotel. Everything looks clean and new, and has a very modern feel. The décor is luxurious and soothing – like a place where you’d have a massage or do yoga. Our room was a bit larger than most hotel rooms, with a king-sized bed, flat screen TV, desk, and easy chair. A partition divided the room from the bathroom sink area, and the toilet and gorgeous walk-around shower were in a separate room. I loved the tiles in the bathroom, the color tones of the walls. Even the entry hall was beautiful. The front porch contained tables and chairs for enjoying the perfect Cottonwood weather.

We loved the small-town feel of Cottonwood. It’s much quieter, smaller, and less commercialized than Sedona, but it has some very nice restaurants, interesting shops, and shady walking trails. Cottonwood is very convenient to the Verde River, Dead Horse State Park, and Tuzigoot National Monument, and is a short drive from Jerome and Sedona. The Tavern itself is a very short walk from several nice restaurants, and there are a few others within walking distance (and even more in Jerome and Sedona).

There were only a few negatives (and they weren’t major negatives). 1) My husband would have preferred that each room have its own outdoor space. 2) I’m accustomed to the wonderful beds and pillows at Westins, Hiltons, and Hampton Inns, so I was disappointed in the bed and pillows. They were okay, just not as nice as I like, and the pillows gave me a stiff neck. 3) To check in to the hotel, you have to go into the Tavern bar, which can be annoying when the bar is loud and crowded and you’re tired from traveling (but it makes sense not to have a front desk/lobby at such a small hotel). Obviously none of these issues will keep us from coming back - again and again.

If you want to stay at the Tavern, book early. There are only about 8 or 10 rooms and they book up fast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, we apologize for the few, minor issues. Grab a couple friends next time and stay at the cottage because it has great outdoor space! We look forward to seeing you both next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, AZ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Recently we spent two nights at the Tavern Hotel in Cottenwood, Az. After Hotel .com. screwed up or reservation, we contacted the Tavern Hotel directly and were connected with Laura. She fixed the reservation. We stayed on the sip and stay package. It was wonderful. The hotel is clean, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. Located downtown we could walk to a number of places, very convenient. We ate at Bocce(very good) and Nick's( wonderful). We had a great time and plan to return this summer. Jerry and Carol

Room Tip: We had a double queen and it was great. Next time we will get the king, looked a little bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
We are delighted to hear that Laura was able to help you with the mix up. Our customer's satisfaction is very important to us. The King bedrooms are more spacious for your next visit! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
314 helpful votes 314 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I want to start of by saying the TTH has far and away one of the top rooms of places we have stayed. Beautifully updated, clean, and comfortable Spa like in every way even the interior hallway!!. Pictures on the hotel site do not lie. Upon arrival we were given a free 2 drink voucher for the attached grill and 2 breakfast vouchers at nearby eateries, Creama café and/or The Red Rooster Café, both about a minute walk from hotel. We decided to try the town of Cottonwood for the first time after previous visits to nearby Sedona and Jerome. This town is one on the rise with several good restaurants, Wine tasting establishments and coffee houses. Very quaint weekend getaway spot.
While we loved the room there are a few improvements that have not been addressed in recent reviews...
1. No front desk. You have to go across a parking lot and go to the attached Tavern Grill and check in. You actually have to check in at the bar and the bartender had to multi-task to check us in. Also you have to get you ice from the same location no ice machine in the main hotel and there is room at the back of this establishment for one. You're pretty much on your own.
2. No designated parking for guests. Since the lot is shared with the Grill, it's pretty much first come first served. You have to have your fingers crossed. We didn't see this coming.
3. Room phone - No information or buttons on the phone to reach front desk of housekeeping.
4. We stayed in room 102 at the front of hotel. This is right where the front door is to this establishment (Card entry) We were woken up several times from LOUD guests returning from their evening festivities (Around 11:00pm) I don't know if they'd been drinking or what but there were several waves of them around this time of night. Rooms 101 and 102 are at the front.
These were the issues. Taking nothing away from the nice room or very nice staff at the grill perhaps this hotel was just different for our taste and expectations. Again the room could not have been more comfortable and the staff at the grill could not have been nicer. We also stayed here on Mother's Day weekend. It is out thought that if we stayed here on a weekday, non holiday things would not maybe been a little more peaceful. We would certainly consider staying here again in the future but in that timeframe.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
We appreciate your feedback and we are happy that your overall stay was enjoyable. Our establishment is very unique, as are all of our businesses, working out of very small historic buildings and trying to make them modern, grand, and functional. We appreciate your understanding and are also very pleased to inform you that we will be seeing some great changes and improvements in the next year or two including a front desk! We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Cool, boutique hotel. Modern European feel. Nicely appointed. Big tiled walk in shower. Included 2 drinks at the bar & and discount breakfast coupons. A little strange checking in at the adjoining bar but the staff were super friendly. Will be back soon.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
It always makes us happy when our guests are pleasantly surprised! Thank you for the great review, we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New River, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Wonderful, clean and tidy!! We cannot say enough about this totally cool hotel. Go to The Red Rooster for breakfast, Bocca for lunch, Seed for dinner! Go to Pillsbury, AZ Stronghold and Burning Tree Cellars fo the best in wine tasting and purchases!!

Room Tip: Just stay!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We appreciate the feedback and we are very happy that you enjoyed the surrounding businesses. Please think of us next time you are in the area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

What a surprise this bouquet hotel is. Very small but the rooms are wonderful: great décor, very clean and maintained. One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in, period. A real gem. If you go, get the package deal that includes dinner at one of five restaurants the owners of this hotel own and operate, too. Breakfast is included, a drink (any kind, not the cheap stuff) from the Grill next door, 50 bucks off dinner; we chose Nic's across the street - just great. The towns of Cottonwood and Jerome are very lucky to have these types of owners in their towns. Will go back. Sedona is very close, too.

Room Tip: Any room would be great; their really isn't any difference in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to share details about your visit with us as well as with future visitors! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tavern Hotel

Address: 904 North Main Street, Cottonwood, AZ 86326
Location: United States > Arizona > Cottonwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cottonwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tavern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tavern Hotel is nestled in the heart of Old Town Cottonwood's dining, shopping, and entertainment district. This luxury boutique hotel features deluxe accommodations, combining historic details with chic elegance. Your unique experience begins at check in. Our front desk is located at the bar inside The Tavern Grille where you will be greeted and offered a complimentary cocktail while checking in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Tavern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tavern Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.