We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow. Did not expect that.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tavern Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Tavern Hotel to your Saves list
The Tavern Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   904 North Main Street, Cottonwood, AZ 86326   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Cottonwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wow. Did not expect that.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Cool, boutique hotel. Modern European feel. Nicely appointed. Big tiled walk in shower. Included 2 drinks at the bar & and discount breakfast coupons. A little strange checking in at the adjoining bar but the staff were super friendly. Will be back soon.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
It always makes us happy when our guests are pleasantly surprised! Thank you for the great review, we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
99
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New River, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Wonderful, clean and tidy!! We cannot say enough about this totally cool hotel. Go to The Red Rooster for breakfast, Bocca for lunch, Seed for dinner! Go to Pillsbury, AZ Stronghold and Burning Tree Cellars fo the best in wine tasting and purchases!!

Room Tip: Just stay!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We appreciate the feedback and we are very happy that you enjoyed the surrounding businesses. Please think of us next time you are in the area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

What a surprise this bouquet hotel is. Very small but the rooms are wonderful: great décor, very clean and maintained. One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in, period. A real gem. If you go, get the package deal that includes dinner at one of five restaurants the owners of this hotel own and operate, too. Breakfast is included, a drink (any kind, not the cheap stuff) from the Grill next door, 50 bucks off dinner; we chose Nic's across the street - just great. The towns of Cottonwood and Jerome are very lucky to have these types of owners in their towns. Will go back. Sedona is very close, too.

Room Tip: Any room would be great; their really isn't any difference in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to share details about your visit with us as well as with future visitors! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My wife and I have noticed this property advertising locally, so decided to give it a try. It's so nice when the experience is even better than the photos/ads. As other trip advisors have stated, a must stay in cottonwood. We booked the king room, it was spotless, roomy, beautiful bath. very calming patio, where we enjoyed a bottle of wine with cigar. The manager Michelle? was amazing, we noticed her working, greeting guests from 3 until 10pm when we turned in, and she was at it again at 8 am when we went across the street to Crema fro cofffe. highly recommend a nice quiet stay here.

We thought it was a very good value, $200 included wine tasting, $50 dining credit, and $10 breakfast credit as well. excellent alternative to staying in Sedona.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that Melissa took care of you! We hope to see you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed overnight at this hotel and will be back. The room looks exactly like the pictures. Everything was top notch. We did the Sip and Stay package with a $50.00 credit to Nic's Italian Steak & Crab which was fantastic. The rooms were spotless and the and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
The Sip and Stay package is a great value, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay as well as dinner at Nic's! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed one night with the Sip and Stay package but we will be going back for two nights. We had been wanting to visit Cottonwood to be able to visit the wine tasting rooms and not worry about having to head back to town so this was a perfect fit. We didn't use all of the extras that came with the package but the location and quality of the room was well worth it. We stayed in a king room and all amenties were great quality with a modernly decorated bathroom and furniture. the walk in tile shower was fabulous and the location to old town couldn't be beat. There is no front desk at the hotel so it is really quiet and relaxing. instead you check in at the bar next door so you don't have a lot of traffic and noise near your room.

you are pretty much on your own with this room but if you do need anything the staff at the Tavern Grill can help you out.

we have already planned another return trip!

Room Tip: all of the rooms seem to be a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and even happier to hear you already have your next trip booked! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
az
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

stayed one night under their $199 Sip & Stay Package [ 1 free arrival drink each at the hotel bar; free wine tasting at 3 local wine shops, free continental breakfast, $50 credit at Nic's Italian Steak & Crab for dinner. Small boutique hotel. Room & King bed very comfortable. Modern decor, quality furnishings & personal amenities [Philosophy Brand] & mini fridge. Nic's Italian Steak & Crab has a varied & complete menu. Well-prepared entrees & appetizers, good-sized portions & everything tasted freshly made. Suggest you arrive at opening [5pm] or after 7;30 or so; otherwise, may need to wait to get in for dinner.

Overall the package is a great value & a wonderful way to end a multi-day trip to the Verde Valley, Cottonwood, Jerome, Sedona area. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
We are happy you enjoyed your experience. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others and we hope to see you on your next trip to the Verde Valley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tavern Hotel

Address: 904 North Main Street, Cottonwood, AZ 86326
Location: United States > Arizona > Cottonwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cottonwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tavern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tavern Hotel is nestled in the heart of Old Town Cottonwood's dining, shopping, and entertainment district. This luxury boutique hotel features deluxe accommodations, combining historic details with chic elegance. Your unique experience begins at check in. Our front desk is located at the bar inside The Tavern Grille where you will be greeted and offered a complimentary cocktail while checking in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Tavern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tavern Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.