We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tavern Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Tavern Hotel to your Saves list
The Tavern Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   904 North Main Street, Cottonwood, AZ 86326   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sip and Stay Package!
Ranked #1 of 7 Cottonwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

What a surprise this bouquet hotel is. Very small but the rooms are wonderful: great décor, very clean and maintained. One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in, period. A real gem. If you go, get the package deal that includes dinner at one of five restaurants the owners of this hotel own and operate, too. Breakfast is included, a drink (any kind, not the cheap stuff) from the Grill next door, 50 bucks off dinner; we chose Nic's across the street - just great. The towns of Cottonwood and Jerome are very lucky to have these types of owners in their towns. Will go back. Sedona is very close, too.

Room Tip: Any room would be great; their really isn't any difference in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to share details about your visit with us as well as with future visitors! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    24
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
120
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My wife and I have noticed this property advertising locally, so decided to give it a try. It's so nice when the experience is even better than the photos/ads. As other trip advisors have stated, a must stay in cottonwood. We booked the king room, it was spotless, roomy, beautiful bath. very calming patio, where we enjoyed a bottle of wine with cigar. The manager Michelle? was amazing, we noticed her working, greeting guests from 3 until 10pm when we turned in, and she was at it again at 8 am when we went across the street to Crema fro cofffe. highly recommend a nice quiet stay here.

We thought it was a very good value, $200 included wine tasting, $50 dining credit, and $10 breakfast credit as well. excellent alternative to staying in Sedona.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that Melissa took care of you! We hope to see you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed overnight at this hotel and will be back. The room looks exactly like the pictures. Everything was top notch. We did the Sip and Stay package with a $50.00 credit to Nic's Italian Steak & Crab which was fantastic. The rooms were spotless and the and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
The Sip and Stay package is a great value, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay as well as dinner at Nic's! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed one night with the Sip and Stay package but we will be going back for two nights. We had been wanting to visit Cottonwood to be able to visit the wine tasting rooms and not worry about having to head back to town so this was a perfect fit. We didn't use all of the extras that came with the package but the location and quality of the room was well worth it. We stayed in a king room and all amenties were great quality with a modernly decorated bathroom and furniture. the walk in tile shower was fabulous and the location to old town couldn't be beat. There is no front desk at the hotel so it is really quiet and relaxing. instead you check in at the bar next door so you don't have a lot of traffic and noise near your room.

you are pretty much on your own with this room but if you do need anything the staff at the Tavern Grill can help you out.

we have already planned another return trip!

Room Tip: all of the rooms seem to be a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and even happier to hear you already have your next trip booked! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
az
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

stayed one night under their $199 Sip & Stay Package [ 1 free arrival drink each at the hotel bar; free wine tasting at 3 local wine shops, free continental breakfast, $50 credit at Nic's Italian Steak & Crab for dinner. Small boutique hotel. Room & King bed very comfortable. Modern decor, quality furnishings & personal amenities [Philosophy Brand] & mini fridge. Nic's Italian Steak & Crab has a varied & complete menu. Well-prepared entrees & appetizers, good-sized portions & everything tasted freshly made. Suggest you arrive at opening [5pm] or after 7;30 or so; otherwise, may need to wait to get in for dinner.

Overall the package is a great value & a wonderful way to end a multi-day trip to the Verde Valley, Cottonwood, Jerome, Sedona area. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
We are happy you enjoyed your experience. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others and we hope to see you on your next trip to the Verde Valley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stumbled upon The Tavern and were completely blown away. The room is amazing with fantastic linens and lots of pillows. Every amenity is included - bottled water, an iron, coffee, Philosophy bath products, and fluffy towels. We chose the sip and stay package and were not disappointed. We ate at the Tavern Grille and the food and drink selections were both amazing as was the service. Looking forward to doing some exploring around Old Town and using our wine tasting coupons. This was a great find in a beautiful location!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a fabulous review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. The sip and stay package is a great way to experience our historic little town and we are happy you opted for that package. We hope you stay with us next time you are passing through!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We visited Cottonwood for business and were not particularly impressed with the hotel selection in the area but chose the Tavern almost by accident. It turned out to be one of the best decisions we made. The hotel is very, very clean, very well appointed, and just simply...perfect. Additionally, the staff and the accompanying restaurant were also fantastic.

Additionally, upon recommendation of Tavern staff, we had dinner at the Bocce and experienced the BEST gourmet pizza and deviled eggs we had ever had. Absolutely fantastic. We are planning to go back to Cottonwood for just a vacation simply because of the great experiences with the Tavern and Bocce.

Room Tip: There are only a handful of rooms, we expect they're probably all of the same quality - perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us! Thank you for writing such a wonderful review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience at Bocce as well! See you on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cottonwood
2.1 mi away
Pines Motel
Pines Motel
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
#7 of 7 in Cottonwood
3.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
16.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.1 mi away
The Iron Horse Inn
The Iron Horse Inn
#2 of 7 in Cottonwood
5.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cottonwood Hotel
Cottonwood Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cottonwood
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tavern Hotel

Address: 904 North Main Street, Cottonwood, AZ 86326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Cottonwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cottonwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tavern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tavern Hotel is nestled in the heart of Old Town Cottonwood's dining, shopping, and entertainment district. This luxury boutique hotel features deluxe accommodations, combining historic details with chic elegance. Your unique experience begins at check in. Our front desk is located at the bar inside The Tavern Grille where you will be greeted and offered a complimentary cocktail while checking in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Tavern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tavern Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.