We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tavern Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Tavern Hotel to your Saves list
The Tavern Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   904 North Main Street, Cottonwood, AZ 86326   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Cottonwood B&B and Inns
Heart of Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I took off for a long overdue weekend away and stayed at the Tavern Hotel in Cottonwood. Could not have been a better weekend. We wandered around some of the wineries before checking in to find a lovely and peaceful room (with a really comfy bed) from which everywhere else we decided to go was a nice safe "walking" distance. We did the "Sip and Stay" package and it was a great price for the experience and no hassle what-so-ever. Dinner at the Tavern Grille was wonderful, and the little wine-stops were fun. If you don't want the Continental breakfast, the Crema Cafe happily deducted $10 from our breakfast bill, and the Red Rooster might as well. Add to this that the weather was perfect my husband was able to get a skydive in at the nearby Red Rock Skydiving, we couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We're glad we helped make it the perfect weekend for you and your husband! We are perfectly located in Old Town Cottonwood so that everything you want is in walking distance. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed dinner at the Grille and breakfast at Crema Cafe. Great choices! We greatly appreciate the feedback and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
94
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

A group of girlfriends and I stayed at The Tavern Hotel before we headed to Phoenix for a meeting. We were lucky enough to book the cottage, which was easily one of the best “hotel” rooms I have ever stayed in. You have to check in at the The Tavern Grille, which is located directly in front of the hotel. Jessie at check-in was incredibly sweet and got our room keys right away. There were five of us staying and we each received a complimentary cocktail (literally anything on their menu) and a $5 breakfast credit for the two restaurants across the street.

Even if you don’t have a large group, I would still recommend booking the cottage. It isn’t a lot more than a normal room and is definitely worth it. It has a front and a back porch, a full kitchen, and a washer and dryer. The two bedrooms are spacious and the beds are incredibly comfortable. They provide ample towels and bath amenities (philosophy!) in the large bathroom. Complementary Wi-Fi is also included and it had a great signal the entire time.

The hotel is on very cute street with several shops and tasting rooms. It was great to walk around and try some of the Arizona wines. The Tavern Grille had an excellent dinner menu and was very reasonably priced. We chose the Red Rooster Café for breakfast and also enjoyed it greatly. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel. Its décor and staff were fantastic!

Room Tip: Choose the cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
You can't go wrong with staying in the cottage! You and your girlfriends made a brilliant decision! We are so happy that you enjoyed everything from the cottage, amenities, everything Old Town Cottonwood has to offer, and especially our service. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to the Verde Valley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Myself and 5 other friends stayed in the 2BR/1BA Cottage - what a great deal - full kitchen, laundry, front/back porches - walking distance to town and all that it has to offer!! Wonderful experience and would highly recommend for weekend stays or even week-long adventures because of all the "at home" amenities it offers. The town is charming and everyone was super nice including the bars, restaurants (we had apps at Tavern Grille and dinner at Nics (so GOOD)), and especially the hotel staff. The check in a little unconventional (happens at the bar of the Tavern Grille) but that goes to show you the coziness of the town itself. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: I only can speak to the Cottage room -- if you are traveling with friends 2 couples this is perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you very much for the excellent feedback on your recent stay in the Cottage. We are ecstatic that your stay with us was so terrific and that you enjoyed Cottonwood! We have shared your comments with our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at the Tavern Hotel for a night after taking the Verde River Train. I had seen this hotel in the Phoenix newspaper and was very glad we decided to stay overnight. We checked in after the train, around 5p. I had reserved the sip & stay package which we thought was a good value. The hotel room was very spacious and the bathroom was beautiful. The package gave us a $50 gift card to Nick's Italian Restaurant across the street. Nick's was great, good food and enjoyable. It also gave us a complimentary drink at the Tavern Bar and Grill. Included in the package was continental breakfast ($5 credit) that we used at the Red Rooster café. Cottonwood is a fun town with lots of little shops and wine stores. We plan on going back just to spend time in the town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your complimentary drinks at the Tavern, dinner at Nic's, and breakfast at Red Rooster. We hope you enjoyed the tasting rooms on Main Street as well. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in April. As soon as I entered the hotel I was very pleasantly surprised. It is beautifully and tastefully decorated, very clean, modern and welcoming. Service was excellent. Cottonwood is a small town but we travelled from there to see Sedona and the Grand Canyon. So nice to come home to at the end of a long day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
It sounds like you had an exciting trip! Thank you for sharing your lovely experience! Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We wanted to spend the night in cottonwood, on the way to the grand canyon. It is a wonderful little town with great wine tasting and food. The Tavern Hotel is pretty much the only game in town if you want a place to stay. The price is a little high, but the quality of the hotel is even more than you would expect for the price. Everything looks relatively brand new, it is decorated very nicely, it feels like a spa. The bathroom/shower is easily the best part of the room, it is giant and has a very interesting design, no shower curtain needed! The bath products provided are top notch. The beds are very big and comfortable. The bonus free breakfast and free drinks are great. The only complaint I would have is that you can easily hear the other rooms, especially when they turn on their tv. We could have cared less though, we were on vacation!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
You did a fantastic job of reviewing our hotel - thanks for the great descriptors! Our team consistently goes above and beyond to make sure our guests have what they need to enjoy their time with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel and hope to have you visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent a night in Cottonwood recently, wanted to do a little wine tasting and check out the area, nice little day trip from Phoenix. We stayed at the Tavern Hotel and loved it. Beautiful room (huge!), super comfortable bed (slept for ten hours then stayed tucked in and read for another hour), and the bathroom was amazing... best shower ever with complimentary Philosophy products. On top of the beautiful room the Tavern staff were very friendly and helpful, and even without the sip and stay package we each got a free cocktail, and free continental breakfast at a choice of two restaurants right across the street.
Old Town Cottonwood is great for a relaxing overnight stay, and the Tavern Hotel is simply perfect. We loved Jerome as well, but I think I'll still want to stay at the Tavern next time we're in the area. Amazing time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel and everything that went along with your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tavern Hotel

Address: 904 North Main Street, Cottonwood, AZ 86326
Location: United States > Arizona > Cottonwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cottonwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tavern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tavern Hotel is nestled in the heart of Old Town Cottonwood's dining, shopping, and entertainment district. This luxury boutique hotel features deluxe accommodations, combining historic details with chic elegance. Your unique experience begins at check in. Our front desk is located at the bar inside The Tavern Grille where you will be greeted and offered a complimentary cocktail while checking in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Tavern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tavern Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.