We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Tavern Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Tavern Hotel to your Saves list
The Tavern Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   904 North Main Street, Cottonwood, AZ 86326   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Cottonwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rockford, Illinois
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

It's obvious the owners of The Tavern Hotel aimed to exceed standards. And they do on some counts. The staff is very courteous, rooms are nicely appointed, and the beds are superb. But the walls are thin, check-in is inconveniently located in the tavern across the parking lot, ice is only available at the tavern, the AC keeps one from opening the windows on cool AZ nights. The foyer is over-done with a boring, repetitive decor that is overwhelming. Sorry, Tavern.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    21
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
108
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cottonwood, Arizona
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We are locals and came here on a "stay cation" due to the hotel reputation. We were not disappointed!
Everything here is upgraded. All the fixtures, bed and decor are high quality. The complimentary cocktail and breakfast vouchers included are a nice touch. Only detractor at all was the wifi didn't work but these are minor things.
Would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We love stay-cations! You did a fantastic job of reviewing our hotel - thanks for the great descriptors! We apologize the you didn't get to use the wifi. We will be sure to check on that to make sure it's working properly. We hope you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

What a great find!! My husband found the Wine and Sip Package online and it was sure worth it.
The package included a $50 gift card at one of the local restaurants, along with 2 drink vouchers and a voucher for breakfast the next morning. Our room was very beautiful and romantic!!! So pristine and lots of attention to detail in the decor. A small refrigerator was provided in every room with 2 bottles of water. Right in the middle of Old Town Cottonwood and all those quirky boutique shops!!! Will definitely stay there again!!! A wonderful place to stay for a special occasion!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed the Wine and Sip package, it's one of our recently added ones! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel and your entire stay. Come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHANDLER
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I took my family who was visiting from out of state up to Cottonwood for a weekend of sightseeing and wine tasting. I'm so glad we found the Tavern Hotel. The experience was fantastic - from the check-in (with free cocktails) to the exquisitely decorated rooms. We booked the cottage - which was perfect!! The options for breakfast were also wonderful. I hope the owners continue to expand because the limited availability will continue to be problematic as people become more and more aware of this wonderful establishment. I look forward to staying there again soon!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Wow! We are ecstatic that your stay with us was so terrific! Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our hotel. Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

What an incredible discovery! Stunning rooms and decor, immaculately clean, great attention to comfort and detail in each room, extremely comfortable beds, "real" china cups and glasses, with everything designed to make one's stay memorable and enjoyable. The staff was extremely courteous, accommodating and friendly. The Tavern Grill next door is also an excellent place to eat. Restaurants are within walking distance. The perfect choice for a relaxing getaway all nestled in the charming town of Cottonwood. We can hardly wait to return.
Ron and Jan G.

Room Tip: Any room would make a great choice. Ten rooms in all with books, DVD's and games readily availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay at The Tavern Hotel.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit - everything from your room, decor, and our service. Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Cottonwood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

A group of ten drove from Phoenix to Cottonwood for a wine-tasting weekend in and around Cottonwood. Someone in our group made the hotel reservation, and I had no real expectations. What a wonderful surprise. The rooms was immaculate and beautifully decorated. Lots of nice touches--art work, sculptures, ipod docking stations, etc. The only negative--the air conditioning unit had a bright LED light that was distracting. Everyone in our group commented on it the following morning. Other than that, I highly recommend The Tavern Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay. Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests. We appreciate that you took the time to give me specifics about the LED light on the A/C and apologize for any inconvenience it may have made. Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Cottonwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

So happy to have finally found an excellent hotel in cottonwood! My family lives there and I get a hotel approx twice a year. So happy to have this option! So nice, clean, excellent location! This is our new choice. And the location is perfect, right in the middle of it all.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our hotel. We am thrilled that you enjoy our hotel and that you will become a regular guest. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tavern Hotel

Address: 904 North Main Street, Cottonwood, AZ 86326
Location: United States > Arizona > Cottonwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cottonwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tavern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tavern Hotel is nestled in the heart of Old Town Cottonwood's dining, shopping, and entertainment district. This luxury boutique hotel features deluxe accommodations, combining historic details with chic elegance. Your unique experience begins at check in. Our front desk is located at the bar inside The Tavern Grille where you will be greeted and offered a complimentary cocktail while checking in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Tavern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tavern Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.