We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something to crow about!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Town Red Rooster Cafe

Old Town Red Rooster Cafe
901 North Main Street, Cottonwood, AZ 86326
928-649-8100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 89 Restaurants in Cottonwood
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Located on Historic 89A in Old Town Cottonwood. The Old Town Red Rooster Cafe offers a great selection of homemade soups, fresh salads, and their spin on classic comfort food. Check them out on Facebook for their daily specials. Happy eating!
Clarkdale AZ
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Something to crow about!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We've been eating at the Old Town Red Rooster since they opened--about two years now. Sorry I haven't spoken up about them sooner. Consistent, that's what we like and that's what they are. Always good, always friendly. Being locals, we eat there a couple of times a week on average, both breakfast and lunch. They are pretty much the only breakfast we eat out anymore. My wife is especially fond of the sweet potato pancakes (no syrup needed) and we both crave their thick slab bacon. The two egg breakfast with a pancake instead of toast is perfection!

For lunch, I prefer the BLTMB or the Cuban. BLTMB=Bacon, Lettuce, Tomato, Mozzarella & Basil. Their BLTA salad is another fave for both of us. (Bacon, Lettuce, Tomato & Avocado).

Usually we have the ice tea at lunch or a vanilla latte for breakfast. Both great. Sometimes I indulge at lunch and get the peach smoothie...with a shot of rum added. Mmmmmmmmm. OK, it's good without the rum, but why not make it "special"?

Cheers!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    65
    12
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Food is good, but.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Went to Old T own Red Rooster Cafe with another couple on Saturday. First impression was good. Cute place with country decor, clean, friendly staff. We grabbed a table and sat down. A very friendly woman came over and told us what the specials where and to "come on up to the counter when you're ready to order". That's where it started falling apart for me. I mean, come on, the breakfast items were all over $10. At that price I really do expect someone to come to my table and take my order. Anyway, we ordered and I must say the process was less than speedy. My breakfast was sweet potato pancakes, eggs, bacon and potatoes. The bacon was thick cut and had a nice smoky flavor but it was limp and the fat wasn't even close to cooked. The scrambled eggs were just OK, but the sweet potato pancakes were delicious. Not a home run but not a strike out either.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a delightful place. We sat on the porch and had a wonderful breakfast, everything is made fresh and all top notch ingredients are included. Not being elaborate breakfast people, we were each able to have a pretty regular breakfast of eggs, bacon, home fries, toast and fruit.

All really good.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Love the 3-Cheese Quiche!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Served with local greens and yogurt. Top it with a mimosa, a cappuccino or a Caffè Americano. Try some cheese and wine on the back patio. A favorite local restaurant for breakfast and lunch.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fast and fresh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Great food. Small little place. No big crowds to deal with. Very casual. The food was hot and fresh. And very speedy. Prefect ambiance for breakfast.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Town Red Rooster Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Old Town Red Rooster Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Town Red Rooster Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.