We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KONA Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kona Grill

Kona Grill
3111 W Chandler Blvd, Ste 2150, Chandler, AZ 85226-5216
480-792-1711
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kona Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #86 of 520 restaurants in Chandler
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“KONA Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Very pleasant atmosphere and a great staff. They tried hard to accommodate our party as quickly as possible.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    15
    30
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boonton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Outstanding find!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I found Kona Grill online while looking for a restaurant close to where we were staying on our trip to the outskirts of Phoenix. The menu looked really good, so we decided to try it. We went hunting for it, using our GPS and almost gave up because the address didn't indicate that it's actually all the way at one end of the Fashion Mall called Chandler Village, but we finally found it. So glad! It was awesome!! The decor is beautiful...Asian-style, sleek, clean lines. They have two bars, a regular one and a sushi bar, but they serve anything on the menus at either bar, so we sat at the sushi bar. We usually eat at the bar, because you get great service there, along with interesting conversation. That certainly happened here. Our waiter, Gabriel, was super, and one of the sushi chefs, Suki-san, gave my husband a great opportunity to practice his Japanese.

As far as the food...it was awesome! We shared a yellowtail sashimi with jalapeño and cilantro, which was so interesting and yummy. Then we shared the shrimp and penne with lemon dish that was so good that we sopped up all of the sauce after we finished the food.

They also had at the table, when you sat down, these little white things that looked like giant aspirins. Gabriel came with a tea pot of hot water and poured the water on them and they puffed up onto cheesecloth hand wipes...vey cool!

The service, attention to the customer, and the food were flawless! Wish they were closer to home in NJ!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

new to this area and found a great mall but did not want courtyard cuisine...lucky for us there was the KONA Grill. Excellent Sushi, and decent selections for other fare. Had great service, one of the sushi dishes did come out a little late but still very good. will definetly go back. a little on pricey side but everything in this area is...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced pick up joint”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Every time I have gone here I have thought the food was marginal and extremely pricey, plus it is a total meat market. I think people just go there to drink and be seen.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The food was good at the Kona grill, but I wasn't overly impressed. I probably would not return to this location because of the poor value.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Grill also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Kona Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kona Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.