We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for Happy Hour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant Bar Restaurant

Elephant Bar Restaurant
3405 W Chandler Blvd, Chandler, AZ 85226
(480) 899-8088
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 586 Restaurants in Chandler
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go for Happy Hour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Elephant Bar is very popular in Chandler with the dinner time wait for a table is always at least half an hour. But, if you go during Happy Hour, which runs until 7:00, you can usually snag a booth in the bar with no wait. They have a concise menu that includes drink and dinner combos for $6.75
Last night we had a burger and fries and beer for this price and a flatbread pizza and beer for the same price. The flatbread was served with barbecue chicken and was tasty. The burger was huge and juicy. If you miss happy hour, their regular menu has some great choices. Try the grilled trout.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Azlosc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
AZ
Level Contributor
297 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Average food, good service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We tried this place out since the restaurant next door had a 45-55 min wait & we were in a hurry! We got a booth right away by the bar area & the waitress took care of our orders right away. We ordered the Margarita Flat Bread for starters which was good, the Mongolian beef over veggies & rice was decent but nothing spectacular. The crunchy chicken was lacking in many ways. Chicken was soggy & not crunchy. Paid extra for fried rice but there were a few carrot specs, ginger & maybe a drizzle of soy sauce - it was disappointing to say the least! Our waitress always made sure our drinks were not empty.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bluelagoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
202 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very good eclectic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We came across this restaurant by accident, on our way to PF Chang. We decided to go here instead, since we're exploring the area and prefer to try new places. Glad we did. We ate at the bar, which we do 99% of the time, and found the bartender, Jeremiah, very friendly and helpful. The food is not Japanese, as is indicated incorrectly. It does have an Asian touch but is very eclectic and interesting. We had the mandarin orange salad, which was very good, and the cilantro lime salmon, which was excellent. There are a lot of small plates that we may come back to try. We also had a mini dessert of caramel cake with pineapple that was delicious!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
255 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great food and service… will come back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Wide variety of options in the menu and appetizers are very good; they have very friendly staff. Stake was not that great…just average but the rest of meals were very good. We reserved a table for 8 pax and they put us in a somewhat uncomfortable semicircular table…not that cool, but we had a really good time. Certainly will return here next time in town.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank daesquiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Delaware
Level Contributor
100 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“It's a chain, but don't be scared off...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had a good meal at Elephant Bar, so good, that we went back the second night. The menu is varied, the service was quite good, and the atmosphere, part sports bar, part jungle adventure, is quite fun. Try the parmesan crusted chicken and shrimp combo over linguine, and definitely try the chopped salad with a variety of goodies, including cranberries and avocado. This is a huge salad, so order one and share. The second night, I was in the mood for steak, and they had a terrific 8 ounce steak sandwich on garlic toast (the bread a bit soggy, sad to say), but the steak was perfectl cooked. Sweet potato fries were a buck extra and well worth it, and a side of sauteed spinach was garlicky and not overly cooked, so that was a treat. EB has some very nice desserts, if you have the room. Good value for the price. I would be think that with the fun decor, parents will be able to bring their kids for a fun time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BKtheRetiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Bar Restaurant also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Elephant Bar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing