We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel outside the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kai Restaurant

Kai Restaurant
5594 W Wild Horse Pass Blvd, Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort, Chandler, AZ 85070-4000
(602) 225-0100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kai Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 520 restaurants in Chandler
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: I-10 and Wild Horse Pass Blvd
Description: Recipient of the Coveted AAA Five Diamond Award and Forbes Five-Star Award, KAI, meaning 'seed' in the Pima language, features a menu rich in creativity, history and Native American culture. Executive Chef Conor Favre and Chef de Cuisine Joshua Johnson incorporate the essence of the Pima and Maricopa tribes and locally farmed ingredients from the Gila River Indian Community to create unforgettable masterpieces. James Beard Award-winning Chef Janos Wilder is consulting chef for KAI and is renowned for creating unique and indigenous menu experiences. Open for dinner Tuesday - Saturday, reservations are strongly recommended. KAI maintains a smart business casual dress code. It prohibits hats, T-shirts, and shorts for both ladies and gentlemen, including open-toed sandals for men. Dress hats for ladies are acceptable. Denim is not preferred. As a courtesy to other diners, please refrain from using cell phones or laptops in the dining room.
california
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel outside the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel is lovely, comfortable, and well appointed. The grounds are attractive, service is great, very clean, etc. A really good choice outside the downtown area. Frankly, a much more desirable location than downtown if you ask me.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    207
    20
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“There aren't good enough words to describe the excellence of Kai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Hands down, the best meal I've ever had in my life. Also hands down the most expensive, but the experience, the flavors, the service, all worth every penny.

Kai blends a Native American base theme with locally grown and locally sourced ingredients to create dishes that are simply out of this world. The Lobster Degustation we started with was sublime. The menu describes it as three items, "Butter Braised Tail, Avocado Mousse, Tear Drop Salsa & Lobster Coral Lobster Knuckles in Sweet Corn Panna Cotta with Sour Radishes, Lobster Cobbler with Mesquite Meal & Burnt Irish Porter Cheese". I describe it as simply ridiculous in its enjoyability.

I had a Buffalo steak which was very lean yet incredibly tender. My wife had the Ribeye steak, which was borderline too fatty, but the flavor and texture were outstanding. The house-made barbecue sauce should be bottled and sold.

My dessert was the "Two Sisters Squash Air Cake", with "60-Day Corn Ice Cream, Mesquite Syrup, Smoked Corn Puree, Ramona Farms Ga’Ivsa, Tarragon and Amaranth". What the menu doesn't say is the dish is delivered under a bell filled with Applewood smoke. Wow. Unexpected, and exceptionally different.

Make no mistake: Dining here is an investment in time and money. It is not inexpensive in any way shape or form. But if you're willing to invest in flavors and textures and service you're not likely to experience in many places, and certainly not anywhere else here in the Valley, then make a reservation and be prepared to be awestruck.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Most wonderful experience, unique ingredient selections, fantastic service, a very memorable evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Art + Service + Taste= The Kai experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The 13 course tasting menu + wine pairings, that unfolded over 4 hours was the most expensive meal we've ever had. It was worth every penny. This was not a meal, it was an experience. The presentation of each course (especially the plainly named "salad greens" or something like that) was creative and beautiful. Each bite unfolded in my mouth. Despite the sheer deliciousness (is that a word?), there was no temptation to eat quickly..savoring was the order of business. Consider the cost of a balloon ride, a helicopter flight, or some other pricey excursion and then compare it to this. Kai wins.

*The wine pairings were unique-the sommelier purposely did not choose the expected, but rather serves wine that I guarantee you have never tasted or in some cases even heard of (and we are quite knowledgeable) but complement the courses nicely...

*Loved the fairly low key, unassuming, standard "fancy chain hotel" decor (hey, you need comfy chairs for this), contrasted with the exquisite meal.

*Do talk with the servers..they are happy to offer information about that specific location, the meal, and anything else about the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“THIS is culinary bliss!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

In previous reviews I've mentioned my pursuit of culinary bliss. This is the gold standard!!! Every bite that both of us took was amazing! Each bite left us wanting another - of the same, of the next. It was a rather tantric culinary experience that never really climaxed, but left us feeling very "complete".

From the moment we arrived at valet parking, to our welcome at the hostess stand, through our meal, being attended to by our server and his minions, to the bottled water, chocolates, and server's thank-you note left in our waiting car back at the valet stand....we felt pampered and privileged.

One of our favorite parts of the night (next to the amazing food) was our server's explanation of the overall menu, the dining room, and each item on the menu and their connections to the local Akimel O'odham people and customs. That was wonderful and, if anything, would love more of this connection to the local culture.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kai Restaurant also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Kai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.