We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a special occasion!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kai Restaurant

Kai Restaurant
5594 W Wild Horse Pass Blvd, Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort, Chandler, AZ 85070-4000
(602) 225-0100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kai Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 531 Restaurants in Chandler
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: I-10 and Wild Horse Pass Blvd
Description: Recipient of the Coveted AAA Five Diamond Award and Forbes Five-Star Award, KAI, meaning 'seed' in the Pima language, features a menu rich in creativity, history and Native American culture. Executive Chef Conor Favre and Chef de Cuisine Joshua Johnson incorporate the essence of the Pima and Maricopa tribes and locally farmed ingredients from the Gila River Indian Community to create unforgettable masterpieces. James Beard Award-winning Chef Janos Wilder is consulting chef for KAI and is renowned for creating unique and indigenous menu experiences. Open for dinner Tuesday - Saturday, reservations are strongly recommended. KAI maintains a smart business casual dress code. It prohibits hats, T-shirts, and shorts for both ladies and gentlemen, including open-toed sandals for men. Dress hats for ladies are acceptable. Denim is not preferred. As a courtesy to other diners, please refrain from using cell phones or laptops in the dining room.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Perfect for a special occasion!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our dinner was an experience of fine food, wine, service, and ambience. It's a five star and well deserved. Very attentive wait staff, everything was so well done from the time we were seated to the very end of our meal. We were offered several choices of garnishes for our water, even making that special. Stories of Native American cuisine were explained which made it all the more interesting. The meals were delicious! There was a nice list of wines to choose from. At the end of our meal, we were treated to an assortment of yummy truffles that I couldn't resist. This is a wonderful choice to celebrate any special occasion for adults. Be sure to make reservations ahead of time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    21
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I was so excited to try this restaurant and it exceeded my expectations. The wait staff were very attentive, welcoming, and knowledgeable. The food and drinks were amazing!! It was a very special end of our trip to Phoenix. We were especially surprised at the treats from the restaurant in our car when we left. It was one of the best dining experiences I've ever had. The food was wonderful and beautifully presented. I would highly recommend trying this restaurant if you're in the Phoenix area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The best restaurant in Phoenix. The staff is just amazing, the food really creative and delicious and really nice environment. Terrific service and very creative menu items

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“I concur!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I must agree that this is an amazing dining experience. Everything flawless and delicious. The meal ended with a hand written thank you note in our valeted car which was waiting, ready for us as we left the resort. FIRST CLASS!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“5 star food and service on the Reservation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We thought this place was outstanding a few years ago, but the innovative cuisine and fantastic service is now at the five star level---well worth the drive from Phoenix or Scottsdale. We had tickets for a concert that evening a shuttle bus ride away from the restaurant, had a relaxed luxurious meal over a couple of hours and they still had us there with time to spare. The menu accommodates carnivores, vegetarians, special diets, etc. Many of the dishes showcase their Native American roots. The seafood and meats include more exotic ones such as pheasant, buffalo, elk, etc. It was a wonderful evening, and will bring us back much more often than we have made it in the past. A great place for a special occasion, a romantic evening, or to make a great impression!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kai Restaurant also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Kai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.