We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dinner to remember” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kai Restaurant

Kai Restaurant
5594 W Wild Horse Pass Blvd, Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort, Chandler, AZ 85070-4000
(602) 225-0100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kai Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 523 restaurants in Chandler
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: I-10 and Wild Horse Pass Blvd
Description: Recipient of the Coveted AAA Five Diamond Award and Forbes Five-Star Award, KAI, meaning 'seed' in the Pima language, features a menu rich in creativity, history and Native American culture. Executive Chef Conor Favre and Chef de Cuisine Joshua Johnson incorporate the essence of the Pima and Maricopa tribes and locally farmed ingredients from the Gila River Indian Community to create unforgettable masterpieces. James Beard Award-winning Chef Janos Wilder is consulting chef for KAI and is renowned for creating unique and indigenous menu experiences. Open for dinner Tuesday - Saturday, reservations are strongly recommended. KAI maintains a smart business casual dress code. It prohibits hats, T-shirts, and shorts for both ladies and gentlemen, including open-toed sandals for men. Dress hats for ladies are acceptable. Denim is not preferred. As a courtesy to other diners, please refrain from using cell phones or laptops in the dining room.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A dinner to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I had dinner at Kai last Saturday after we learned that is the only 5 star diamond restaurant in Arizona. The place had a very romantics and scenic setting with views of South and Estrella mountains between which the sun set giving the sky and surroundings a golden orange tinge. The service was impeccable from the valet guys to the entire dinner staff, and the food was most delicious consistent with their concept of "global fusion," which meant every dish had Native American, Southwestern and French flavors. It is perfect for celebrating special occasions with loved ones, and special guests and friends. What a wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    208
    20
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Michelin should visit to Arizona and grant it at least 2 stars!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Wow! Chef Joshua Johnson is all that the Napa Valley wannabes wish they could ever be and much more!!!

The first quality that sets him apart is that he is not pretending to be French! He understands that he is sitting in an Indian Reservation in the southwest and transmits exactly that to every piece and bit of flavor on each of his dishes.

Every bite will bring back memories and set your brain on fire!!! Deserves at least 2 Michelin stars! The service is impeccable and the wine pairing excellent!!

I travel the world in search of restaurants and this is not only one of the best in the USA, I would say one of the best in the world! Pay a visit, you will not regret it!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect all the way.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The best restaurant I have been to in the US (except New York) and up in my list of best places all over and having done several 3* Michelin restaurants that means something.
What stand out most, even more than the food, is the service. One example of this were the 2 bottles of water, choclates and a thank you note from the server in our car after dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Fl
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A unique dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had a dinner at Kai 2 nights ago.
It was an extraordinary experience that exceeded our expectations. Kai is as good (and in some cases, better) than many of the Michelin 3-star restaurants we hae dined at.
Everything about this restaurant show an attention to detail that it is unmatched. From the original Native American art on the wall (and on the menus), to the excellent wine list, to the incredible food.
And the service? One of the best we have received at any restaurant. The culmination of this service was after we finished dining and picked up our car at the hotel's valet parking. Waiting for us inside the car were a thank-you card hand written by our server, and some chocolates.

I can not reccommend this restaurant enough!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Just came back to MN after an amazing stay at Wild Horse Pass. So glad we decided to eat at Kai for the most awesome dining experience ever! You feel special the minute you set foot in this restaurant ... almost another world of Native American influence. There are no words for the presentation of the food...kudos to the chef and his staff!!! The buffalo was perfection for my husband, as were the scallops, shrimp and lobster for me. This is a very upscale restaurant with a dress code (thank you!!!). To top off our experience, a note from our waiter was slipped under our hotel room door within 10 minutes of our return, telling us how much he enjoyed serving us. Now that's pretty cool! It was an evening we'll always remember.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kai Restaurant also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona

Been to Kai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.