We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kai Restaurant

Kai Restaurant
5594 W Wild Horse Pass Blvd, Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort, Chandler, AZ 85070-4000
(602) 225-0100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kai Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 525 Restaurants in Chandler
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: I-10 and Wild Horse Pass Blvd
Description: Recipient of the Coveted AAA Five Diamond Award and Forbes Five-Star Award, KAI, meaning 'seed' in the Pima language, features a menu rich in creativity, history and Native American culture. Executive Chef Conor Favre and Chef de Cuisine Joshua Johnson incorporate the essence of the Pima and Maricopa tribes and locally farmed ingredients from the Gila River Indian Community to create unforgettable masterpieces. James Beard Award-winning Chef Janos Wilder is consulting chef for KAI and is renowned for creating unique and indigenous menu experiences. Open for dinner Tuesday - Saturday, reservations are strongly recommended. KAI maintains a smart business casual dress code. It prohibits hats, T-shirts, and shorts for both ladies and gentlemen, including open-toed sandals for men. Dress hats for ladies are acceptable. Denim is not preferred. As a courtesy to other diners, please refrain from using cell phones or laptops in the dining room.
Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of a kind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Truly a dining experience that goes beyond the food! Dishes are unique, presentation is a work of art and delicious! You even receive a thank you card from your server along with chocolates and "designer" water while you wait to get your car from Valet!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    20
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“A unique dining experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The service was absolutely incredible. Unlike anywhere we have ever dinned. Every aspect of this place is off the charts. It is a little pricey, but the experience is well worth it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING RESTAURANT, second to none”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Kai, the Pima word for "seed" is a Five Diamond award winning restaurant that provides a one of a kind dining experience. The dining experience is OUTSTANDING from the initial greeting as we arrived, to the service, food presentation and stunning sunset view!! Feliciano our server was knowledgable, friendly and very professional. I tried the Skocu Thu (the hot stuff) (Lemon Vodka, Limoncello, Jalapeno pepper, Chili Vodka) and it was the best drink I have ever had!!!! Food ingredients are frequently obtained from Native American tribes and the food here is adventurous and delicious! My wife and I tried the buffalo tenderloin with saguaro-blossom syrup and cholla cactus flower buds. It was superb!!!
Kai is an exceptional restauant and although not inexpensive the experience which is sophisticated and subdued is worth every penny. The sunsets cannot be matched. and the service is second to none! Highly Recommended!!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Top of the line service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The food here is outstanding, but what set this place far above most is the service. I had my reservation for 7:00 and they were not able to seat me until 7:15 they apologized and gave us a bottle of wine for delaying us. Once seated the sommelier was possibly the most knowledgeable wine consoeur I have ever met and we had one amazing night out.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Step Away From Reality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

What an experience! And that's all you could call it. From the incredibly organized and orchestrated greeting through the food presentation and goodbye, this restaurant has surpassed all expectations. You enter another world when you leave your car with the valet. The greetings and welcoming smiles prepare you for your relaxing dinner. As we watched the sunset and were given a brief history of the Pima and Maricopa nations that make up this reservation, we chatted with the sommelier and our wait person. When I visited The Kai 6 years ago, I chose the "small tastings," which is still on the menu, but this time I opted for mouthwatering lamb. My friend chose the organic buffalo tenderloin. We started with indescribably artistic, yet delicious "salads", if you want to categorize them. The attention to detail throughout our service, and to our pleasure in dining there was only enhanced by the coffee presentation, for it truly was a dramatic finish. And to end the evening they even gifted us when we picked up the car!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kai Restaurant also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Kai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.