We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kai Restaurant

Kai Restaurant
5594 W Wild Horse Pass Blvd, Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort, Chandler, AZ 85070-4000
(602) 225-0100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kai Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 522 Restaurants in Chandler
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: I-10 and Wild Horse Pass Blvd
Description: Recipient of the Coveted AAA Five Diamond Award and Forbes Five-Star Award, KAI, meaning 'seed' in the Pima language, features a menu rich in creativity, history and Native American culture. Executive Chef Conor Favre and Chef de Cuisine Joshua Johnson incorporate the essence of the Pima and Maricopa tribes and locally farmed ingredients from the Gila River Indian Community to create unforgettable masterpieces. James Beard Award-winning Chef Janos Wilder is consulting chef for KAI and is renowned for creating unique and indigenous menu experiences. Open for dinner Tuesday - Saturday, reservations are strongly recommended. KAI maintains a smart business casual dress code. It prohibits hats, T-shirts, and shorts for both ladies and gentlemen, including open-toed sandals for men. Dress hats for ladies are acceptable. Denim is not preferred. As a courtesy to other diners, please refrain from using cell phones or laptops in the dining room.
Scottsdale, AZ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Kai restaurant is located in the Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort in the Gila River Indian Community near Chandler, Arizona.
It is an AAA Five Diamond Award Signature Restaurant, and deserves this high rating.
The food, loosely based on Native American ingredients, is remarkable. We did not have any missteps in the dishes we ordered. All were extremely creative in presentation, and taste.
We savored every morsel. We ordered the salad for our first course and it was delightfully presented as a garden: eggplant and tomato confit represented the soil which was covered with tiny lettuce plantings! The local Crow Dairy feta cheese and delicious spicy sweet pecans, were the accompaniments. The lobster degustation was a trio of treatments: lobster claw with avocado mousse, lobster panna cotta and mesquite bean and with cheesy lobster bits. For our main course, we had buffalo tenderloin. The taste of the buffalo was light and lean and really melted in your mouth. The dessert: chocolate mousse and chocolate ice cream - just the right ending. We were also treated to an amuse to start, a palate cleanser during the meal and chocolate truffles to end.
The service was impeccable with 2 attentive servers for our party of 2. I enjoyed watching a nearby table of 6 being served. Six servers came out with each course and each placed the dishes simultaneously at each guests place.
Can't say enough about such a sublime evening! Expensive, but worth every penny!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    20
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Casa Grande, Arizona
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“We've Never Been More Spoiled”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This restaurant comes highly recommended, and for a good reason. They try their hardest to be the best - and they are! We live nearby and visited one evening and we were pleasantly surprised by the unbelievable tasty food and the exceptional service. Try it and don't worry about the price - it's worth it! The view is fantastic, the atmosphere is great, and the emphasis on using local foods and seeds is impressive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fine dining at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Kai is quite possibly one of the finest restuarants in the Phoenix area. Its only real competitor is Binkley's in Cave Creek. They are on the same level, but completely different. I went here for dinner to celebrate a friend's graduation and received perhaps the best service I've ever had in my life. Everything was perfectly timed and the waitstaff was comprised of true professionals. Dinner for 4 (actually 5 because I ordered two of each course) with a couple drinks ran about $650, before tip. Definitely not bad considering the quality of food and service. This place is right on par with the best in other dining cities such as SF, NY, and LV.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“What a great place to treat yourself!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This by far is the best resteraunt in Phoenix. We have visited many AAA rated this is on the top of our list. Best service and best meal overall. This is really fine dinnning. It is not overaly eligant inside but a great mix of Native and contempary feel.

We had the valentine 7 course meal with Elk, Frograis, Native Heavy breads we to out of this world and more. Plates and service was exquisit. Hand ironed table linens and great staff with food details described in every course.

Please note this comes at a price about $125+ per person without drinks. Not a value place but if you want a special treat go for it.

No real view at night time so I suggest early evening and book way in advance..

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Had a celebratory dinner the other night with guests and was amazed at the service. We started the evening with some virgin cocktails, which i was reluctant to ask for because you get "the look." However, I wanted my guests to feel like they were getting the full experience even though they did not drink. Over server was delighted and came back with four distinctive native "cocktails" that blew their minds. One even had pomegranite caviar in it!

The next 2 hours went by quickly with 4 courses of absolutely amazing food. Some of the favorites were a duck duo, the foie gras and waffle, buffalo tenderloin with smoked corn, sea trout with avocado, suckling pig, venison with currants, pecan crusted lamb, chocolate souffle, warm fry bread with coffee ice cream... you get the point. Everything looked like it could have been in a magazine. Kudo's to the entire staff at kai for a wonderful experience my friends and i will never forget!

p.s. the flatware is warmed, or chilled to suit the course.... pretty impressive

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kai Restaurant also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Kai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;