We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Benihana in Chandler AZ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Benihana

Benihana
3025 W.Chandler Blvd., Chandler, AZ 85226
(480) 812-4701
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Benihana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #102 of 523 restaurants in Chandler
Price range: $17 - $43
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 101 Freeway Exit
Cheyenne, Wyoming, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Benihana in Chandler AZ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Always a fun time. Good food also. Our group had a person with shell fish allergies and vegetarian. The chef cooked the shrimp after everything else was done. And there is a section in the menu of noodles and tofu for the vegetarian. Was a birthday, so we had a nice discount coupon. If you like Benihana, you need to register your birthday on their site and get the emails.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    20
    5
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Always a Good Bet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Benihana's has always been a great restaurant to go to. I enjoyed going there when I was little and watching the cooks at the teppanyaki table make onion volcanos and flying shrimps. They've always had great food and fantastic service.

I recently went Feb 17th and got to take advantage of the Birthday "giftcard" they email to you. It's a $30 value and is very generous indeed. You can order almost anything on the menu (exluding certain items) and have it covered by the giftcard.

For this occasion, I opted for the Sushi Combination Deluxe and it did not disappoint. I want to start off by saying that the menu doesn't specify which sushiitems you'd be receiving, so I was anticipating some average sushi selections. I was amazed when I got sweet shrimp, squid, octopus, eel and other items (tuna, salmon, salmon roe, shrimp, tuna roll, tilapia). They also preceeded this combo with soup and salad. Needless to say, I was stuffed by the time the free ice cream came around.

All the food was top notch and the manager made a point to visit every table during our visit there. What a wonderful place for a lunch time visit :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“What a Meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were there with 4 other couples celebrating New Year's Eve. They said that 10-11 fit at one table, but the 10 of us were quite crowded, but we all wanted to sit together so we made do. The food was outstanding and our "chef" was quite entertaining. We had a great time and we stuffed!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“So Sad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have been a fan and customer of Benihana for many years, which makes this review so sad to write. I was totally unimpressed with our meal. The chef at the table just went through the motions and it was nothing too special. He under cooked my wife's shrimp and did not even cut my steak good.

There are better options available if you would like to dine out for Teppanyaki.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just average, I expected more.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Since I was traveling alone, I ate up at the bar (very small, only held about 6-8 people). I had the steak with shrimp and scallops and it was lukewarm and a little bland. I expected more from Benihana...seems like the food was prepared too quick or sat in the kitchen for awhile before I received it. The service was above average and responsive.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benihana also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Benihana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benihana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.