We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel over all but it could use some upgrade” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 San Marcos Place, Chandler, AZ 85225 (Formerly Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Chandler
1 review
“Nice hotel over all but it could use some upgrade”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Requires some improvements: balcony wasn't clean . It had dust on the table and dirty floor . No refrigerator at the room. It had an old coffee machine. Overall the room was clean. My husband had a breakfast there for $15 plus tax and he wasn't impressed at all. For this price you could get nice breakfast meal outside. The location itself was good. It's located near some good restaurants and bars. I personly didn't like the idea of the way hotel buildings were located. It remained me more of living buildings than a hotel one.

  • Stayed May 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at our resort on TripAdvisor. We apologize for the condition of your balcony and we appreciate your valuable comments regarding our breakfast pricing and guestroom layout. As always we look forward to hearing from our guests and hope to see you back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    26
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
17
19
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently had to visit this property for a conference. The map of the property is a little intimidating ... lots of buildings and pathways. However, that provides everyone with a balcony, and mine on the third floor faced right into a tree! It was great ... it gave me privacy, but I could still see the courtyard below. The room was clean, and well prepared. Plus ... I LOVED THEIR LITTLE "IN ROOM SPA TREATMENT!" It will be on the bed in a little folder ... use it if you had a long or tough day.

Room Tip: Go for a third or fourth floor room facing into a courtyard. Very pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at our resort for your recent conference. We are pleased to read that you took advantage of the guestroom balcony and that our Temple Spa Sleep Kit helped make your stay more enjoyable. We hope that you will continue to choose Crowne Plaza for your travel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful junior suite, too roomy for one person but that's not really a complaint! Walked to restaurants and shops. Comfy bed, clean room, efficient check in. The grounds are beautiful and you can golf although I did not.

Room Tip: Higher floors not blocked by bushes off the balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

From start to finish, the place was just great! The grounds were very nice & the location was outstanding. Aside from the many cats running around, it was a perfect stay; I highly recommend the place!

Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you Peter for the great review of our resort! We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VAIL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a historic hotel near a great brewery. We stayed in a late 70's section of the hotel. Exterior walkways that are pretty dark. The rooms were okay. The golf course looked great. We ate at the San Tan brewery, or rather drank a few at San Tan!

Not a huge fan, the garden is pretty but is in front of the hotel and faces the street. There are weddings held here, wouldnt be my choice.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at our resort during spring training. We are glad you enjoyed our neighbors at the San Tan Brewery and we hope you will visit us again next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

Thought this place was absolutely beautiful!! Maid service was prompt and invisible! We were in a quiet zone due to no kids. Was so peaceful!! We asked for the fire pits to be courtyard lighted, happened in moments! Nice front desk gentleman from Michigan was a sweetie pie!! He paid attention to details. Bar area and lobby was very nice. My only suggestion would be to spruce up the pool area. No bar tender on Saturday, was busy at the hotel. We used the phone and drinks were brought right out. Needs some music out there! Soft music would be nice. We enjoyed walking to all of the stores and bars and restaurants!! We had a breat time and the room was very quiet and comfortable. Thank you!

Room Tip: If you like quiet ask for the quiet zone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for posting a great review of the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort! We are pleased to read that you were able to enjoy many of the amenities, features and staff at our resort. We hope to have another opportunity to provide you with lodging on your next trip to the Chandler area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015 via mobile

We stayed in Chandler while visiting family and enjoyed the location of this resort. We were in room #205. There's lots of shopping within a short walking distance on the east side. We booked the Bed and Breakfast package which was $240 per night. I have to say that our room was outdated and dusty. The carpet and especially tile in the bathroom were both very dirty. The shower curtain fixtures were all warped, open and rusted. The view was very disappointing as it looked over the parking lot. The bed in our room had a very thin pillow top added onto it and was still too firm to get a good night's sleep on. The kids didn't want to swim in the pool because they said it tasted salty and made their skin itch. We only stayed one night before moving to another hotel. The staff seemed pretty friendly. The breakfast buffet is $15 and was pretty good. My daughter enjoyed the yogurt and waffle station while my husband enjoyed the omelette station. Our waiter was attentive. The TV did include HBO and enough cartoon channels for the kids.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us and especially for providing your room number so that we can address the concerns you listed. We are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities and we hope you will give us another opportunity on a future visit to the Chandler area to provide you with a five star experience that all our guests deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort

Address: 1 San Marcos Place, Chandler, AZ 85225 (Formerly Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Chandler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Chandler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting an newly renovated 18-hole USGA golf course with driving range and 35,000 square feet of meeting space the San Marcos Golf Resort Hotel is the perfect place to stay. Within minutes of Cactus League Spring Training visit your favorite teams: Chicago Cubs, Giants, Diamondback and the Angels. Just outside the front door you can explore downtown historic shops, breweries and eateries. Sink into a luxurious bed, with a pile of pillows, a plush duvet and satin-soft cotton sheets and awake revitalized and fresh to a full service Coffee House, featuring Starbucks located just outside your door. Relax and cool off after your golf game or a match on our lighted tennis courts in our 1912 lounge or AJ's Restaurant. Luxurious landscaped courtyards are a great way to unwind from your meeting, or enjoy the serenity on your private patio or balcony. Take a dip in our luxurious pool and therapy spa while enjoying a cocktail or check your e-mail using our complimentary Wi-Fi and business center. Located within minutes of Chandler Mall, PF Changs, theaters, AZ State University, and corporate office parks, leave the work to us by allowing our Resort Concierge take care of your entertainment & travel desires. We are just miles from Tempe, Gilbert, Mesa and Phoenix. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort Hotel is your perfect destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Hotel Chandler
Crowne Plaza Chandler
Chandler Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.