We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint charm for business hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 San Marcos Place, Chandler, AZ 85225 (Formerly Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Chandler
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Quaint charm for business hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We place to be very quiet and a quaint place in a historic district in the Phoenix area. Downtown Chandler is a nice quiet area with good eating and nighttime entertainment. Not being a golfer I did not indulge in the course but the rest of the hotel was clean and well kept up, teh pool area was immaculate. Hot tub was open late but not in an area to be of bother to rooms. The rooms were clean, the bathrooms a little dated but in good repair. It was an excellent value and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for the great review of your stay at the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort! We know that business travel can be tiring so we were pleased to read that you enjoyed the resort's quietness and its perfect location. We hope to see you back again when you travel to the Chandler area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    22
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
15
17
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I am five days into an eight day stay and the customer service has been nothing short of FANTASTIC! Although we arrived early before check in, Lisa at the front desk checked our bags with a smile and gave us pass keys to the pool and since she knew we had been traveling so long, offered us a complimentary breakfast while she hurried our room along. After getting our room ready well ahead of time, she then shuttled us to the room in the hotels golf cart. Lisa has been great each and every day we have needed anything. She has always had a smile and has met our every need. One of the many services she has offered to make our stay more comfortable was the free shuttle service. JD has been the bell hop and shuttle van driver most of the week. JD has been professional, courteous and friendly. He has been the epitome of customer service and is a true asset to the Crowne Plaza. The on duty manager we have talked to the most is Kirsten. She has been more than accommodating for any request or need we have had. Although I am writing this review before my stay is complete, I am confident the great customer service will continue. The four star rating was based on the hotel alone. Although the rooms are newly renovated, the grounds and upkeep brought the score to a four star. The staff and customer service is nothing short of FIVE stars.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you so much for posting such a wonderful review of the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort. It gives us great pleasure to know that our team members are making your stay one that merits a five-star rating for service. We value your business and hope your event is a great success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed here a week for work, but I could definitely see this as a vacation spot. This location is definitely a "resort" and for a pretty great price. The pool is nice and private. The "continental breakfast" I received free for having gold status turned out to be the full buffet which is nice. Some travellers calling it "maze like" are not incorrect, but luckily the signs with directions are easy to follow. The room was VERY good size for one person and clean. Front desk was friendly and fast. Towels are better quality than the average hotel. Air con a little loud but strong enough to cool down a hot Arizona summer day. I didn't try golf or tennis.
Cons: The free wifi didnt work in the room at all that week, only in the lobby area. If you stay in one of the more "West" rooms you'd be a pretty significant walking distance to lobby/restaurant but not any moreso than other large resorts.
Overall, great stay Crowne Plaza.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for posting your review of the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort.
We were happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do apologize, however, for the inconvenience our non-working wifi may have caused you. We hope you have another opportunity to stay with us the next time you visit the Chandler area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times in the past and while it has been somewhat updated, it still needs some improvements, specifically in the areas of attention to detail and staff training. The rooms were spacious and clean, wi-fi was adequate, but the housekeeping staff need to pay more attention to detail. (Wastebaskets not emptied, and toilet paper not replenished until I made a specific request at the front desk.) with prices approaching $200 per night, this was an unexpected letdown. The front desk staff, while friendly and courteous, was somewhat confused by a party of 8 checking into 4 rooms, and it took some doing to get adjacent rooms, even though this was requested 3 months in advance. While the service has improved over previous years, it still needs to be tweaked a little.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for sharing your experience during your most recent stay at our resort.
We do apologize that your stay was not up to our usual standards. Your comments are very valuable to us and they will be addressed with our staff. We appreciate your continued patronage and look forward to seeing you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Traveling through the area I located this hotel via the internet and was thrilled with the price and the location so I booked it. When we checked in, the front desk person made us feel so welcome and special. Not just the typical pleasantries and assistance, but went out of her way to answer questions, accommodated our request to be placed in a quiet area and we knew were in good hands. The hotel is amazing! The grounds are beautiful, it is large yet laid out in a fashion that was castle-like and magical. We were so pleased when we entered our room, it was large, clean, had a refrigerator, big closet, iron, hair dryer, coffee, tea, water, nice flat screen TV, a sliding glass door that when you stepped out onto the balcony the air was refreshing and the balcony inviting and relaxing. And as I always do, I noticed the nice shower head and the thick thirsty towels and was subsequently very pleased with the two things I judge a nice room with since it is the icing on the cake. The bed was very comfortable with the compliment of great pillows. Did I mention that the room was clean? It sparkled! I noticed there were very happy guests at this hotel. Another great feature was free Wi-Fi! Such a treat to have the ability to do computer work with no hiccups. Great hotel, great price, great stay, happy guests. We will be back!

Room Tip: We appreciate a quiet area of the hotel. All pods have ice, elevators and the materials in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for posting such a wonderful review of your stay at the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort! We were pleased to read that we reached our goal of making you feel welcome and providing you with a memorable stay. We look forward to seeing you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palaiseau, France
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

you like hotels well maintained (wall painting, bath room, ...), you like at the hotel restaurant to get your main course after your starter, you like your main course to be warm, you like the personel to apologize when they screw up (everyone can make a mistake), you like to sleep at night with no noise. RUN AWAY from this hotel

You like to have a post card when you arrive saying welcome.you like to stay in the old Chandler city center You are at the right place

Room Tip: far from a noise group as the walls are rather thin
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your stay at our resort. We apologize for any inconvenience you were caused. We appreciate your business and thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Tan Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed overnight for a wedding recently and found the hotel and rooms very nice but pricey even with the 'Wedding Block of Rooms". The next morning we all met for the breakfast buffet which was $14.95/per person. It turned out to be a better deal than just ordering a few side dishes since the bacon alone was $8.00!

Apparently they were short staffed and the service and servers were terrible. The buffet was okay and as more of our family and friends arrived we would get up again to get a little more food. Suddenly there was a prime rib roast station and I got one piece for myself and my husband. We asked for the bill and what should have been a $29.90 + tax turned into $62.00!!!

Seems the prices change when the prime rib comes out. When late family arrived we looked at the menu given to them and sure enough it still said $14.95 for the breakfast buffet. My husband had the bill corrected and the rest of our family made sure their's was correct also.

I would definitely not stay there again. And, DEFINITELY find another place for breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the patio and always ask for a top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We appreciate your review of the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort. Please accept our apology for our inability to properly convey the times of our regular breakfast and our Sunday brunch. We will make a greater effort to communicate this clearly to our dining guests to avoid any pricing confusion. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort

Address: 1 San Marcos Place, Chandler, AZ 85225 (Formerly Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Chandler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Chandler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting an newly renovated 18-hole USGA golf course with driving range and 35,000 square feet of meeting space the San Marcos Golf Resort Hotel is the perfect place to stay. Within minutes of Cactus League Spring Training visit your favorite teams: Chicago Cubs, Giants, Diamondback and the Angels. Just outside the front door you can explore downtown historic shops, breweries and eateries. Sink into a luxurious bed, with a pile of pillows, a plush duvet and satin-soft cotton sheets and awake revitalized and fresh to a full service Coffee House, featuring Starbucks located just outside your door. Relax and cool off after your golf game or a match on our lighted tennis courts in our 1912 lounge or AJ's Restaurant. Luxurious landscaped courtyards are a great way to unwind from your meeting, or enjoy the serenity on your private patio or balcony. Take a dip in our luxurious pool and therapy spa while enjoying a cocktail or check your e-mail using our complimentary Wi-Fi and business center. Located within minutes of Chandler Mall, PF Changs, theaters, AZ State University, and corporate office parks, leave the work to us by allowing our Resort Concierge take care of your entertainment & travel desires. We are just miles from Tempe, Gilbert, Mesa and Phoenix. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort Hotel is your perfect destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Hotel Chandler
Crowne Plaza Chandler
Chandler Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.