We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, courtyard, pool and golf course.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 San Marcos Place, Chandler, AZ 85225 (Formerly Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Chandler
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Beautiful hotel, courtyard, pool and golf course.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Having spent 4 nights in Chandler for a family wedding, the Crown Plaza Phoenix was the perfect location for us. Our 3rd floor room overlooked a beautiful courtyard from our balcony. The pool area was surrounded by palm trees. Conveniently located, we walked to several shops, restaurants and brew pubs. The historic hotel proved to be a wonderful central point as we visited and toured places 30 minutes away in any direction. I wish we had time to play the golf course, maybe on our next visit to Arizona. A very friendly and courteous staff.

Room Tip: Request a room with a courtyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    14
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
10
13
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This beautiful hotel is absolutely marvellous. I love the tropical layout with each room having a balcony or a patio. The rooms are very clean and the bed's comfortable.
If there was a breakfast included, I would have given it a 5 star rating.
I hope I can come back here again.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your glowing review of the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort!
We do hope you can make it back to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While traveling with friends we stayed two nights in Chandler at the Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort. We were surprised to find that it was historically significant, having the first green golf course in Arizona. It is located in downtown Chandler, easily walkable to shops and restaurants. At check-in the staff was very accommodating, arranging for us to have rooms close together with a nice view from our balconies of the courtyard. For us, this place was a great find. Two things to note, on the morning of our departure, we had to leave early for the airport and the elevator wasn't working. Secondly, we needed and had to ask for a refrigerator which we immediately got. I have traveled extensively and rarely stay in the same place twice. I would gladly come back here and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If walking is a problem for you, ask for a room close to the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear David V,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed our resort and we do hope to see you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall a decent property in a convenient Chandler location.

The room was clean and comfortable with a small sofa and a balcony with a small table and two chairs. The only negative is regarding the room (for me) was no mini fridge. It is also worth noting that finding your room is a bit of a maze due to the property layout.

The property location is convenient. Easy access to the 202, and there are severals places to eat or drink just a short walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back again for a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel in December the hotel and grounds are well kept and the rooms are very clean with plenty of space. It seems a shame that although the room had a recent refurbishment the bath tub itself had not been replaced and seemed to let the rest of the room down. The only downside was the fact that a lone traveller the hotel didn't seem to have anyone to help me with my luggage and on the day I left the elevators were out of order. The only other down side is that in the evenings it was noisy due to the fact my room was near the outside Jacuzzi. All in all very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort. We apologize for the lack of assistance with your luggage and our inability to provide you with a more quiet location. We sincerely appreciate your comments and do hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyons, Colorado
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It doesn't look like this facility likes to cater to business travelers. For those of you that appreciate being able to check in early please be warned. I dropped by just after midday to check in, not unlike I had done several times before. The young lady at the desk informed me that there was a $25 early check-in fee. She informed me that I would have to wait until 2 o'clock or be charged. It's going to be a busy year for us in Phoenix. The $25 probably cost them 200 room nights. If I could get out of my reservation now I would. Someone should teach these people about customer service. There's an ancient Chinese proverb..."it's not what it costs it's what it costs you". Maybe not a Chinese proverb but it sure rings true in this case. Goodbye San Marcos. Best of luck!

Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for providing feedback from your stay at the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort. We are very sorry that you were offended by our early check in policy and the impression that it left you with. Thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is historical, but only from an Arizonan perspective (we've got council estates in the UK that were built before this hotel), and I get a feeling that the management use the status of being on the historic building register to shrug off how dated and tatty the place is.

The check-in area might be nicely kept, but the rooms themselves are more like the sort of motel you'd pay forty bucks to stay in; all the doors point outwards; there's plenty of room for people to slip in off the streets unnoticed; as you walk about you meet people looking shifty on the stairwells.

It's the sort of place where you feel lucky that the third ice machine actually works, but wish you didn't have to go up three staircases to get back to your room.

We asked if we could check-in an hour early; we were asked to pay $35 for the privilege. What does this cover? Either the room is ready, or it isn't.

There's also a resort fee, but it's not clear what this covers - there's a swimming pool, which is very well presented and beautifully lit at night but 'a pool' does not a resort make; there's a golf course, but that costs extra. The resort fee appears to cover the costs of the extra ink of printing the word 'resort' on the paperwork. (Certainly, if you're expecting an experience akin to, say, a Florida resoert hotel, you'd be really disappointed.)

The stay itself added to the misery. We'd got a third-floor balcony executive room - again, it was tatty but was at least huge; came with a fridge and a separate shower. During our stay there was a lot of banging as rooms were upgraded, but we couldn't tell if ours had been done or was waiting.

The view, to our surprised, was not over the golf course, or the pool, or any other resort-like facility, but over a couple of vacant lots. If you like to play the game of 'why is that pick-up driving round each corner of that lot and stopping for five minutes', or 'how many stray dogs can you count', it's good news. People on the second floor, to be honest, wouldn't have been able to join in, as their view was entirely blocked by overgrown bushes.

There's no safe in the room, and I'd strongly advise you to keep anything valuable in the trunk of your car when you're not in the hotel.

Anyway, first night, we're happily asleep - when all of a sudden my wife hears running water.

The sink is filling from below, and water and strange black murk is spilling over onto the floor.

Fair enough, this sort of thing could even happen in a well-maintained hotel. But the reaction of the desk was annoying.

"We'll send someone up with some towels..."
(not, as you'd expect, a mop, which might be better for an inch of water)
"... then get someone to look at what's happening, and then if we can't fix it we'll see about moving you."

It's 12.30, and their reaction, in order, is to dry the floor, look at the plumbing, and then - as a last resort - to move us. When I suggest that I'd rather not spend an hour I'd planned sleeping waiting for a plumber, the desk person seems taken aback but reluctantly agrees to a move.

On a positive note, the man who came to help us relocate was brilliant - friendly, efficient; exactly the sort of customer service lacking elsewhere.

Next day, we go to the desk to sort things out (I'd have expected someone from the hotel to contact us first). They offer to remove the early check-in fee and resort fee; after a little to-and-fro we think we've got an agreement that we'd pay the equivalent fee for a room the size we ended up in for both nights of our stay (although the desk person seemed to think this a massive request because we'd paid "a discount rate". We hadn't; we'd paid the market rate requested on the IHG site, in advance.)

We also point out the room we're now in only has lukewarm water - no cold, no hot; and that the sheet didn't fit the bed. These matters will be dealt with, we're promised.

Neither problem was fixed.

To our surprise, when the bill came the next day, we were still being charged the executive-room rate for the first night.

Back to the desk, where the same assistant attempted to argue there was no reason to expect we should pay less for having to move to a smaller room in the middle of the night because - again - we'd "already had a discount rate". We again pointed out that if we had booked a king rather than executive room, it would have been cheaper. With some ill grace, she heads off inside a room, and comes back after five minutes with a grudging $45 reduction.

It was a fair result, but it shouldn't have taken two trips and two arguments for a Crowne Plaza to offer to charge at the lower rate. (Some hotels would have comped the first night, but in a place where you're fined for turning up early, that was never going to happen.)

There are a load of hotels in Chandler; should we return to this city we'll investigate one of those. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Transatlantica,
I regret that we fell well short of your expectations for a historical resort on your recent stay with us.
The shortcomings of some of the physical aspects were disappointing but the poor service that you encountered is more so. Travel is difficult when everything goes as expected but the difficulties you encountered and then met with poor service or indifference is unacceptable. I appreciate the time that you took to share your experience and I will certainly use your comments to review with my staff on how we should handle guest issues when they arise as well as how we can prevent them in advance.
Wishing you safe travels and a better lodging experience wherever they may take you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort

Address: 1 San Marcos Place, Chandler, AZ 85225 (Formerly Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Chandler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Chandler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting an newly renovated 18-hole USGA golf course with driving range and 35,000 square feet of meeting space the San Marcos Golf Resort Hotel is the perfect place to stay. Within minutes of Cactus League Spring Training visit your favorite teams: Chicago Cubs, Giants, Diamondback and the Angels. Just outside the front door you can explore downtown historic shops, breweries and eateries. Sink into a luxurious bed, with a pile of pillows, a plush duvet and satin-soft cotton sheets and awake revitalized and fresh to a full service Coffee House, featuring Starbucks located just outside your door. Relax and cool off after your golf game or a match on our lighted tennis courts in our 1912 lounge or AJ's Restaurant. Luxurious landscaped courtyards are a great way to unwind from your meeting, or enjoy the serenity on your private patio or balcony. Take a dip in our luxurious pool and therapy spa while enjoying a cocktail or check your e-mail using our complimentary Wi-Fi and business center. Located within minutes of Chandler Mall, PF Changs, theaters, AZ State University, and corporate office parks, leave the work to us by allowing our Resort Concierge take care of your entertainment & travel desires. We are just miles from Tempe, Gilbert, Mesa and Phoenix. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort Hotel is your perfect destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Hotel Chandler
Crowne Plaza Chandler
Chandler Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Phoenix - Chandler Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.