We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 San Marcos Place, Chandler, AZ 85225   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Chandler
Sedona, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The staff was very nice, the room was very clean and nice, too, however, it did not even have a fridge. i requested it and it came 1.5 hour after my request... The hotel grounds were not too clean, either. One out of the two elevators was broken, the other was simply dirty. The room was not 1005 soundproof, i could hear the music from a patio quite a distance from my courtyard, despite the closed balcony doors.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet night's sleep, do not take a room that would be over the main courtyard/pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to critique your stay at the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort. It’s a pleasure to share your comments regarding our staff. We will, however, be certain to address your concerns with the cleanliness of the grounds and elevator. We value your comments and we look forward to a future visit so we can turn your “Just OK” into “Excellent”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    6
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
7
12
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was there for a week long training class. This is a historical resort, but yet it was nice and up to date. Rooms still have exterior entrances, but not a big deal. Pool is fabulous as is the incredibly large hot tub.

Did not eat in the restaurant, but heard the staff was great there. Jason at the lobby bar as well as Clarese (?) were wonderful. I forgot some things so their shuttle took me down the street to shop.

There are a lot a restaurant and bars nearby. Many being microbreweries. Even though the golf course is closed, there are still a lot in the area to play at.

I would stay here again if I ever make it back to this area.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room. All have balconies with furniture though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to post a great review of your stay at the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Resort! We were happy to see that enjoyed many of the wonderful amenities and people that make our resort a great place to stay. We hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We stayed here last week to take a break from the kids. The hotel is obviously going through what seam to be some good changes. Golf was closed for renovation but the hotel staff is amazing. The place is clean and has a great location, we will be back and you have a great value.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for your 5-star review of your stay at the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort!
We agree that our resort is a “great spot” and we look forward to serving you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a couple days for business. The history of the hotel is nice and its location is really nice if you need to be in the Chandler area (right on the edge of the downtown strip). The accommodations are very nice and the staff is very pleasant. I only have two complaints...well maybe only one real compliant. Being from New England, the summer heat in Arizona is a little tough to get used to, so not having any interior hallways was surprising and forces one to spend more time in the heat. For some, that may not be an issue at all. Also, don't think that their very lovely pool will be a refreshing dip in cool water. Being an outdoor pool, the sun cooks the water into a boiling pot that one could stream pasta in. Okay, maybe not that bad but you get the idea. My real compliant was with the cleaning staff. They just don't seem to care. I found clumps of hair clinging to my shower walls when I checked in. I'm normally not a queasy one, but that just made me wonder what else was not cleaned up properly. I would also see trays of food from room service sitting outside rooms in the morning and when I returned back to the hotel 8 to 9 hours later the same trays of food were still sitting there. Cooking in the Arizona sun. I'll let you decide if you want to stay here. As for me? I think I'll find a different hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for positing a review of your stay at the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort. I agree that summertime in Arizona can be overwhelming especially for visitors who may not be used to the heat. I would like to apologize for the condition of your guestroom and outside surrounding area. Please know this is not the level of cleanliness we expect to provide our guests. We will be certain to address your comments with our team members. We value your comments and hope you will get another chance to visit Arizona and our resort at a more enjoyable time of year. Please don’t hesitate to call me directly the next time you are in Chandler so that I may oversee the details of your stay and ensure a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We loved the historical aspect of the hotel. Good points about the hotel is the food, bar, pool. The rooms, once in, are decent, but similar to a low quality hotel. Landscaping is pretty bad. Over watering grass, ugly stucco building. That needs to be redone.

We will not stay again.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort. We are pleased you had the opportunity to enjoy our historical resort and experience our food and beverage outlets and our refreshing pool. We will be certain to address your concerns about our landscaping. Your comments are very valuable to us and we do hope you will give us another opportunity when you return to the Chandler area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

I did not stay at the hotel as a guest, but tried to plan a non profit fundraiser. The representative was nice and polite at first. I told her our expectations for pricing and when I told her she went to the website of our prior caterer. She emailed me back and even said she did that and the pricing did not correlate with what I told her.

Well, for one thing we are non profit and worked out a special price and menu so it wasnt on the website and secondly how distasteful and tacky! Needless to say in the few days it took for her to get back to me, I booked another location that was willing to work with us.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for giving me the opportunity to speak with you regarding the non-profit event you are planning. As I mentioned it is common for our staff to check our competitor’s pricing so that we can offer our best competitive pricing. We are sorry that you felt it was tacky and I have spoken with the sales manager about how she may have presented herself more professionally. I regret that we will not have a chance to work with you this year but don’t hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to consider the San Marcos for any of your future events
Please accept my sincere apology for the misunderstanding and all the best in the success of your event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The San Marcos is a different place to stay. The rooms are comfortable (albeit a bit dated), and the grounds and pool areas quite pretty. It's nice to stay somewhere a bit different than the mainstream chains. It's very quiet in the off season.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We were very pleased to read your post following your stay at the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort

Address: 1 San Marcos Place, Chandler, AZ 85225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Chandler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Chandler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting an 18-hole USGA golf course with driving range and 35,000 square feet of meeting space the San Marcos Golf Resort Hotel is the perfect place to stay. Within minutes of Cactus League Spring Training visit your favorite teams: Chicago Cubs, Giants, Diamondback and the Angels. Just outside the front door you can explore downtown historic shops, breweries and eateries. Sink into a luxurious bed, with a pile of pillows, a plush duvet and satin-soft cotton sheets and awake revitalized and fresh to a full service Coffee House, featuring Starbucks located just outside your door. Relax and cool off after your golf game or a match on our lighted tennis courts in our 1912 lounge or AJ's Restaurant. Luxurious landscaped courtyards are a great way to unwind from your meeting, or enjoy the serenity on your private patio or balcony. Take a dip in our luxurious pool and therapy spa while enjoying a cocktail or check your e-mail using our complimentary Wi-Fi and business center. Located within minutes of Chandler Mall, PF Changs, theaters, AZ State University, and corporate office parks, leave the work to us by allowing our Resort Concierge take care of your entertainment & travel desires. We are just miles from Tempe, Gilbert, Mesa and Phoenix. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort Hotel is your perfect destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Hotel Chandler
Crowne Plaza Chandler
Chandler Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.