We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Downtown and a Good Pool” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 San Marcos Place, Chandler, AZ 85225   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 27 hotels in Chandler
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Close to Downtown and a Good Pool”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is my first choice of hotel in Chandler. In spite of that, I'm giving the an average score after much thought because of 2 items that would likely be a problem for anyone other than me and my husband. If the hotel improves upon these 2 things, absolutely a Very Good.

Issues I know would really bother some people:
1. The slow drain meant that there was quite a bit of standing water in the tub by the end of my shower that took a while to drain afterwards. I did not report this to the hotel so I'll admit that is not fair to them.
2. Housekeeping made our bed and gave us new towels - that's it. Countertops were not wiped down, pretty sure nothing was vacuumed. Didn't clean the coffee maker and left only one packet of coffee refill. First world problems, room wasn't gross or anything. But that's average service at best when compared to other hotels.

If you can overlook those 2 items, don't think twice:
1. Staff was friendly. Because they had a room free in the morning, they provided early check-in.

2. Rooms very recently updated and clean overall. The decor is great. I slept well in the comfy bed. AC worked well.

3. I love the pool area and really the grounds in general are lovely. No, it's not Scottsdale resort fancy, but there was ample seating, plenty of towels, and it was clean. We spent every morning at the pool. The hot tub is large, the pool is a nice size. There's also outdoor seating near the lobby with fire pits for cool desert nights (assuming that exists). The $10/day resort fee covers the towels, etc.

4. There's a breakfast place and a coffee shop in the hotel, adjacent to the pool area. Breakfast pastries at the coffee shop (made by the hotel) were top notch. The scone was delicious as was the croissant - not the dried-out junk I expected at all.

5. Location cannot be beat for the suburbs. Downtown Chandler has plenty of restaurants and bars that are walking distance to the hotel. San Tan Brewing and a new place called Perch offer excellent beer and food selections. I believe there is a theater nearby as well.

6. Golf course (closed right now) looks like it would be great for a morning round of golf if that's what you like. There's also a tennis court at the back of the property.

7. Free wifi!

Got a great deal online. I hope I can grab a similar deal when I return for Christmas with my family so I can stay here again.

Room Tip: West side is closer to the tennis court. East side closer to the pool. It was generally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
We greatly appreciate your review of the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Resort and we were pleased to read that you enjoyed our newly renovated resort and our ideal location. Please allow me to apologize for our housekeeping department’s lack of attention to detail in cleaning your guestroom. I will be certain to address this with our Executive Housekeeper. Thank you for bringing the slow tub draining issue to our attention. Our Engineering Department is working on a permanent solution to this problem.
We look forward to seeing you and your family back at Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
6
11
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a great place to stay and celebrate. If you are a golfer there is a great golf course one of the original in Arizona. Lots of places to eat close by. Good entertainment. You can get anything you want or desire.

Room Tip: Get a handicap
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort! We agree that this is a great place to stay and we were pleased to see you enjoyed our great location. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Az
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Nice place to stay, staff is nice and polite. Lots of history in this landmark, remodeled original rooms on second floor to administrative offices and meeting rooms.
Very close to good restaurants and bars. I didn't have any issues during my stay.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort.
We are pleased that you enjoyed our remodeled resort and wonderful staff. We look forward to seeing you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I could actually give this 3.5 I guess. The location is great if you are staying at the hotel for a meeting. A block a way are a lot of great and fun restaurants and bars that made for a lively evening life. The hotel was generally nice but it just seemed tired. The golf and tennis part of the equation is old and run down...maybe not even open. My room was just OK....not bad not great. Let me put it this way, calling it a "Golf Resort" is simply hyperbole, at least when I was there (at the heighth of the season btw).

If you are just looking for a place to sleep near the convention center this is not a bad choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort. We agree that our location is ideal for dining and nightly entertainment but we were disappointed to read your comments that the hotel seemed tired as we recently completed a hotel renovation. Our golf course and clubhouse are currently closed for a renovation and will re-open in the fall. We know that a visit after its renovation will earn us back the title “Golf Resort.” Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

After reading some of the other reviews, I was a bit concerned about choosing this hotel - but I was glad that I did! It is a large property arranged in a series of courtyards. Those courtyards have vegetation and birds - which can create some dirt. Howver it was a lovely hotel, my room was great and they even have a quiet section on the 4th floor, west elevator area. I used the fitness facilitie3s, and they are better than most other hotel's and have three treadmills. It is in a great part of town near restaurants, bars and boutique shops. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: 4th Floor West Elevator area if you want quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort. We were glad to read that you gave us the chance to show you a few of our many amenities that make our resort a great choice – location, newly renovated rooms, and updated fitness facility. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Tan Valley, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The hotel section of the resort has recently been renovated - beautiful. The golf course is in process of being renovated. I look forward each year to staying hear for a few days. I like the layout, the walkways are situated to receive the most cooling breezes. The staff is warm and welcoming. The bar has been moved from being connected to the restaurant to the lobby. I like that location better. It is a historic landmark located in downtown Chandler with many good places to eat in walking distance and not very far from the nearest freeway. For the price, it is a very good deal.

Room Tip: If you want quiet book the 4th floor. If you want to be close to downtown book on the east side. To...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for reviewing the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort following your recent stay.
We were pleased to read that you enjoyed our recently renovated resort, our staff, and convenient location. We hope to see you back again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

the building looks very nice from outside it is also located in the best location - right in downtown but for me - the staff were not welcoming at all and in the morning i've found a live cockroach on the bath floor - non of the staff apologized or felt bad about it - didn't like that at all
also - not so clean apparently
the price was 200$ which is pretty high for such return

Room Tip: find a room without cockroach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your stay at the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort. Please allow me to express my apology regarding your poor customer service experience and the condition of your bathroom. This is certainly not our usual high standard of guest experience that we offer. We will be certain to address these issues with the appropriate staff members. Once again, thank you for your comments as this is crucial for us to improve the services that we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort

Address: 1 San Marcos Place, Chandler, AZ 85225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Chandler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 hotels in Chandler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting an 18-hole USGA golf course with driving range and 35,000 square feet of meeting space the San Marcos Golf Resort Hotel is the perfect place to stay. Within minutes of Cactus League Spring Training visit your favorite teams: Chicago Cubs, Giants, Diamondback and the Angels. Just outside the front door you can explore downtown historic shops, breweries and eateries. Sink into a luxurious bed, with a pile of pillows, a plush duvet and satin-soft cotton sheets and awake revitalized and fresh to a full service Coffee House, featuring Starbucks located just outside your door. Relax and cool off after your golf game or a match on our lighted tennis courts in our 1912 lounge or AJ's Restaurant. Luxurious landscaped courtyards are a great way to unwind from your meeting, or enjoy the serenity on your private patio or balcony. Take a dip in our luxurious pool and therapy spa while enjoying a cocktail or check your e-mail using our complimentary Wi-Fi and business center. Located within minutes of Chandler Mall, PF Changs, theaters, AZ State University, and corporate office parks, leave the work to us by allowing our Resort Concierge take care of your entertainment & travel desires. We are just miles from Tempe, Gilbert, Mesa and Phoenix. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort Hotel is your perfect destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Hotel Chandler
Crowne Plaza Chandler
Chandler Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.