We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 San Marcos Place, Chandler, AZ 85225   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 26 hotels in Chandler
Sheridan, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The staff was great and the hotel was very clean. Rooms are very large! The area was perfect for dinning and cocktails less than a block away. The only thing to be aware of is about a 12$ per day resort fee. But it is well worth it.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort. We were so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The resort itself seemed reasonable for the price. The room was great and the bed was really comfortable..I even loved the pillows! But our room was on the corner of the resort, literally a five second walk from an extremely loud bar. If I was 18 and like to party, sure, that would have been great. But the room was definitely not sound proof. I could hear all the people and of course the band. So unfortunately I didn't sleep the two nights we stayed and was extremely pissed off.

Room Tip: Ask for the quietest side of the resort for the rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort.
We were pleased to read that you enjoyed our recently remodeled guestroom. But please allow me to offer my apology for the noise that you experienced from the nearby restaurant. Feel free to contact us directly for your next stay and we ensure your guestroom is in a more quiet location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We've stayed at many Crowne Plaza hotels. To be fair to people considering this one, it's the worst of them all. As a Platinum IHG member, we spend many nights in various IHG branded properties. We do so because we have come to expect certain things and are rarely disappointed. Consistency is their hallmark. This property did not meet those expectations.

The front desk people were not welcoming. We arrived 9pm-ish. Apparently we had interrupted something going on in the back room. It is my first recollection of not being thanked for my business at an IHG Property. My presence at the checkin desk was an obvious annoyance. I am an early riser and each morning I would go to the welcoming lobby to read while waiting for breakfast. On two mornings I was told to leave as it was for hotel guests only. They were non-apologetic when I gave them my room number which I know shows my elite status. That was demeaning!

The breakfast buffet was really poorly done in the restaurant. Thankfully we had coupons each day and could order a freshly cooked meal or we would have gone elsewhere. One of the breakfast wait staff was so loud that it was annoying. She waited on us one morning and was simply rude. The hostess seemed irritated that she had to stop her leaning and show us to a table. We asked for a different table as many were open, "Just sit wherever you want!" she snapped back and walked away. Others were treated similarly. Not sure she was even awake. It was bizarre.

The carpets in our room were filthy, no nice way to say it. We used a whole bottle of Shout treating our socks when we got home. Have NEVER been in such a dirty room at any IHG property. The room amenities were nice. We had a nicely tiled walk-in shower as well as a shower tub.

The original building is beautiful and historic. The lobby, bar and restaurant are architectural classics. The pool area is relaxing and welcoming. There is NOT a Starbucks on the property. There is a coffee shop that brews Starbucks coffee. $3.09 is what I paid for a grande coffee! Thankfully there are a good number of excellent eating choices within a few minutes walk as we had no intention of paying for anything at the hotel restaurant, not given our breakfast experiences.

It is a golf resort hotel. We don't golf. We expected far better. We were here 5 nights. If it had not been so convenient for the wedding activities that brought us to the Phoenix area we would certainly have moved. I rarely have negative things to say about my IHG experiences. It bothers me to write such a negative review but it is what we experienced. I hope it makes it better for others.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We appreciate you taking the time to review the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort following your recent stay and advising us of your dissatisfaction. We were very disappointed to read your comments.
Please accept my sincere apology for the manner in which you were treated by our staff and the condition of your guestroom carpet. We are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities and it appears we fell far short of our goal. This is by no means how we want you or any of our guests to remember a stay with us. We will be coaching our staff to better understand the importance of our Rewards Club Members and will continue to strive for improvement.
If you would like to discuss this directly, please feel free to contact the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just decided at the last minute to do a staycation. Nice place. Older but well taken care of. I would stay again. Pool was nice. Lots of stuff to do locally. Nice golf course. :-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-)

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for posting a response regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort. We were pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed our resort. We look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights to visit the Chandler Barbecue and Beer Festival, which by the way was a fun event. The festival was held in closed off streets directly in front of the hotel, which made it the ideal location, plus we could enter and leave the festival and go hang in our hotel room - we noticed that people were parking many blocks away and walking to the venue, whereas we had free hotel parking and could walk a few steps to the festival gates. As far as I could determine, this was one of a very few decent hotels near the city center of Chandler, and the only one that was walking distance to the performing arts center and so forth.

The hotel was a little pricey for what you get, but that is probably related to the fact that they have so little competition in that location. The rate we got included breakfast, which was a passable steam table thing with scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, and stale waffles. The pool area and jacuzzi were large and pretty nice, and heavily used. There were things about the hotel that could be updated - the linens, mattress, and pool towels were all a bit tired - but the lobby was quite nice and our room was newly renovated (except for that tired mattress), and we were assured that all rooms had been redecorated. We were on the fourth floor and enjoyed having a drink on the balcony before bed. The room was lacking a mini bar, which isn't a big deal to me, and was also lacking a safe, which IS a big deal to me. A used room service tray sat in the outdoor corridor the entire time we stayed at the hotel, which did make me question the thoroughness of the housekeeping department.

Downtown Chandler is cute with lots of restaurants, bars and shops, so there will be plenty to keep you occupied within walking distance of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you want some privacy, higher is better. First floor rooms face the outdoor corridors so people c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort while attending the Chandler Barbeque and Beer Festival. We were pleased to read your comments regarding our location and our newly renovated resort. We will be certain to address your concerns regarding the issues you mentioned.
It is our desire to exceed our guest’s expectations and we are sorry we fell short in a few areas.
We value your comments and we look forward to seeing you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here one night because it was located across the street from the Great American BBQ and Beer Festival. The location made it perfect for this event and it was located within walking distance to several popular restaurants. We arrived 3 hours early for check-in but they were able to accommodate us and we were able to get ready for the festival in our room.

We stayed in a standard King on the bottom floor, the room was clean,with the exception of mildew stains in the shower grout. The room was quiet, the bed was comfortable and we slept great.

If I'm going to stay somewhere for more than one night I want a fridge and microwave, I did take note that the room had neither. The onsite restaurant AJ's was disappointing and I've written a separate review for that. $200 a night was high for what we got, I've paid much less for much more. Location is the only reason I would stay here again. If there were a comparable alternative for a little less, I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for reviewing the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort following your stay during the Great American BBQ and Beer Festival. We agree that our location is ideal for all the downtown city events.

We will be certain to address the guestroom shower issue you mentioned and all of our guestrooms will be equipped with refrigerators in the fall. We will watch for your review of our AJ’s Restaurant.

Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights on a recent trip to AZ for spring training and got good price online. The hotel is nice but seemed understaffed. There were constantly dirty room service trays in the hallway and while the pool area was busy I didn't once see a staff member replenishing the towels, taking away the dirty towels- which were over flowing or cleaning up the trays of half eaten food from people who had gotten food poolside. The room was nice but hadn't not been cleaned well prior to our arrival- the previous persons half consumed drinks were still in the fridge and a package of half eaten crackers was in a drawer- gross! The hair dryer and coffee maker were also broken. Clearly no one took the time to give the room a proper cleaning or inspection to see that things were working between clients. We had requested a crib in our reservation and asked again at check-in and it was still not in our room when we returned from dinner 3 hours later. Clearly they forgot all about it, as we had to wait another 45 minutes so they could wash the sheets when we called again to ask about the crib. Not great when you've been traveling all day and it's well past your baby's bedtime. The location is good, in downtown Chandler near to many restaurants and shops. The facilities are fine but not staffed appropriately. I wouldn't chose to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort.
Please accept my sincere apology for the service and cleanliness issues you encountered while you were with us. These will be discussed with our department managers to take corrective measures to ensure this does not occur again. I know how frustrating it can be when you are travelling to encounter such problems and we are truly sorry.

We appreciate the feedback that we receive from our guests and we hope to see you back again for next year’s spring training. I know that we can show you that your experience was not the usual high standard of guest experience that we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort

Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Hotel Chandler
Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Hotel
Crowne Plaza Chandler
Chandler Crowne Plaza
Address: 1 San Marcos Place, Chandler, AZ 85225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Chandler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 hotels in Chandler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting an 18-hole USGA golf course with driving range and 35,000 square feet of meeting space the San Marcos Golf Resort Hotel is the perfect place to stay. Within minutes of Cactus League Spring Training visit your favorite teams: Chicago Cubs, Giants, Diamondback and the Angels. Just outside the front door you can explore downtown historic shops, breweries and eateries. Sink into a luxurious bed, with a pile of pillows, a plush duvet and satin-soft cotton sheets and awake revitalized and fresh to a full service Coffee House, featuring Starbucks located just outside your door. Relax and cool off after your golf game or a match on our lighted tennis courts in our 1912 lounge or AJ's Restaurant. Luxurious landscaped courtyards are a great way to unwind from your meeting, or enjoy the serenity on your private patio or balcony. Take a dip in our luxurious pool and therapy spa while enjoying a cocktail or check your e-mail using our complimentary Wi-Fi and business center. Located within minutes of Chandler Mall, PF Changs, theaters, AZ State University, and corporate office parks, leave the work to us by allowing our Resort Concierge take care of your entertainment & travel desires. We are just miles from Tempe, Gilbert, Mesa and Phoenix. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort Hotel is your perfect destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.