We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, sufficient room, disappointing restaurant.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 San Marcos Place, Chandler, AZ 85225   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Chandler
Surprise, Arizona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great location, sufficient room, disappointing restaurant.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed here one night because it was located across the street from the Great American BBQ and Beer Festival. The location made it perfect for this event and it was located within walking distance to several popular restaurants. We arrived 3 hours early for check-in but they were able to accommodate us and we were able to get ready for the festival in our room.

We stayed in a standard King on the bottom floor, the room was clean,with the exception of mildew stains in the shower grout. The room was quiet, the bed was comfortable and we slept great.

If I'm going to stay somewhere for more than one night I want a fridge and microwave, I did take note that the room had neither. The onsite restaurant AJ's was disappointing and I've written a separate review for that. $200 a night was high for what we got, I've paid much less for much more. Location is the only reason I would stay here again. If there were a comparable alternative for a little less, I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for reviewing the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort following your stay during the Great American BBQ and Beer Festival. We agree that our location is ideal for all the downtown city events.

We will be certain to address the guestroom shower issue you mentioned and all of our guestrooms will be equipped with refrigerators in the fall. We will watch for your review of our AJ’s Restaurant.

Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    5
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
7
12
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights on a recent trip to AZ for spring training and got good price online. The hotel is nice but seemed understaffed. There were constantly dirty room service trays in the hallway and while the pool area was busy I didn't once see a staff member replenishing the towels, taking away the dirty towels- which were over flowing or cleaning up the trays of half eaten food from people who had gotten food poolside. The room was nice but hadn't not been cleaned well prior to our arrival- the previous persons half consumed drinks were still in the fridge and a package of half eaten crackers was in a drawer- gross! The hair dryer and coffee maker were also broken. Clearly no one took the time to give the room a proper cleaning or inspection to see that things were working between clients. We had requested a crib in our reservation and asked again at check-in and it was still not in our room when we returned from dinner 3 hours later. Clearly they forgot all about it, as we had to wait another 45 minutes so they could wash the sheets when we called again to ask about the crib. Not great when you've been traveling all day and it's well past your baby's bedtime. The location is good, in downtown Chandler near to many restaurants and shops. The facilities are fine but not staffed appropriately. I wouldn't chose to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort.
Please accept my sincere apology for the service and cleanliness issues you encountered while you were with us. These will be discussed with our department managers to take corrective measures to ensure this does not occur again. I know how frustrating it can be when you are travelling to encounter such problems and we are truly sorry.

We appreciate the feedback that we receive from our guests and we hope to see you back again for next year’s spring training. I know that we can show you that your experience was not the usual high standard of guest experience that we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed for a week in March. The hotel is in downtown Chandler. Good location-20 minutes from the airport. Easy getting to attractions. The hotel has the most beautiful grounds. Our room was facing a courtyard, all rooms have patios or balconies. The pool is heated and very nice as is the hot tub (larger than most hot tubs). There are tennis courts and a golf course-the first one built in AZ-adjacent to the hotel. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. The hotel is older with a history of famous guests like Bing Crosby, Al Capone, Cher, etc. The rooms are remodeled.It was wonderful staying there. I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: There are some rooms with balconies facing the parking lot--you probably would want to ask for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Cheryl,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful resort. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza San Marcos in Chandler, Arizona for a work-related trip. The resort has been recently renovated and really looks great! It is celebrating its 100th anniversary and features the first grass golf course in Arizona. Although I did not play the course, I understand that the golf course will receive approximately $4.5 million in improvements later this year. The rooms at the resort are unusually large and are very clean and modern. The pool area and outdoor spaces are quite inviting and although I did not have time to partake, many guests were enjoying wine and eats around the outdoor fire pits in the beautifully landscaped outdoor areas. The staff was very helpful in recommending several fine, unique entertainment establishments just a block's walk from the gates of the resort. There are at least 8-10 quality bars, restaurants and boutiques one block from the Crowne Plaza San Marcos! I will definitely be back- a GREAT stay!!

Room Tip: Try the locally brewed beer at the SanTan Cafe' just outside of the resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for writing a glowing review following your stay at the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed all the wonderful amenities that make our resort a great place to stay – our newly remodeled guestrooms and public areas, our helpful staff, and the many local establishments that are all within walking distance.

We hope to see you back with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This hotel is in a great location, not too far from Phoenix and the airport, but far enough to be peaceful. It has its own golf course, and a nice swimming pool. The rooms are large, comfortable and clean, but the a/c unit was extremely noisy. The hotel is let down by two things: the quality of the dinner in the restaurant, and the hostility of some of the staff - in particular the waiters. One waiter complained loudly ( so that the other diners could hear) that I'd eaten too much. As this was only a half rack of ribs (which were overcooked and tough), I felt unjustly criticised, but in true British fashion, I said nothing. There are plenty of good local restaurants - be warned and eat out for dinner. Breakfast, though, is good, as is the lobby bar.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort. We are glad to read that you enjoyed our peaceful location and spacious guestrooms.

Please allow me to apologize for the noisy a/c unit in your guestroom and more importantly the restaurant staff’s rude behavior. Please know that this is not acceptable and will be addressed immediately by our Director of Food and Beverage.

Your comments are very important to us and thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights on 3/10/14. The hotel and grounds are beautiful. Staff is one of the friendliest I have encountered. The room was very clean and standard. The location of this hotel in "downtown" chandler was perfect with plenty of shops/dining within walking distance. Great lobby bar and pool!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed all the great amenities that our resort has to offer as well as the local dining and shopping.

We look forward to seeing you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford City, North Dakota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We came not expecting much but it ended up being a super enjoyable stay especially for the price. The pool is super nice and you don't have to fight to get a chair. The hot tub was also nice and large. There are nice fire pits that are cozy to sit at in the evening when its cooler. There is phenomenal restaurants right down the street within walking distance and the breakfast at the motel was good. Shopping is also a few minutes away. The only thing I didn't like was the shower curtain was dirty and there was a stain on the bedspread. Other than that we loved this place and would totally come back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort. We are pleased that you enjoyed all the amenities that make our resort a great place to stay. We will be certain to address the cleanliness issue you mentioned with our Executive Housekeeper.

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you back at the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort

Address: 1 San Marcos Place, Chandler, AZ 85225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Chandler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Chandler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting an 18-hole USGA golf course with driving range and 35,000 square feet of meeting space the San Marcos Golf Resort Hotel is the perfect place to stay. Within minutes of Cactus League Spring Training visit your favorite teams: Chicago Cubs, Giants, Diamondback and the Angels. Just outside the front door you can explore downtown historic shops, breweries and eateries. Sink into a luxurious bed, with a pile of pillows, a plush duvet and satin-soft cotton sheets and awake revitalized and fresh to a full service Coffee House, featuring Starbucks located just outside your door. Relax and cool off after your golf game or a match on our lighted tennis courts in our 1912 lounge or AJ's Restaurant. Luxurious landscaped courtyards are a great way to unwind from your meeting, or enjoy the serenity on your private patio or balcony. Take a dip in our luxurious pool and therapy spa while enjoying a cocktail or check your e-mail using our complimentary Wi-Fi and business center. Located within minutes of Chandler Mall, PF Changs, theaters, AZ State University, and corporate office parks, leave the work to us by allowing our Resort Concierge take care of your entertainment & travel desires. We are just miles from Tempe, Gilbert, Mesa and Phoenix. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort Hotel is your perfect destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Hotel Chandler
Crowne Plaza Chandler
Chandler Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.