We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Devils Claw is a great course” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whirlwind Golf Course

Whirlwind Golf Course
5692 W. North Loop Road, Chandler, AZ 85226
480 940 1500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 22 Attractions in Chandler
Type: Golf Courses
Attraction Details
Madison, NJ
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Devils Claw is a great course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My teen son and I played this course and it was extremely challenging. Service at this course was very good and the course is well maintained.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sun Lakes, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Be Sure to Try SIVLIK At the Golf Club For Lunch....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Located in the Gila River Indian Community - I don't play golf, but my husband does - and recommends the course -- however,
I'm writing about a "hidden find" - SIVLIK Restaurant - caters to the golf crowd, but many non-golfers come just to have lunch!
The outdoor patio offers great vistas of the surrounding area, as well as the putting green (!) - Great salads, sandwiches and flat-breads - service runs "hot and cold", but with such wonderful scenery, you don't seem to mind as much! IF you have room, be sure to order FRY BREAD for dessert!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
477 reviews 477 reviews
133 attraction reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
815 helpful votes 815 helpful votes
“Top shelf golf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

If you want to test your game both of these courses will surely challenge you.

If you are playing the tips or even one up, you will get good length.

The greens were fair but not easy. I had more three putts that normal.

The facilities were well kept, the prices are on the upper end but so is the experience.

Well worth it on a splurge round.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Resort Golf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I just played the Cat Tail course and it is very well maintained and every phase of the way it works is handled great!
Challenging but not the crazy target golf you sometimes get in Arizona courses. Greens were very fair rolling with plenty of interesting pin placements.
You should go here for sure, but check online for better pricing on tee times (not on their site). One knock on tee times as a guest at nearby Sheraton, there was no discounts for guests. And we spent a lot of money there. There should be at least an option for one discounted tee time per stay, and perhaps use of driving range with resort fee (as JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass course does) would be great, and i don't think would overwhelm the practice area. Some features like this would have had me golfing (or at least spending some money in clubhouse) at least twice in 4 days there, vs 1!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Staff are very good; food is excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The golf course was in good shape - especially the greens. Not overly challenging but a good round for the mid to higher handicap golfer. The pro shop and clubhouse are generally staffed with excellent folks. The breakfast is very good and good value. We were staying at a nearby hotel and choose to eat at the golf course every day for breakfast (except when we were golfing at another Troon course).

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whirlwind Golf Course also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Whirlwind Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whirlwind Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.