We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valle Luna Mexican Restaurant - Chandler

Valle Luna Mexican Restaurant - Chandler
1949 West Ray Rd, SE Corner Dobson/Ray Road, Chandler, AZ
(480) 786-3100
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #61 of 509 restaurants in Chandler
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Chandler, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Always get the same thing, green corn tamales, but everything is great. The bean dip is a little thin sometimes, but I love their salsa. WE love to sit out on the patio.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    17
    21
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle/Tacoma
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Big Margaritas and Cheap!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The above title expresses my husband's criteria for a five star rating. Me, I am a little more demanding. Out- of-towners, we went to Valle Luna with some rels who had been out of the country for a month and were suffering from the lack of their usual Mexican fare. We had a good time catching up and I must admit, the margaritas were big for the happy hour price.

We also ordered some small plates: guacamole, chicken wings, a basket of beef tacos, and a quesadilla. My husband and I were going to my sister's place for tacos for dinner so we were thinking of this as aperitivos. Yeah, right. Three baskets of chips later, I was full before the food arrived. The chips were good and I did enjoy to the beans that came with the salsa. The guac...kind of tasteless, I thought and the chicken wings dried out.

The cheese quesadilla was fine especially when topped with their salsas and beans. Did I mention the margaritas were big and delicious?

Can't report on the tacos as I didn't try them but they got rave reviews from the rels and we didn't leave any behind.

For a fun place for conversation and some good margaritas and inexpensive "aperitivos" try Valle Luna. It seems to be a favorite for many.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MESA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unimpressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I realize this restaurant is very popular so maybe I was just one of an unlucky few, but I was disappointed. We sat in the bar area because the wait for a table was pretty long. The server in the bar area was quick to say she'd remove us from the waiting list and serve us dinner but she didn't seem to have the time to wait on us either. I ordered fajitas and they were just so-so, very heavy on the onions and just a few pieces of pepper and steak. They serve fajitas with 2 wedges of tomato and one of mine had a visibly rotten spot on it the size of a dime. I would have complained but that would have required our server to return before I gave up. By the time I saw her again I was just looking for a refill on my tea.

I'd give the place a second chance if it were more conveniently located for me. As it is, I am unlikely to be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fine Mexican dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My Sister took my Mom, my wife and I to the Chandler Valle Luna last week and we loved it. Reasonable priced entres--the enchilladas were perfect! The signature drink--called the White Death, which is Cuervo gold with a float of Grand Marnier was very nice indeed, especially since I did not need to drive! Overall a great meal----I will go again when I get back to the Phoenix area. Yum

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Georgia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Very Good Mexican Restaurant - Locals watch for 2 for 1 Coupons!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I enjoyed this restaurant and we had excellent service. I went with a friend from the area and she had a 2 for 1 coupon (with purchase of a drink) so that saved us money. I am from Georgia so it is a pleasant surprise to see a couple of Mexican restaurants there serving complimentary bean dip with the chips and salsa. We both ordered the Pollo Fundido with refried beans and rice and it was a large portion and she took part of both of ours home. She had the shredded chicken in her order and I chose the fajita chicken meat. I am a bit picky so it was nice having the chicken breast fajita chicken meat without onions as the filling.

It was too cold on our visit to do outdoor seating, but it looked like that would be a great time as well! Pretty view of water.

Give this one a try!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valle Luna Mexican Restaurant - Chandler also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Valle Luna Mexican Restaurant - Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valle Luna Mexican Restaurant - Chandler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.