We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's O.K.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Zocalo Mexican Grill

El Zocalo Mexican Grill
28 S San Marcos Pl, Chandler, AZ 85225-7872
480-722-0303
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 522 Restaurants in Chandler
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Michigan
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“it's O.K.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

It’s O.K. price was high for the quality. We ate at other Mexican place in the area that we liked better but it wan not bad just not great good friendly service

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    34
    6
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Hope
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was a small place in Chandler that had outstanding Mexican food. The service was excellent. The portions were generous. We had an order of the fajita which came with 2 warm tortillas but more were offered throughout the meal. Also the homemade relano were outstanding.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler,AZ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great little Mexican Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Good food, great margaritas, and beautiful outdoor seating. If the weather is nice...EAT OUTSIDE! I love that it is an original Chandler Restaurant. It's just a nice little place to go and spend the evening in Chandler.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panora, Iowa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“El Zocalo outdoor patio garden and food are a "Don't miss"!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great service and food over and over again. One of our favorite places in the valley. Go at night and sit outside in their private, intimate patio. Lots of trees with perfect lighting. The orange trees were blossoming tonight so the smell was amazing. Don't miss the Shrimp Rellano! Whether its a night out with friends, a celebration, business dinner, or romantic dinner... This is the spot!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Interesting ambiance and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is the second time we've been to this restaurant. The first time we sat outside, this time inside. Both times the food was very, very good and the waitstaff was really friendly. The outside experience was better however. Outside it was not as busy and easier to talk. Inside it was tight and lots of noise (not terrible, just in relation to outside).

The band ambiance is great. It really adds a nice touch and both times the music was very good.

The bar was good also. We waited for our wives as they shopped outside on the streets for a while. The bar staff really hustle and they're happy and helpful.

All in all a very nice restaurant and, as is usually the case, when they're good, they're busy! Sometimes a long wait on the weekend and reservations are not accepted. Why not? It's the only problem with this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Zocalo Mexican Grill also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to El Zocalo Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Zocalo Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.