We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comida y servicio estupenda!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy

Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy
3440 W Chandler Blvd, Chandler, AZ 85226-5065
480-855-0960
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 523 restaurants in Chandler
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Old Tappan, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Comida y servicio estupenda!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Abuelo's was an easy walk from our Springhill Suites room, so we gave it a shot. We were seated quickly and our waiter was with us almost immediately. The traditional Mexican fare we ordered was very good and the portions were generous. The giant frozen margarita hit the spot. Service was amazingly fast. We were so impressed that we went back two nights later. This time rather than having Mexican I ordered their Tilapia Veracruz and was impressed with the quality and portion size. Service was again terrific...as was the giant frozen margarita! : ) This is a great place for a reasonably-priced, well-prepared family meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    51
    34
    18
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maricopa, Arizona
Top Contributor
402 reviews 402 reviews
307 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Another Great Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Over the past three months or so, we've dined here several times. My wife and I decided to have dinner here on 1/23/2014. For starters we ordered the Layed Dip @ $7.49 and a Draft N Modelo beer & one Diet Coke @ $2.79 with endless refills. Chips and dips arrived fast than a speeding bullet! My Wife ordered the Light Chile Relleno @ $9.99. I was hungry so I ordered the Grande Platter @ $16.49. The service is great as we're repeat Dinners. The parking lot is large with plenty of parking spaces. The restrooms are clean and checked often.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great casual group dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

With our group of 16, we had a very nice dinner here. Ambiance and food quality was excellent, as was the service. We reserved the table in advance and were seated immediately upon arrival. Cost was reasonable. We arranged travel with a shuttle bus with Hello! Arizona which is also recommended.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcliff, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Family Tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

On each trip to Chandler we visit Abuelo's on the first night we arrive. It's a great family restaurant and we have never been disappointed with the food. Prices are reasonable, portions are generous, and the service is great. We love it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“American Mexican food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have eaten at Abuelo's many times since it opened and the food is good. The bar area is nice and the wait staff have always been helpful and the service has been good. If you are looking for a lot of food and all of the regular types of Mexican fare this is the place for you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.