We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD FOOD AND DINING ATMOSPHERE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy

Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy
3440 W Chandler Blvd, Chandler, AZ 85226-5065
480-855-0960
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 534 Restaurants in Chandler
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD AND DINING ATMOSPHERE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I have been to other Abuelo's restaurants in other cities and find the food at this restaurant not as good as those I have previously eaten at. Although the food was delicious it was not excellent. I found the main menu similar to those in other cities, but it lacked the specials that other restaurants have had. I do recommend this establishment as one of the better in the Mesa/Tempe/Chandler area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    38
    18
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asia Pacific
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Never been dissapointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Been coming here for the last 6 year and have never been dissapointed. The food is good and they make you feel at home. I have never been a fan of mexican food until i found abuelos. There is attention in every detail. Take for instance. Every dish that is served is served piping hot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delicious dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Do not miss the trademark potato sidedish that Abuelo's offers in addition to the standard rice side dish. The potatoes were creamy, gooey awesomeness. I couldn't decide between chicken or spinach filling for my meal, so the server suggested half and half and it was perfect! Ample portions meant no room for dessert. We ate in the first main room by the statue and enjoyed the ambiance and moderate noise level suitable for talking.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Very good mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were quickly seated on a Friday night. Good atmosphere; seemed to be new & modern. The service was great; always kept the glasses full! The house special (grilled) was recommended, but it wasn't as good as the enchiladas. Those were fantastic! The chips and salsa were also excellent. Overall a good choice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
“good mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place has wonderful atmosphere and very good food, reasonble price and the location i so center and covenient, just cross street is
chandler fashion mall, great!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.