We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch with friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy

Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy
3440 W Chandler Blvd, Chandler, AZ 85226-5065
480-855-0960
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 537 Restaurants in Chandler
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lunch with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Feb. was my first time. Very good food, nice atmosphere. Loved their chips. Service was good. A better Mexican restaurant. Certainly looks upscale.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    39
    18
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Never disappointed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great atmosphere, service, food and drinks. We are never disappointed when we visit Abuelo's. This is our favorite Mexican restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Certainly upscale”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a more upscale Mexican place than most. I have no particular complaint about the food but have never been compelled to go back.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ok - Mexican food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The food and service at Abuelo's is average at best. Why is the Mexican food in the LA area soo much better?. None too thrilled with the salad or fish I ordered. The waitress forgot about us in the corner near the wait station...don't think I will try this restaurant again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not as good as years ago”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Chips are thin and warm - always good.
Salsa is changed slightly - not as good.
Bacon wrapped shrimp extremely over cooked.
Fajitas great.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.