We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Location, Great Food and Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston's Restaurant

Charleston's Restaurant
1040 N 54th St, Chandler, AZ 85226-1030
+1 480-961-9434
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 503 Restaurants in Chandler
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Huntley, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden Location, Great Food and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We tried Charleston's on a recommendation from a local friend. The ribs were done pefect with a very good sweet smoky sauce. The server was attentive and available; he knew the menu very well and had great suggestions. My wife had the salmon which was lightly smoked- then grilled, very good. I would highly recommend the restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    22
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackstone, Virginia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Always reliable--very good food, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Charleston's Restaurants has several locations in the Phoenix area, including Chandler and Scottsdale, and we have always enjoyed our dining experiences there. The atmosphere is warm, cozy and classy, the food is of high quality, well-prepared and reasonably priced, and the service is excellent. Though these are popular restaurants, they have good capacity and we have never had to wait more than a couple of minutes. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
109 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Very good food. The prime rib is exceptional and their Caesar salad is very good. great service and ambience!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
274 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Chose to sit at the bar for dinner, found the bartenders to be fun, uplifting, attentive and at times, doing too many things at once. The choice was the suggestion of the bartender, she was right on the Chicken Piccata though it was to come with artichokes it had NOT one. She shared they must have run out, hmmm. The wine selection was ltd, thus was offered a couple of samplings settled with an awesome red blend. The placemat was omitted; however, it was such fun with the two serving, it mattered not.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marana, Arizona
Level Contributor
181 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“First time but, not the last.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

While on a shopping trip, we decided to have lunch at Charleston's. Having never been here before, we didn't know what to expect.

The restaurant is very nicely decorated in dark wood, glass and minimal "stuff." Comfortable.

We started with the spinach/artichoke dip ($9which was creamy, rich and tasty, easily shared by two.
I had the BBQ ribs and chicken combo ($19) which came with cowboy beans and mashed potatoes. Everyhing was great. Hot, tender fall of the bone ribs; delicious chicken and good sides. In fact I couldn't finish it.

My wife had the chicken marsala ($15) which consisted of two chicken breasts, steamed vegetables, pasta and a rich mushroom/marsala sauce. She loved it! But, like me, she couldn't finish it. No problem. We can look forward to enjoying it again.

The reasonably priced, good pour wine list has a bit of everything. My wife had her favorite - Kendall Jackson Chardonnay for $7. I had a pint of Sam Adams Lager for $5.

The overall experience was wonderful made so by the quality of food and our server, Lindsey She was spot on.

I will be happy to add Charleston's to my "go to" list.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston's Restaurant also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Charleston's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.