We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dessie's Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dessie's Cafe
4040 West Ray Road, Chandler, AZ 85226
(480) 777-7300
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 534 Restaurants in Chandler
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is homey restaurant offering great breakfasts. We have eaten breakfast there about 6-8 times. The breakfast menu is pretty traditional- eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, coffee, etc. The staff is friendly and competent. You can sit inside or out. The outside tables have umbrellas and are in a little courtyard, far from the street. There is no traffic noise. The prices are very reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    1
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Dessie's has good simple breakfast, in a homey atmosphere. Great place for breakfast and support of local business.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Delicious food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Dessies has amazing food! You have to try the Thanksgiving sandwich, its fantastic! The owners were so kind and came over to greet us & asked how the food was.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food at great prices.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We went to Dessie's because we had a $5 coupon and it is in the same shopping center as our grocery store. Before my partner got the coupon I had never even noticed it in the center - that's how nondescript it is. Upon walking in we were greeted by Dessie who seated us immediately. The decor is something I used to see when I would visit relatives in small towns in Iowa; kind of happy country-kitchen. I barely had time to warm my seat before a very nice waitress named Angie was asking to take our drink order. In flash she was back with our drinks and we were giving her our breakfast order. My partner ordered the chicken-fried steak breakfast and I ordered the Mexican omelet. It wasn't very long before our food was brought to us, and boy was there a lot of it! My omelet came with hash browns and toast. The omelet was very cheesy and had great tasting chorizo enclosed within it. My partner's chicken-fried steak looked fantastic (I was a little jealous). The eggs, potatoes (he had home-fries that looked amazing) and toast came on one plate, while the steak came on another plate, filling most of it. He said it was wonderful.

We went about noon on a Sunday. Most of the clientele was older folks just getting out of church. Our meal was $19 and change, BEFORE the coupon.

One thing to note is that Dessie's is only open for breakfast and lunch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Dessie's is a great local establishment with fabulous biscuits and gravy, and a wide selection of omelets. The service is always friendly and fast. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dessie's Cafe also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Dessie's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dessie's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.