We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a Shot” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Creek Golf Complex

Bear Creek Golf Complex
500 East Riggs Road, Chandler, AZ
(480) 883-8200
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #9 of 22 attractions in Chandler
Type: Golf Courses
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Bear Creek Golf Complex is a 36-hole inland links golf facility consisting of both a long and short course. The Bear Championship Course stretches to 6,825 yards from the back tees and plays to a par 71, The Cub Executive Course is a fun, sporty par 59, 3,501-yard course. Bear Creek is a unique and exciting place, and we strive to encourage the development of golfers of all ages and abilities. In addition to our two golf courses we also have a full Practice and Learning Center, staffed by PGA Professionals who are available for both individual and group lessons. Both golf courses and practice area were created by the Nicklaus Design Group and architect Bill O'Leary, and opened for play in January 2000.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Worth a Shot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Played a few times here, starting in the late morning, on both courses as a single. Sometimes I played alone, sometimes paired with others. Fairly busy place. Walking golfers slowed down the pace on some days. Lack of drinking water a negative. Course in good condition in Nov.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We golfed with another couple and had an enjoyable 4 hour 10 minute round. The fairways and greens are in good shape. Very nice practice area with driving range and chipping and putting greens. The course was quite busy at 10 am on a Monday morning so it is obviously popular. My only concerns: first, there is no potable water on the course so bring your own (or buy from the cart girl); second, would be a potential problem with the pace of play. We had no problem, but by the time we had finished 15, we could see the group behind us was still putting out on 13 so they were more than 2 full holes behind us. There was a 'players' assistant' on the course but he didn't seem to try to speed them up. All in all, we would play here again.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Our favourite course in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I golfed Bear Creek (Bear) twice and the Cub ,once , last September. We really enjoyed the Bear and talked fondly of it throughout the year as we golfed in our homeland of Scotland. We're back in the area and booked to play this morning. We received a great welcome at check in and the starter was very chatty and pleasant. The course was a good as we remembered it and we both really enjoyed a great round. This is an excellent course which suits golfers of all abilities. Great value for money. We plan to have another couple of rounds next week.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice links layout”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Played the Bear championship course during a recent visit to Phoenix. A nice links layout but we were there as they prepared the course for reseeding, so the fairways were quite brown -- fortunately the low green fees reflected this. Also played the Bear last February when things were a lot greener and found the course to be a good intermediate challenge. Would recommend this course for golfers wanting value for their dollar.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
“Good Family Course for Beginners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I am new to golf with my 8 year old son and 12 year old daughter. My husband has been playing for years. This is a nice inexpensive course to play if you are just beginning. Kids play free on Sundays with an adult. Makes for a great family activity!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear Creek Golf Complex also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Bear Creek Golf Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Creek Golf Complex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.