We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Creek Golf Complex

Bear Creek Golf Complex
500 East Riggs Road, Chandler, AZ
(480) 883-8200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 22 attractions in Chandler
Type: Golf Courses
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Bear Creek Golf Complex is a 36-hole inland links golf facility consisting of both a long and short course. The Bear Championship Course stretches to 6,825 yards from the back tees and plays to a par 71, The Cub Executive Course is a fun, sporty par 59, 3,501-yard course. Bear Creek is a unique and exciting place, and we strive to encourage the development of golfers of all ages and abilities. In addition to our two golf courses we also have a full Practice and Learning Center, staffed by PGA Professionals who are available for both individual and group lessons. Both golf courses and practice area were created by the Nicklaus Design Group and architect Bill O'Leary, and opened for play in January 2000.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We golfed with another couple and had an enjoyable 4 hour 10 minute round. The fairways and greens are in good shape. Very nice practice area with driving range and chipping and putting greens. The course was quite busy at 10 am on a Monday morning so it is obviously popular. My only concerns: first, there is no potable water on the course so bring your own (or buy from the cart girl); second, would be a potential problem with the pace of play. We had no problem, but by the time we had finished 15, we could see the group behind us was still putting out on 13 so they were more than 2 full holes behind us. There was a 'players' assistant' on the course but he didn't seem to try to speed them up. All in all, we would play here again.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Our favourite course in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I golfed Bear Creek (Bear) twice and the Cub ,once , last September. We really enjoyed the Bear and talked fondly of it throughout the year as we golfed in our homeland of Scotland. We're back in the area and booked to play this morning. We received a great welcome at check in and the starter was very chatty and pleasant. The course was a good as we remembered it and we both really enjoyed a great round. This is an excellent course which suits golfers of all abilities. Great value for money. We plan to have another couple of rounds next week.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice links layout”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Played the Bear championship course during a recent visit to Phoenix. A nice links layout but we were there as they prepared the course for reseeding, so the fairways were quite brown -- fortunately the low green fees reflected this. Also played the Bear last February when things were a lot greener and found the course to be a good intermediate challenge. Would recommend this course for golfers wanting value for their dollar.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
“Good Family Course for Beginners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I am new to golf with my 8 year old son and 12 year old daughter. My husband has been playing for years. This is a nice inexpensive course to play if you are just beginning. Kids play free on Sundays with an adult. Makes for a great family activity!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good Inexpensive Golf”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is good for an inexpensive round of golf. We golfed this after golfing outstanding golf courses at Quintero, Blackstone and Trilogy, so the beauty of the course was a real let down at first, but the fairways and greens were in good shape and you can't beat it for the price.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear Creek Golf Complex also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Bear Creek Golf Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Creek Golf Complex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bear Creek Golf Complex to your Saves list