We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing extraordinary” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buca di Beppo

Buca di Beppo
7111 W Ray Rd, Chandler, AZ 85226-1510
+1 480-785-7272
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #141 of 534 Restaurants in Chandler
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Way Road and Interstate 10
Description: Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nothing extraordinary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Just like all the other buca's. Went in early on a Friday night, looking for Italian. The food was okay but was nothing extraordinary. Sat us (boyfriend and I) right next to 2 tables of 8 people that had children and babies. Normally I don't mind but the kids were running around while the adults yelled loudly at them and baby was crying. Thankfully they left quickly. Not very busy, we were able to sit down right away...must be due to the opening of multiple new restaurants in the area. Ordered a bottle of wine, they didn't have the first choice and ended up with a more expensive choice. Was impressed that when we didnt finish it, they had a little bag with directions for carrying it with us in the car and they were able to recork it. Had it the next night with dinner. Food, nothing great. Not even really that good, could probably make what we ordered at home. Stuffed chicken with proscuitto and the stuffed shells (spicier than I like). Had a ceasar salad to start with the bread and olive oil/red wine vinegar mix. Very eclectic mix of decor, red/white checkerboard table clothes. Service was good. But, all in all we would search a little harder for better Italian food next time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    10
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Bad Service and Bad Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We love this chain but this location needs some help. When we arrived the waiting area was full. The hostess would not take our name and made us wait. When they finally took our name we had to wait outside. Everyone was seated and we were still waiting. A family, larger than our party, were seated immediately. When I spoke up they apologized and still made us wait! ... Our waiter took our order and we specifically asked that our appetizer be served first, which it was not. Our salad had too much dressing and the cheese sticks were cold. This is the second time we have issues with this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucalove, Guest Relations Manager at Buca di Beppo, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Please accept our apologies for your experience. We have forwarded the information to management and would love to have someone reach out to you. Could you email us your contact information to mamacares@bucainc.com? Please make sure to include the date and location of your complaint in your e-mail. We always appreciate opportunities to better serve our guests. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“not anything special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

really not impressed original food low end . not fresh

been there a few time wont be back

not worth it really more quantity vs quality

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Real Homestyle Feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

An Italian tradition is sitting around the family table passing around big bowls of Italian dishes. Well, this is the exact feel you have at Buca. No single serve meals here. Your table orders a single dish (or more dishes if you like), and your meal is served in big bowls where everyone serves themselves. The food is plentiful and delicious. Small bowls serve up to two people and larger bowls for bigger groups. Families love it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Service was good. Atmosphere was okay. It was funny to walk thru the kitchen on the way in.
Food was just okay. We ordered the spicy rigatoni and Gorgonzola apple salad. Portions are large, but the rigatoni was kind of bland.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buca di Beppo also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Buca di Beppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buca di Beppo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.