We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in the neighborhood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porkopolis

Porkopolis
SE CORNER 202 (SANTAN) & ARIZONA AVENUE, Chandler, AZ
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #236 of 493 Restaurants in Chandler
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: Delicious BBQ, sauces and sides. Meat slow cooked to perfection. Staff very attentive and friendly. Will return again and again.
Restaurant details
Description: Delicious BBQ, sauces and sides. Meat slow cooked to perfection. Staff very attentive and friendly. Will return again and again.
Sun Lakes, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great find in the neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This was our second visit to Porkopolis; despite a dust storm, the place was packed on a Friday night and the line continued to grow. We went during happy hour on our first visit a few weeks back and were very pleased (and full) with the options available. We shared the fried dill pickles (thin and crisp...large portion) as well as the Red Neck Tacos. Three generously portioned servings of pork and jalapeno slaw atop a sweetly delicious corn cake. The slaw gave this combination a really great kick. My only criticism of the corn cake is that it had obviously been made earlier because it had to be cut with a knife. I prefer them fluffy and soft to the cut - made to order because they take very little time on the griddle.

Last night, I opted for the short rib served over garlic mashers and topped with teriyaki veggies. It was a very appealing presentation and the flavors didn't disappoint. The short rib (singular) was quite large and more than I could finish.

Hubby ordered a 2 meat platter - brisket (delicious!!) and ribs. Smoked perfectly and finished with a nice glaze of sauce. His sides (getting on a carb high) were creamed corn (oh my goodness delicious with what appeared to be fresh sweet corn in a smooth cream sauce) and mac 'n cheese. Not the best mac I've ever had, but far better than what most bbq places serve. It was piping hot out of the oven with melted cheese lightly browned on top. This is a lot of food and again, more than he could finish.

Service is very good and they serve the food quickly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Small Place, Big Taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We were looking for a sit down BBQ place, it seems like the better ones now are served cafeteria style and we wanted table service. This place had some good reviews so we drove a few extra miles to check the place out.

The restaurant is small and informal, tucked into a corner of a strip mall in a shopping district. The smoky smell of barbecued meat greets you at the door, as it should. We were told we could pick our own table, and so we did. Service was a bit spotty at first, it was a bit of a wait for drinks and to order appetizers, etc. We missed happy hour (half price drinks and appetizers) by a few minutes as a result, but they honored the reduced prices anyway.

The fried pickles were hot and crisp, and the redneck tacos were big and tasty. The brisket was lean and tender and the pulled pork was fine. Garlic mashed potatoes and green beans seemed freshly made. Green beans should not be soggy, and these weren't. Servings were generous for the price. The sauces are both a little on the sweet side, and flavorful but not overly spicy. Fans of spicy BBQ might be disappointed, but we weren't. Two thumbs up, and we'll go back to try some of their other dishes soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Okay sides, great brisket”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The brisket was awesome, lots of flavor and juicy. The pulled pork was a little dry but tasted good. The fries were basic and the jalapeno slaw didn't really have any heat. The dressing on the slaw needed some acid to wake it up. It looked like they could use another server or two even in a half filled dining room.

I didn't have it but the ice cream sandwich looked amazing. Many tables around me were sharing it, I'll try it next time. Worth another trip to try the other bbq options.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoDak
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Visited for dinner with a friend, shortly before closing. Ordered the baby back ribs and beans, friend ordered the red-neck tacos. Both were huge amounts of food, especially for a "starter" that the tacos were. The ribs were very tender and meaty, had to add a little bbq sauce as I like them "wet". The beans were ... beans. The red-neck tacos were interesting, had almost ordered them myself. The corn cakes were fluffy like pancakes and were huge. They were piled high with coleslaw and pulled pork - could have used more bbq sauce for my taste but they were really good - more than enough to share. The decor was rather strip-mall bland, but the interesting all-pork menu totally made up for it. Would like to return and try other menu items.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garfield, Arkansas
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“More then Pork”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Good experience - clean fun hip place, kids are welcome but its definetly a bar. Very busy, but able to handle the crowd. French dip was great, pulled pork sandwich was heavenly, wonderful seasonings.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porkopolis also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Porkopolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porkopolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.