We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Delightful Surprise"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zelma Basha Salmeri Gallery

Zelma Basha Salmeri Gallery
22402 S. Basha Road, Chandler, AZ 85248
480-895-5230
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Shopping in Chandler
Type: Art Galleries
Attraction Details
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Delightful Surprise"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I've lived in the East Valley for fifteen years and have experienced many wonderful adventures. The discovery of the Zelma Basha Salmeri Gallery was simply pure joy. The vast collection is stunning. Thank you so much for sharing it with all of us.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best Western Art collection you will ever see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This collection of western art was made by Ed Bash a who dedicated it to his aunt, Zelma Basha Salmeri. Her encouragement of her nephews passion for western cowboy and native Indian art resulted in this magnificent gallery. If you want a reason why this style of art is so popular or if you already love it like I do then visit this monument to the Cowboy Artists of America. Spend three or more hours looking, reading, and marvelling any some of the best examples you will ever feast your eyes on. Artists such as Joe Beeler, a personal friend of Mr. Basha with a large number of his works on view, Howard Terpning, Grant Speed, John Clymer's magnificent paintings of the Lewis & Clarke era, wonderful native works by Montoya, Larry Yazzi are all on display at one great price..., free! Nowhere will you see us many great works for so little. Don't miss this gem if you love this style or if you want to see what it is about. Open Monday to Friday, office hours at the site of Basha's head office. It is the best!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, ill
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem of Western American & Indian Art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

One of the most comprehensive art galleries of Western American and Indian Art I have ever had the honor to see. Over 3,000 pieces of magnificent Western art grace the wall of this free gallery. Eddie Basha's gallery opened in 1992 and has steadily expanded. The highlight is the Cowboy Artists of America who created works of art that depict the life of the early American cowboy. There are also collections of baskets, Jewelry, pottery and sculptures. Open from 9-4 Mon.-Friday,. The gallery is located at Basha's Corporate offices and a is bit tricky to find but you won't be disappointed as this is a fantastic display.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Talk About a Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

My wife and I visit Scottsdale often but until this visit had never heard of this gallery. A lady assisting with shuttles at the place we were staying told me about it - and I am very glad we made the drive from N. Scottsdale.

The gallery is located on the property of the Bashas' grocery chain headquarters in Chandler. It features a massive collection of contemporary western and American Indian art, all assembled by Eddie Basha. The art is arranged mainly by artist in a building that seems to go on and on. The collection is truly extensive and outstanding. We especially enjoyed the cartoons drawn by Joe Beeler (I think) for Eddie, usually poking a bit of fun at him.

There is a separate room with a huge collection of American Indian basket work. In addition a number of rifles and pistols are part of the collection. We were told that there are frequent changes to the collection as pieces are brought out of storage and put on display.

This collection is so huge that a couple of hours can't do it justice. I am sure we will visit again as it so much fun to see all of the art. And to top it off there is no admission cost.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved the museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I'm not usually a big museum person but this one was very interesting. A room full of hand woven baskets displayed beautifully. Then a large area of Western sculptures, paintings, bronze, wood carvings, old rifles, and lots more. The 2 1/2 hours we spent there was enough time for the first visit but will come back again. It was too overwhelming for one visit. Both my husband and I enjoyed it immensely.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zelma Basha Salmeri Gallery also viewed

 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Zelma Basha Salmeri Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zelma Basha Salmeri Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.