We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Makutu's Island

Makutu's Island
6919 West Ray Road, Chandler, AZ
480-344-3740
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 22 attractions in Chandler
Type: Game/ Entertainment Centers
Attraction Details
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very disappointing!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

I took my granddaughter here yesterday and was pleasantly surprised when we entered the venue. The décor is great; but it was downhill from there. At least half the games were out of order, there were games that were not out of order, but when given a token, they weren't working and there were games with notes that said they did not give tickets. When we went to check out, the ticket counting machines were not working, so they weighed our tickets. Interesting approach. Prizes at most of these places are low quality, but I think their prizes were a little worse.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    13
    4
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queen Creek, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“All I wanted to do was book a birthday party”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

My son't birthday is December 31st so it can be hard to find a time to have a party for him since everyone is on vacation. So, we decided to plan for the 1st weekend in January. I called to book his party three weeks in advance, this was a Monday. They told me they could not book for January because their computer wouldn't let them yet, but to call on Friday or Saturday and it would be. I call on Friday, same story, we can't book for January. I said, but it's not that far away and I need to get invitations out. Can you book it manually? She states I don't know, but we will call you tomorrow when the manager is here. Saturday came and went with no phone call. I called on sunday during their business hours and no one answered. I left a message. Then I called 2 more times, no answer. My husband called and someone finally answered. He told my husband they can't book for January. My husband then states "We were told that we would be able to book by Friday" and this is when the guy HANGS UP ON HIM!!!!!! I called and left a message about how I wanted to speak to a manager after that. I have never been treated so rudely. I was just trying to bring them business. I will take my money elsewhere.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolute blast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This enormous indoor treehouse is perfect for an Arizona summer. Let the kids climb and slide. Their food could be better for the price. But the kids and adults have a great time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Getting better...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I notice the last few reviews were not very good, but our recent visit for a kid's birthday party seems that things are starting to get better. There were a lot of kids running everywhere. There will be some accidental bumping as expected with running kids. Kids stayed for hours. The zip line was closed for repairs.

The employee helping with the birthday party was courteous and professional. Makutu character stopped by for a visit with the kids, but did not stay for more than a minute. A little too short for photo ops for the kids.

The giant tree house is a few stories high. The slides are dark and steep. Most kids loved it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You couldn't pay ME to go there again.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The place was very overpriced...and charging adults to supervise their own children is ridiculous! It was dirty, old and run down. We immediately showered when we got home...it was that gross. The staff was very unfriendly! A bunch of high schoolers there to socialize, not work. My son was very scared to be out of my sight...too many blind spots where there are no eyes on kids. Will NEVER go back!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makutu's Island also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Makutu's Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makutu's Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Makutu's Island to your Saves list