We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced , dirty, and rude staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Makutu's Island

Makutu's Island
6919 West Ray Road, Chandler, AZ 85226
480-344-3740
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 22 Attractions in Chandler
Type: Game/ Entertainment Centers
Attraction Details
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced , dirty, and rude staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

It is pretty overpriced, and the fact that they charge for adults is annoying. It is extremely dirty and dusty and the staff were very rude. The staff were not kid friendly, and the manager is possibly the worst one. My girls had fun at first, but I felt like I needed to give them a disinfectant bath afterwards. You could literally see dust and dirt everywhere. Then, one of my 4 year old twins got turned around and was crying and none of the staff even approached her or helped. She tried to ask one where her mommy was and they simply said "I don't know, go look for her". We will definitely not be returning.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    5
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Boys love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

My boys love this place. We have been going there for years and they enjoy it every time. I like that it has an arcade too and a food area. The staff Is always very friendly too and that's one thing I always look for when I take them places.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“used to be great....dirty and in need of repair”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I've been a fan of Makutu's Island for almost 10 years and have hosted and attended many parties here. I was so sad to see it in terrible shape on our last visit. It needs major maintenance and a good cleaning. The blocks for the toddlers are flat and dirty and coming apart. Very few of the games were working and after reading other reviews with the same problem, its obvious that the owner isn't putting any money back into the business or even attempting to repair the broken games. It could be great again if he/she would spend a little to restore it back to the Makutu's it used to be. Even the prize counter was a sad sight with few prized and lots of empty shelves. It almost looked like it's going out of business.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is such a wonderful place to take kids to play. My grandkids loved it. They played for 3 hours. I felt it was so safe & I could enjoy watching the grandkids have fun. We ate at the restaurant & it was ok for kids. All in all the place in a very nice, clean indoor activity for kids in the summer.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tombstone, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fun place for 3-9 year old kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Fun place for 3-9 year old kids... Fun for parents too, but harder on us to squeeze around.

Cool indoor tree house and jungle gym playground. The coolest one I have seen so far. I have taken my kids 8-10 times and now it is played out for us. This is definitely worth going...

I only wish they would be faster at fixing the cracked pads and broken areas instead of closing them off.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makutu's Island also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Makutu's Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makutu's Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.