We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unclean Room!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5594 West Wild Horse Pass Boulevard, Gila River Indian Community, Chandler, AZ 85226   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #6 of 27 hotels in Chandler
Katy, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unclean Room!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We selected this resort to celebrate our upcoming anniversary and booked a suite. Later in the evening when we were ready for bed, we discovered the sprinkler over our bed was covered with a very thick spider web with bugs in it! There were also thick spider webs covering the window treatment and a thick layer of dust on the lamp shades in the bedroom. There were also quarter-sized mold spots on the ceiling. I have asthma and had to utilize my rescue inalher due to the dust and became very congested. It was already late by the time we were ready for bed and we had to wait up until after 11:00 for housekeeping to come in and thoroughly dust the room and change the sheets. After multiple visits by housekeeping and calls from the Front Desk, we were offered a $50 credit toward breakfast/dinner and over 2,000 SPG points. The next morning, the housekeeping engineer assured us that he would speak to the hotel manager on our behalf and they would make everything right. At this time, we have still not met or spoken to a hotel manager. The Front Desk and Housekeeping staff were cordial and apologetic however, for the amount of money we spent on a suite for 4 nights, the condition of the room upon arrival was unacceptable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share details from your recent stay. We are very sorry if it was anything less than perfect. We were happy that you connected with our Housekeeping team while on property and that we were able to correct all issues while you were with us. Our resort leaders pride themselves on creating efficient solutions for our guests during their stay and we were glad that you left with resolution and happy with your stay. We hope to host you again soon.

Sincerely,
Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    564
    307
    93
    45
    33
See reviews for
248
222
60
349
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Casper, Wyoming
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The property is very nice, however during our visit there was construction going on in a couple of rooms surrounding our room. There were a lot of distractions with doors slamming throughout the day and into the evening as well as construction sounds interrupting our time. I am disappointed that the hotel staff would put any guest in this portion of that facility knowing that construction was going on. I like the area but am disappointed in the sever lack of customer service. We checked out a day early and moved to a different resort.

Room Tip: Verify that there will not be construction in your surrounding area. But the 3rd story views are ama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort and Spa I would like to extend my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience we have caused you during your recent stay. I sincerely appreciate the feedback you provided, as it helps us in our efforts to improve upon guest experience. We naturally want our guests to be comfortable during their stay and take with them only fond memories of their visit to the Sheraton Wild Horse Pass.

Our resort is undergoing a small renovation in our suites. We do try to make every effort to ensure our guests are not impacted by the construction, for this I again apologize. I truly wish we could have moved you to another part of the resort that was not impacted by the construction. We hope to see you soon and assure you that we can provide you an enjoyable stay experience and even exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Director of Engineering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I have to say I am extremely disappointed with my stay at this resort. I had stayed here before and didn't have any issues however that was quite the opposite this stay. The staff were extremely unfriendly and unhelpful. We had dinner at the bar where the bar staff and manager where more concerned about carrying on conversations amongst themselves than serving the guests. Three separate people came up and asked the staff if they needed to order at the bar or if someone would coming to the surrounding tables to take their order. They were told to go sit down that someone would come around. We had a difficult time ordering and we were sitting at the bar as they were generally rude and short. The last straw came when I noticed really little black bugs (the size of fleas) crawling on the bathroom floor. I killed the first few and noticed that more were coming in. I went to the front desk and notified David. After 2 hours of no calls or anyone showing up I noticed the bugs were not just crawling in the bathroom but towards the room as well. I went back down to the front desk and spoke with David again and told him no one showed up. I asked to speak with a manager and was told he was the only one there. I notified him that we would be checking out and called SPG to book a room at another hotel. Any hotel would have worked. SPG called the hotel and 5 minutes later Lisa Mercer called (a manager) and apologized for her staff's response as she had been there since 8:30am. Lisa was very helpful and should be commended for stepping into a situation that David clearly didn't handle correctly and lied about. As a Platinum CEM I've stayed at hotels all over the country and have to say the staff here is the worst that I've ever experienced....except for Lisa.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to read that you were disappointed. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. As a result of your post we communicated with all of the mentioned associates and departments and heard the story. We are happy that we were able to address your concerns while here and hope to have you back for a stay in the future.

Sincerely,
Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This Sheraton has great specials!!! We stayed here for their Black Friday shopping special at the Phoenix Premium Outlet stores. The location of this property is great, close to the freeway, close to the casino and Bondourant. The beds and pillows are very comfortable

Room Tip: ask for a bottom floor if you want easy access to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our “Shop Black Friday” promotion and the shopping at the nearby Premium Outlets. Our property’s location is meant to portray the feeling of escaping from the bustling city, yet without being too far away from it. We are looking forward to your future stay with us.

Sincerely,
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in October for business. The resort is large and well maintained with beautiful views. I did have a couple of issues; the service at the restaurant & outdoor grill were extremely slow and once we had to take our food to go after waiting an hour for a salad, the other negative is the expansiveness of the property makes getting to/from lobby/restaurant area to your room a 10 min walk. Other than these 2 things the hotel is great and I would definitely consider returning maybe even for leisure next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Manager at Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback as we are always looking for areas of opportunity to improve our service. I do apologize that your experiences in our restaurant and bar outlets did not meet your expectations and your feedback has been passed along to the appropriate manager. As for the resort layout I apologize for any inconveniences this caused you during your stay. The resort was built to represent the Pima and Maricopa culture and maximize the views of the surrounding lands of the Gila River Community, so I can see how layout of the resort can become lengthy from guest rooms located near the end of each wing. We hope that you will visit with us again so we can accommodate your needs and expectations.

Sincerely,

Resort Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.C.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed here for four nights on a combination business/leisure trip. The hotel is set beautifully into the Arizona landscape, and the grounds are meticulous. I did have a few concerns during our stay, however, mainly to do with traveling with a small child. Our room was only made up once during our stay; apparently, the afternoon nap schedule coincided with housekeeping service, even though times were different each day. One night there was no hot water. And the adjoining room's door allowed loud conversation and noise into our room. It was a pleasant stay, but the annoyances of service, water, and noise keep me from giving the hotel more stars.

Room Tip: Be sure your room doesn't have an adjoining door into another room. Ask hotel employees where t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Manager at Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on our resort. We make a point to celebrate the successes with our team while taking the necessary steps to improve upon the other aspects you mention. One of the truly unique qualities of the Sheraton Wildhorse Pass Resort & Spa is the setting and Arizona scenery it is surrounded by. We would love the opportunity for you to visit our resort again so we may provide with a more well-rounded experience.

Sincerely,

Director of Housekeeping
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

On entering the property you get a sense of spaciousness. The landscape is expansive as a golf course is also part of this resort. Love the wild feeling you get driving into the property. It would have to be at least 1km drive before you get to reception. The resort is low rise and flat, which fits in perfectly with the surrounds. You actually feel like you are in the desert.

On arrive the valet staff are very helpful and will even take your car and park it for you for a price. I dropped off my bags then went and parked my vehicle. It is important to know where your room as the buildings are wide spread over the property and they have provided several different car parks nearest to rooms.

Reception foyer is unique and rustic. Check in staff are fantastic and helpful. Pool area spectacular and the lobby bar was very relaxing. Given the resort is isolated having only one restaurant with medium priced meals very limiting. The menu was a mixed bag of choices and felt like it did not know what it wanted to serve. There is another restaurant but it is high end and not open very night. The pool area did have its own small eatery which served bar food, but given I was there on business did not use this. The Casino down the road had more choices and ended up driving there a couple of the nights to get a better selection of food.

Found the rooms very dark and no matter how many lights you put on was very hard to get light in. Also additional things like cotton balls to clean make off non existent and other small amentities like a shaver also non existent. Plastic cups was all that was avaialble to drink from and ended up bringing a glass of wine from the lobby bar so I could have a proper glass to drink from.

Overall it was a very plesant stay. The Premium Outlet stores are a short drive away which was handy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Manager at Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Skek Thash (“Good Day” in Pima)! Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Wild Horse Resort and Spa! We are located on the Gila River Indian Community and we take great pride in infusing the history and culture of the Community into the Resort’s design, architecture, cuisine, and accommodations. The spacious nearby surroundings include the Komatke Mountains, the Whirlwind Golf Course, and the Koli Equestrian Center. We’re glad you appreciated the service you were provided at the front drive and during check-in, we are proud of the welcoming experience you encountered! We’re also happy that you enjoyed Hanyo (“oasis”) pool and the Lobby Bar. Featuring a fusion of American and Southwestern cuisine, Ko'Sin ("kitchen"), offers delectable dishes that we call desert bistro fare. Though you were not pleased with the variety of meals offered at Ko’Sin, we also thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us, this is very important to us. We change our menus seasonally, and we will consider more options, including lighter fare items for the business person such as yourself. As for the room amenities, we do offer vanity and shaving kits in the rooms for a minimal fee, including paper cups. We apologize if you did not receive these items and we will remind our housekeeping staff to ensure such items are available. You can also call Guest Services for glassware. Finally, although we would prefer you stay on property, we are delighted to hear that you were able to get out and enjoy the dining and shopping options available at the nearby Wild Horse Pass Casino and the Phoenix Premium Outlets. Again, we value and appreciate your review. We wish you well on your Journey and hope to see you again very soon.

Mova Sa’pe (Thank you)!

Resort Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa

Address: 5594 West Wild Horse Pass Boulevard, Gila River Indian Community, Chandler, AZ 85226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Chandler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chandler
#6 Business Hotel in Chandler
#7 Family Hotel in Chandler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa is located in the Sonoran Desert on an expanse of rugged Arizona landscape where the ancient vistas, mountains, and roaming wild horses remain untouched. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Hotel Chandler
Sheraton Chandler
Chandler Sheraton
Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.