We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful and fun getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5594 West Wild Horse Pass Boulevard, Gila River Indian Community, Chandler, AZ 85226   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd Night Free & Credit
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Chandler
Phoenix Arizona
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A peaceful and fun getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

It's been a few years since we've gone (and reviewed this property) so here is my latest opinion.

What they do best:
The rooms are excellent- large, with some of the most comfortable beds offered in any hotels.

The decor throughout the property is beautiful, serene, and in tune with the nature that surrounds it. I also LOVE the Native American music that plays in the public spaces.

The pools are so nice and the water slide is soooo fun! It's fast and the lines were never long, even on July 4th.

The boat ride is not to be missed, even if you're just doing a round trip for fun.

They give out free water in the lobby, just head over to the concierge. Instead of forcing you to buy it. NIce touch.

Ko 'Sin Restaurant. We ate there 4 times- twice for breakfast and twice for dinner and it was wonderful each time.
FOOD I HIGHLY RECOMMEND- For dinner- The salmon, the filet minon, and believe it or not, the adult mac and cheese. Their free starter- the hummas and lavosh is also excellent.
For Breakfast- there is a very economical buffet- (it's not offered all the time so check) for only $14.95 adults and I think $7 for kids. You can make a complete bagel and lox (yum!) they have wonderful sausage gravy and fluffy delicious biscuits, and their pancakes are also quite good. They also have the usual stuff as well.


What they can work on:

We were shocked that we went to the pool on July 5th and found no towels available for the first 45 minutes we were there. We got there at 9:30am along with a few dozen other people. The one attendent that was there was in no hurry to put them out and took an additional 20 minutes after I asked for towels to bring any. When they finally did there was a stampead of people rushing over to get some before they ran out.

The pool service in general is not great. I think in the three days we went to the pool an attendent came by exactly once to give us some water. And it was over the 4th of July so while yes it was busy we just barely saw anyone working .
We went to the poolside restaurant for lunch and service there was slow as well. However the food is pretty good. The BLT is very tasty (just tell them to take it easy on the butter, the soak the texas toast in it).

Also, there was supposed to be family activities- like a cannonball contest at noon and duck races at 1pm and we heard no announcement and saw no cannonball contest and we had to search for someone to ask about the duck races. They said they changed it, and ten minutes after it was supposed to start we finally gave up and walked away.


I'm nitpicking, but really the resort and the staff is wonderful. I highly recommend Wild Horse.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Manager at Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Whether you feel it is nitpicking or not, we highly value the voice of our guests and always appreciate to hear everything you have to say. It is very nice to see your appreciation for the details in our décor and the amenities we offer.

I will also look forward to passing on the kind comments about the food in the restaurants to our Restaurant Chef. As far as your pool experience, we are sorry to hear about the service you received. It is not customary to break from our high expectations and give anyone the impression we are understaffed.

I hope you and your family will get the opportunity to stay with us again soon and participate in our family activities. They are always a lot of fun and any of our staff should be able to assist you with locating our Adventure Club team.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.

Sincerely,
Director of Restaurants & Bars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    316
    96
    46
    34
See reviews for
251
232
60
355
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I brought my wife and 5 year old daughter here for a weekend getaway over 4th of July weekend. Overall, it was a decent stay, but definitely not worth the money. The first issue was the amount of money we were out over the weekend because, on top of the room price and resort fees, they hold over $100 on your account as a security deposit, so I'm out almost $400 or so over this weekend and I'm sure it's going to be quite a few business days before I see the money post back to my account. The room had a strange smell, almost like a cat piss scent, inside the entry way. We found a 2" dead roach on one of the beds the first night and another large dead roach in the middle of the floor as we were packing up to leave. Hopefully none made it into our luggage. The pool and waterslide were awesome, but in desperate need of a good shocking. The water was overly cloudy and a bit gritty. The last point I wanted to touch on is the lack of noise reduction in the rooms. Multiple times each night, you can hear loud, drunken people stumbling down the hall to their room as if your door was opened. The worst part was last night around 1am, my wife and 5 year old daughter were awakened by the sound of loud moaning and yelling, slapping sounds, and the neighbor's headboard pounding the wall for about 10 minutes, it literally sounded like there was only a sheet between the rooms. Yet again, this morning, we awoke to the sounds of porno screaming and slapping and headboard banging... At 7am. A few knocks on the wall and they settled down a bit, but it's definitely weird trying to explain what's going on to a 5 year old. Overall, my daughter had fun swimming and using the water slide, but I definitely don't feel like we got our money's worth this weekend. Next time, we'll be trying a different hotel/resort.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for offering your valuable input regarding your stay at Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa. We appreciate hearing our guest’s feedback and are thankful that you have shared yours.

We know that you come to our resort to relax and enjoy a carefree time and we are sorry to hear that we fell short of delivering that experience for you. After reading your review, it is evident that we failed to meet your expectations in several areas during your stay.

Resort cleanliness is of upmost importance to us and we regret to learn that we fell below our standards during your stay. I too would be disappointed with the issues you encountered and can only imagine how frustrated you must have been.

I understand that our sentiment alone does not do anything to alleviate the frustration you felt. On behalf of myself and the entire Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa team, I most humbly apologize. Please feel free to reach out to me at anytime should you wish to further discuss the details of your stay. We would love the opportunity to make things right.

Sincerely,
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis Missouri
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We found a great price for this resort for the summer months, but the only time we could get away was the 4th of July weekend. We arrived late at nite on the 3rd, and were met with a very courteous staff. Very nice. This hotel has 3 very nice pools, and a water slide, so it is a great spot for those with children. Rawhide is a western town that can be easily accessed from the hotel by car or water taxi. It has alot for families to do, along with a very nice steakhouse. For the 4th of July, both the resort and Rawhide offered special events, live music, an fireworks that could be viewed from the resort. Because of this, the resort was overrun with people and very
Poorly behaved children. This is no fault of the hotel, however they were completely understaffed at the bar and grill poolside. We waited over an hour for a simple order of nachos. You could see the staff was completely overwhelmed. Food was coming out of the kitchen and no one knew where it belonged. they were just wandering around with playes of food. Apparently a lot of the local residents came for the 4th holiday and fireworks. I would NEVER come here for the 4th of July again! It was horrendous. That being said, the rest of our stay was magnificent. We too took advantage of summer rates, but all the staff was exceptionally pleasant and helpful in every way. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. One drawback is that the hotel charges a $20 "resort fee"
Which it says covers the Internet fee in guest rooms, however there is no wifi in guest room . There is wifi in the
Lobby and pool area though ...just not as convenient as in the guest room. We had a great breakfast in the hotel restaurant .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Manager at Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am very sorry to hear that the volume of people had such a negative impact on your stay. It is never our intention to provide service that strays from our expectations, regardless of the number of guests.

It is nice to hear the staff made your stay exceptional and that we will have the opportunity to have you as our guests again. We hope you will be able to take advantage of our summer rates again so that we will be able to see you sooner rather than later.

Sincerely,
Director of Restaurants & Bars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This ia a lovely western themed hotel, set amidst gorgeous desert scenery. From the drive up to the hotel( 2 miles ) to the pools, to the hotel room...perfect. Painless check in with a starwwod upgrade...good start. Lovely views from our very nice hotel room....very good. The pools were well kept with a good supply of good quality towels and excellent pool service..again spot on. The lobby is quite spectacular with the water falls and rock landscape, topped off with a huge picture window looking across the grounds and the pass....amazing. The hotel is full of information with regards to the hotels location on the Gila River Indian community..all very interesting and the hotel have tried to blend this culture within the hotel..I think they managed this without detracting from the hotel being a Sheraton. Service through out was excellent, nothing being to much bother. We did eat at the Raw Hide western village, reached via the complimentary boat trip through the grounds of the hotel, this was very nice and a bit special. Raw Hide itself was as expected, good fun and reasonably priced..no complaints. We are thinking of returning to Arizona next year, if so we will stay here we liked it so much.

Room Tip: The resort fee....our hotel agent booked the room without the resort fee and we opted to pay just fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Food & Beverage Assistant at Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear about your experience here at our resort. The Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa is definitely unique compared to other resorts. We pride ourselves on the cultural background of the Pima & Maricopa Tribes of the Gila River Indian Community and showcase that throughout our resort. We are glad that you had such a memorable experience here and are happy to hear about your future plans to return. We look forward to creating even more memories and lasting impressions on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Food and Beverage Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful desert landscape , loved the untouched look and natural feel of this resort upon arrival !
Guest services were professional and friendly , doormen , very welcoming .
Our guest room was extremely clean and with a spectacular view out over the Vista of the desert .

Our rest and relaxation was of the upmost importance , wanting to enjoy the pool area but was not impressed at all with the two guitarist howling over a loud amp with outdated songs that totally did not suit the Vibe nor the clientele poolside whatsoever . Our only rest came when the took a break ! Piped in music would of been just fine with a more up beat tempo rather than a funeral march !

The poolside service was Par excellent ! Derek was absolutely the most professional attendant despite the 119* hot Az sun !

Over all , our stay was a great get-a-way and absolutely loved this property !

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Director of Restaurants and Bars at Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are very happy to hear about your appreciation for all the fine touches to our property. I am sorry that your rest and relaxation was not achieved poolside. We understand that is the intent of many of our guests and will take the music selection into consideration. Derek will be very happy to see the kind mention of him and his professionalism in this review. He definitely embodies our values here at the resort and is a great team member. Thank you for visiting us for your get-a-way and we will look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

Director of Restaurants and Bars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Brought my parents here for their 55 wedding anniversary. Hotel staff was wonderful. They upgrade their room to one with a pool view and sent a gift to the room. Rooms were spacious and with balconies. Clean and updated. Couldn't have been happier. Made a special occasion even better. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Manager at Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We’re even more honored you chose our resort to celebrate such a momentous occasion. We take a lot of pride in service and the culture we represent. We try to ensure every occasion is special and look forward to having you come and visit us again soon!

Sincerely,

Director of Restaurants and Bars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, wv
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here for a recent meeting and we were amazed at the 5 star service and beautiful facility and grounds. Everything was wonderful. Service was the best I have experienced. Rooms are very clean, well furnished, comfortable, quiet. Everything was very nice. We had a ground floor room with a sliding door to walk out to the pool. Service everywhere was great! We were offered drinks at the pool before we even got settled in to our comfortable chairs. I would highly recommend this resort. The spa is beautiful, so relaxing, great service there too, of course. The food is great too! Great walking, jogging trail around the resort also.

Room Tip: We loved the ground floor facing the pool. Walk out to the pool, restaurants or lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us! Your kind words are very much appreciated. It was a pleasure to serve as your "home away from home" and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Believe it or not, there are even MORE amenities to enjoy than the ones you have already experienced.

P.S. What a fantastic photo!

Sincerely,

Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa

Address: 5594 West Wild Horse Pass Boulevard, Gila River Indian Community, Chandler, AZ 85226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Chandler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chandler
#6 Business Hotel in Chandler
#8 Family Hotel in Chandler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa is located in the Sonoran Desert on an expanse of rugged Arizona landscape where the ancient vistas, mountains, and roaming wild horses remain untouched. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Hotel Chandler
Sheraton Chandler
Chandler Sheraton
Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.