We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5594 West Wild Horse Pass Boulevard, Gila River Indian Community, Chandler, AZ 85226   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd Night Free & Credit
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Chandler
Florida, Uruguay
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful property this past week for our company's national meeting. The southwestern decor and desert landscaping make this a well themed Arizona getaway. The service is excellent, and the front desk, restaurant, bar, and housekeeping staff are all friendly and courteous. The rooms are spacious and clean. I will definitely to back here for a personal stay and recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: I liked having the room on the first floor it had a nice balcony which exited out to a nicely landsc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    323
    99
    46
    34
See reviews for
254
236
60
366
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed for two nights at property while in town for a conference. The property is located several miles off the highway on the Gila River Indian Community. The grounds exude a classic western / reservation feel, which is continued through the architecture and building/room décor. We had a room in the north wing closest to the spa. The room itself suited our family fine, but it was a bit of a walk from the main lobby to get there. There is a nice walking path outdoors, but was cumbersome to move luggage without assistance from staff.

We noted a sewage odor in the very late evening / early morning hours that was rather strong. While not unbearable, it was quite noticeable. Housekeeping staff advised us that there was a sewage treatment facility nearby and due to the prevailing winds there was nothing that could be done. Smell was gone by morning and did not notice until the following evening.

Pool area was not huge, but had a nice backdrop with the mountains. Water-slide was fun, but water was freezing. We also had stayed at Westin Kierland on this trip and preferred their pool area for our family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you and for sharing your candid feedback. We value each opportunity to introduce our amenities and resort staff to new visitors and appreciate that you elected to spend a portion of your visit to Arizona at our resort.

The smell you referenced might have been caused by a process undertaken by our neighboring golf course. They must conduct annual maintenance by de-weeding the riverbanks, to control the environment of the water surrounding their greens. For one or two days each year they must drain the river slightly and take preventative measures to guard against algae. This is a natural way and an approach that we prefer rather than using harsh and harmful chemicals. We understand that an unpleasing odor can leave a negative lasting impression and we apologize that this affected your stay.

Please let us know the next time you plan a trip to Arizona. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back into our home.

Sincerely,
Stephanie Sanstead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed for four nights on points as part of a family vacation to AZ. Arrived in evening during a major event at conference center so the valet area was very busy. Despite this the bellhops and valets were helpful and courteous. Checked in at front desk to find that my 2 rooms were adjoining as requested. Rooms were double queens with small balcony areas outside. Great views of the mountains in the distance. The room and the resort overall were clean, nicely styled and comfortable..

Breakfast buffet was not cheap, but had a good range of fresh food choices and children were half price. All staff were friendly and helpful. Pools were nicely maintained, and very large. One is heated, and poolside waiter service was reasonably attentive. Kids liked the waterslide. Went horseback riding with the whole family and loved it- excellent guide, horses suited to ages of kids (ranged from 6 to 13). Kids loved seeing coyotes, roadrunners and wild horses on the ride. Nature trail hike was also nice.

Did not make it to Rawhide, Kai or the spa, but hope to next time. Good location for day trips around Phoenix area. Overall, an excellent place to spend time with family. The scenery, views, activities, and always helpful staff make it great. I find it a great bonus to spend money at a Native American-owned facility, and all staff (tribal or not) exhibited a sense of pride and guest responsibility that make it enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wild Horse Pass is a unique resort and my family loves coming back every year for a week of vacation.
Horse back riding, great golf on 2 Troon managed courses, RawHide town and steakhouse and off course Kai.
The staff, the food and the atmosphere are super relaxing, the proximity to Phoenix and Scottsdale allow for quick day trips to many great local museums, restaurants and other local attractions.
Wife enjoys the spa, I enjoy the golf and the kids enjoy the pools, kids club, horses and just hanging out at this super cool resort.
Highly recommended for families!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive review and recommendation. Earning the loyalty of our guests means the world to us and we are honored to hear that we are one of your favorite family destinations in Arizona.

Have you heard about our summer Lego package? It is one of our resort’s most popular summer promotions and is year-after-year a guest favorite. This year’s promotion will offer a fun-filled summer day camp for the kids as well as many tempting treats for the adults such as golf, spa and dining discounts to name a few. This package sounds like the perfect fit for your family and we would love to have you join us this summer.

We hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Stephanie Sanstead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington,nc
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Start with a 2 mile driveway snaking through the dessert grounds seeing coyotes and roadrunners as you drive in. The resort is extremely large and includes two long wings a spa and conventon center. There is an excellent nature walking path that is over 2 miles long. Recommend getting one of the rooms facing the mountains for beautiful views, these are labeled starwood guest preferred rooms but you can join program for free if not member. Lobby is 3 story with womderful indian mural painting on ceiling nice bar area and free wifi in common area. Like most Sheratons wifi is extra in room and meeting space. Golf course looked well maintained but didnt get a chance to play. About 20 min from airport suggest a rental car to be able to enjoy area.

Room Tip: Ask for starwood preferred room on second floor best view and first floor you are on walking path so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Our family stayed at the resort for 2 nights (they had an offer for $99 per night - a bargain for a room for 4). The resort is not your typical Sheraton Hotel. The decor and ambience bring about a relaxing and peaceful environment.
The pool area is lovely, with views of the mountains, golf course and even wild horses in the distance. My husband enjoyed the golf course and my kids loved the water slide. There is a shuttle that will take you to the stables, where you can sign up for lessons or a short trail ride. The gondola ride is fun for small children.
Bedrooms are clean and comfortable. The main downside was the cost of the food - it was incredibly expensive for everything from a coffee to a dinner on the terrace.
We went out of season and were disappointed that the advertised children's program was not running, but the manager brought out the ingredients for s'mores and lit the outside fire so that we could roast our marshmallows - a lovely gesture that our kids really appreciated.
I'd recommend for a short trip - it's about a 15 min drive into Chandler.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This resort is a very nice property, rooms are top notch, well appointed with comfortable bed, nice furnishings...room service was good, staff was nice and quick at check in...the room seemed like a mile from the front desk, but after check in you can park closer to the room and walk down the stairs to save some steps...there is nothing else around without a drive of some length to find other food choices, and there are plenty of good ones within 10-15 minutes....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa

Address: 5594 West Wild Horse Pass Boulevard, Gila River Indian Community, Chandler, AZ 85226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Chandler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chandler
#6 Business Hotel in Chandler
#8 Family Hotel in Chandler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa is located in the Sonoran Desert on an expanse of rugged Arizona landscape where the ancient vistas, mountains, and roaming wild horses remain untouched. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Hotel Chandler
Sheraton Chandler
Chandler Sheraton
Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.