We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Times” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Firebird International Raceway

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Firebird International Raceway
20000 S. Maricopa Road, Chandler, AZ 85226
602-268-0200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 12 Attractions in Chandler
Type: Auto racing tracks, Sights & Landmarks
Attraction details
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good Times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Been to many great events at this Raceway, it can get hot, so bring lots of water and sunscreen. pay parking in the lot, no other parking around, which is fine. Depending on your event, you can sometimes get cheap tickets in the parking lot, we've done this a couple times and ended up with front row rock star seating for cheaper than reg. seats.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garfield, Arkansas
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The New Wildhorse Race Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Spent the weekend at this race park for the NHRA Winter Nationals - the facility was clean, and very capable of handling such a huge event. Had tickets to the P3 Section, row B 10-11 and they were just like being down on the track - no interferences, great access to the pits. They brought in tons of porta pottys which were a life saver. Went back on the following Tues & Wed for Frank Hawley's racing school and the crew from Wildhorse had things well under control preparing for the next upcoming event (Div. drag racing). The track was sticky and perfect - great place to race.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Not available anymore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

this site is around the corner from my home and I have not seen anything posted in 2014. I have no idea of what may be happening there.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California, United States
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“new name: Wild Horse Pass Motorsports Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

new operator is doing a lot to improve this place for drag racing, starting with the track itself... I'm sure it'll be even more enhanced for those of us in suites and media center come the 2015 event - very pleased with upgrades!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Now Gone”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I was staying at Sheraton Wild Horse Pass last spring. On Saturday night March 30th, as I was coming back to the resort, there was a massive traffic jam on I-10 and on the ramp leading to it. It seemed all the cars were fighting to get into Firebird. Later that night there was a great fireworks show over the track. I found out on the local news that night that Firebird was going out of business and this was their grand finale event. So as far as I know this place is closed and there are no more drag races, car races or boat races. I am not sure if there will be new owner or if the facility will be redeveloped as something else in conjunction with Wild Horse Pass. I imagine a lot of locals were saddened and may be able to share more information.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firebird International Raceway also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Firebird International Raceway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Firebird International Raceway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.