We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Road noise, mildewed, major housekeeping issues” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Chandler

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Motel 6 Chandler to your Saves list
Motel 6 Chandler
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7445 West Chandler Blvd., Chandler, AZ 85326 (Formerly Southgate Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Chandler
Sedona, AZ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Road noise, mildewed, major housekeeping issues”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Even with the AC running, the room stinks of mildew. No TV remote. The only towel was a dirty washcloth on the floor behind the bathroom door. The front desk agent said that the entire housekeeping staff had been fired, so all of the current ones are new. She brought towels that she said were right out of the dryer. They were warm, but smelled faintly of food grease, and not at all like soap. The sheets are worn so badly in places that I can see the blanket right through them. At least they are clean. I should have left. I'll never stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Chandler, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Motojane, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We sincerely apologize for your unpleasant stay. Please kindly contact our Guest Relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you and our other guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    8
    7
    9
See reviews for
8
2
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Where do I start. We were staying there while our apartment was getting ready. A third party was paying for the room. Some how there was a mix up on the payment the third party made. They said that two nights weren't paid but never notified us until going into the third night at 10:30 pm when the police were at our door telling us to get out. We offered to just pay and they still didn't want to take our money. Which I guess was their loss. Also the tv didnt work right, internet barely worked, bed bugs, rude staff, beds had bar in middle, switched our rooms 3x. Just absolutely horrible.DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Chandler, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Chrissy1214, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We sincerely apologize for your unpleasant stay. Please kindly contact our Guest Relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you and our other guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a very low priced place to stay, unfortunately the quality has dropped dramatically the few times I have stayed. The first time I stayed a few years ago this place was great but the last 2 times within this year the place is turning into a dump. The sink wouldn't drain. The toilet handle had to be turned completely around just to flush and then put back so you don't hear the water running. The a/c heater unit control cover for the dial is not even on its located off, for reference I suppose. The smoke detector didn't even have batteries in it. The quality of the room is just poor overall. Lots of damage throughout. It's a shame because this used to be a nice inexpensive place to stay in chandler

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Chandler, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Jaime 951,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.We sincerely apologize for the maintenance issues you encountered during your recent stay. These conditions are note consistent with our standards for quality at Motel 6. We encourage your contact our guest relations department to report your experience so may serve you better in the future: 1-800-557-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed here for one night and have stayed in other Motel 6 locations over the course of many years. This particular Motel 6 location is in need of some serious revisions.

This is understandably one of the older locations that hasn't been renovated yet but it is in dire need of other improvements as well.

I had issues with bed bugs and woke up with an itch on my legs. There was an insect control problem with this motel. The bed linens were old and the comforter had cigarette burns in it- and this was a non-smoking room?

On the good side, this motel is in a very good location. The pool area was decent, the truck parking lot across the street has plenty of room for large vehicles, and there's several great restaurants nearby (Whataburger, Rudy's
Barbecue, and a few others).

A renovation and better insect control would make this motel a much better place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I am old enough to remember how Motel 6 got its name - originally all the rooms were $6. I think this property must be one of the originals, and if the price were the same as it was then, you would get what you paid for. That might make it cool in a retro kind of way. Instead, it's just tired, worn, and old looking. Everything needs repair or replacement. Plumbing and wiring all loose, grime in the corners, flat pillows, tiny towels, slick bedspreads that slide off onto the dirty carpets during the night. We only stayed here because we had our dog with us and Motel 6 has a free-pet policy. For one night it was barely tolerable. If you had to stay here two nights you could become seriously depressed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAS CRUCES
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

On the road and wasn't able to get reviews on this motel before booking a night as we passed through AZ. Not really dirty, just very worn all around -- sheets, towels, screens, etc. There are many motels along that stretch of interstate and it's worth paying a little more. No amenities -- one little bar of soap for the room, no toiletries, no breakfast items.

Room Tip: When possible, get user reviews before booking a night. Look at room before making decision to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went to Arizona to meet my husband who is working out there. Manger is rude. Racist and I will never stay there again!!!! Much better hotels in the area. Small pool which they watch you in. My kids came and the manger watch us the whole time. Maybe he thought we were going to steal the water. So if you black don't waste your time or money. Even tho its 2013 I thought I was back in the south.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chandler
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Chandler
Comfort Inn Chandler
#6 of 28 in Chandler
4.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn Chandler
Quality Inn Chandler
#8 of 28 in Chandler
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Phoenix / Chandler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Phoenix Chandler
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Phoenix Chandler
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Phoenix Chandler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Chandler

Address: 7445 West Chandler Blvd., Chandler, AZ 85326 (Formerly Southgate Motel)
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Chandler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Chandler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Chandler 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Motel-6, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Motel 6 Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Motel 6
Chandler Motel Six
Motel Six Chandler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Chandler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.