We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Motel 6” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Chandler

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Chandler to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Motel 6 Chandler
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7445 West Chandler Blvd., Chandler, AZ 85326 (Formerly Southgate Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 27 hotels in Chandler
Durango Colorado
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Classic Motel 6”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I am old enough to remember how Motel 6 got its name - originally all the rooms were $6. I think this property must be one of the originals, and if the price were the same as it was then, you would get what you paid for. That might make it cool in a retro kind of way. Instead, it's just tired, worn, and old looking. Everything needs repair or replacement. Plumbing and wiring all loose, grime in the corners, flat pillows, tiny towels, slick bedspreads that slide off onto the dirty carpets during the night. We only stayed here because we had our dog with us and Motel 6 has a free-pet policy. For one night it was barely tolerable. If you had to stay here two nights you could become seriously depressed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    7
    7
    9
See reviews for
5
2
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LAS CRUCES
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

On the road and wasn't able to get reviews on this motel before booking a night as we passed through AZ. Not really dirty, just very worn all around -- sheets, towels, screens, etc. There are many motels along that stretch of interstate and it's worth paying a little more. No amenities -- one little bar of soap for the room, no toiletries, no breakfast items.

Room Tip: When possible, get user reviews before booking a night. Look at room before making decision to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Went to Arizona to meet my husband who is working out there. Manger is rude. Racist and I will never stay there again!!!! Much better hotels in the area. Small pool which they watch you in. My kids came and the manger watch us the whole time. Maybe he thought we were going to steal the water. So if you black don't waste your time or money. Even tho its 2013 I thought I was back in the south.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Beautiful boutique type motel on the outside , Rat hole on the inside. Motel 6 should be ashamed of this one. Entry door handle could only be opened in the "up" position" That was strange to me, I should have run away screaming at that point. The maids have no idea how to clean a room or even make a bed. twin size mattress pad on a king bed, queen sheet on the bottom and a king sizes sheet on the top/ Burned, torn and thread bare blanket and the horrible holes in the bedspread. NONE of the electrical outlets could hold a plug, carpets filthy. I don't think the maids care. Chairs were soaked with urine stains. It was clean and beautiful on the outside. I stay at Motel 6 all the time while traveling and what I expect from a motel 6 is a clean room, clean linens that fit the bed, a clean floor and electrical outlet to charge my phone. I don't ask for much, but this was way under standard for a Motel 6. I relocated to the motel 6 in Eloy to get away from this rat trap.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 203, actually, just stay away from this one all together
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

NONE of the electrical outlets would hold a plug, they were well worn out. The beds had exposed framing and I cut my leg getting in to bed, Carpets were filthy, the mattress pad was a twin size on a King size bed, blankets had severe burns in them and had many holes. I had to switch rooms and the one I was switched to had dirty sheets, I complained that I sprained my wrist trying to open the entry door. When I complained the manager said there was nothing wrong with with the door handle and basically called me a liar.
NEVER AGAIN
I had to call corporate to get an incident report made out for my injury because the manager refused me one 3 times, he said it was not necessary.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallup, New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Overall not bad for the price. Good location, good beds. 2 Queen beds

Cleanliness - OK, there was a towel left on the floor of the bathroom behind the door. They came quickly to get it and gave us extra towels on request.
Staff - Good, frienldy enough
Rooms - good size, We had 2 queen beds and room enough for a family of 4. The shower/tub combo worked well for us. The tv was an old tube type about 27 inches. There was good selection of channels. There was a small round table with 2 chairs.
Price - Excellent price for the area. Less than half of any other local hotel.
Location - There is a circle k, Dennys, cracker barrel, Whataburger, Rudy's BBQ within walking distance. A very nice mall is about 5 minutes away and a very nice casino also about 5 minutes by car.

Room Tip: Bottom floor so you can park close to your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This motel was built within the last 5 years according to the Motel 6 website. They've let the inside go! The sheets were coming off the bed because the maid wasn't trained in motel bed making. (I was as I did this as a job once.) First of all the sheets were dingy and old, not big enough to even tuck in all around the mattress (no such thing as fitted sheets here). The blanket was so worn you could see through it in spots and the edges were ripped! The top mattress wasn't even aligned with the boxsprings.
The dresser drawer wouldn't close all the way because the molding was loose and blocked it. Apparently the maid didn't care enough to make sure it even looked good. Old 19" TV.
The shower had the curved curtain rod that was sagging down so as you took a shower the curtain slid away from the walls and water got all over the floor. The shower head had you running around trying to get wet.
The smoke detector was hanging by the wires, not even attached to the wall. Didn't check if it worked.
Used the laundry room. The washers are older than the motel!
The place looks nice and so does the pool. Has a quality look from the outside and let me tell you looks are very deceiving. This place needs so MAJOR TLC. The paint looked fresh and the carpet looked fairly new in the room, but the furniture and bedding was horrible. They really need refurbish the outdated damaged furniture. The bathroom sink was all cracked in the bowl.
This Motel 6 is surrounded by higher class motels that charge quite a bit more for rooms. If they put a little money into it and made it more livable, they would compete with those hotels, because they would get better reviews!
Desk clerk was very nice, but someone doesn't want to take the time or money to keep the place up. Won't be staying here again.
The sad thing is, they do have truck (big rig) parking, but my truck is nicer inside than this room was! 2 stars is the best I can do, because the clerk was nice/helpful and it doesn't look dilapidated on the outside.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Chandler

Address: 7445 West Chandler Blvd., Chandler, AZ 85326 (Formerly Southgate Motel)
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Chandler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 27 hotels in Chandler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Chandler 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 6 Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Motel Six
Chandler Motel 6
Motel Six Chandler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Chandler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.