We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an average Chinese buffet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yummy Grill Buffet - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Yummy Grill Buffet
2100 S Gilbert Rd, Chandler, AZ
Website
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Washington, Michigan
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Just an average Chinese buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I had high hopes for a better than average buffet, but this was not it. The grill had only a few veggie choices to BBQ, and only 4 sauces. The main buffet also has a lack of veggies to have with the usual choice of dishes. The rest was good, decent deserts if that is what one wants at a Chinese buffet. Lunch was $7.99, dinner is $11.99, adding crab legs and little else. I haven't found a better buffet in this area yet, but that is not saying much when comparing to all buffets.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a decent place to go if you like chinese buffets. It is clean and the servers are nice. This buffet offers many choices and the food is good. A favorite go to.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamberlain, South Dakota
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Buffet I've Been To”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Two words describe this restruant the best: "GO HUNGRY". This was the largest, biggest variety of Chinese food I've ever been to. And it was fantastic! They have everything you could ever want in selection of main courses and desert. And the staff was pleasant and cute!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a let down.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I thought this would be like the other Asian/Sushi/Mongolian buffets in the valley, but I was totally disappointed. I started with the popular Chinese foods: sweet & sour, kung pao, and sesame chicken. All the breadings were soggy. I tried the sushi next, but it was the same quality and variety that is found in my grocery store. After that, I figured i would just fill up on shrimp and crab legs. The crab leg clusters, however, were battered and deep fried. I thought it must be soft-shelled crab, so I bit into it. No, it was like chewing on glass. So then I tried removing the crust and breaking and eating like normal, but because the meat was deep-fried, it was mushy, making it impossible to scoop out any meat with a fork. The shrimp was cooked the same way, tempura-battered and fried with the shells on. Do some people eat the shells? I don't know, but I wasn't going to scrape off batter and shell pieces for each bite.

I guess if you were starving and needed a cheap buffet, I would recommend this place. You could fill up on spring rolls, soup, and roasted chicken. The green beans and grilled beef slices were good, too. Otherwise, there are a lot of restaurants in the area that are a better choice.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Seafood is Yummy, Price is right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This recently reopened chinese buffet is awesome. Salt and pepper shrimp, all types of pork and chicken dishes, salmon, delicious sushi, even some american food for picky kiddies. There is a mongolan stir fry area, and all the food is very fresh, constantly replenished and the desserts and salads are included. You are really tempted to over eat. The pricing is very low, lunch in the six dollar range, dinner at nine dollars. Decor is essentially generic oriental, and the place is always filled with asians, an excellent review in itself. Beverages are extra, but inexpensive. and refills are speedy
My wife and I have eaten there four times at lunch, and havre yet to be diaappointed. I would give this place 2 thumbs up. Don't be put off by the exterior,the building once housed a "Hometown Buffet".

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yummy Grill Buffet also viewed

 
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yummy Grill Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.