We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New management and chef not any good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Otaku

Otaku
2430 South Gilbert Road, Chandler, AZ 85286
480 821 3908
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 543 Restaurants in Chandler
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Chinese, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Otaku: obsessed, hardcore fan, cult fan, fanboy or nerd. Originating in Japan from a polite second-person pronoun meaning "your home." Otaku in the U.S. is used much like the term geek. We have brought this obsession to South Chandler. Enjoy traditional Asian cuisine, artfully prepared. Fresh maki (rolls), sushi, sashimi, noodle dishes and omakase are just the beginning of this incredible dining experience.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“New management and chef not any good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Repeat returning customer sad to find on Sunday night that the chef and food as well as pricing has changed with no warning. The "old" Sunday night pricing as well as the Happy Hour pricing were acceptable for the quality food received. BUT, they are under new management and that is gone....long story short is I will not be returning. I give them 6 months before the returning customers NO LONGER return and they hang the OUT OF BUSINESS sign. Bye bye Otaku. You screwed up.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    3
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, az.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great Food and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We have been going to this restaurant since it opened, and it seems to stay very consistant with good food and service. They have a nice happy hour and the bar seems to fill up fast. Last night we sat at the sushi bar and it was such a nice time chatting with Travis and Paul the sushi chefs. The sushi is so fresh and the orders come quickly.
I would suggest this for a date night, family night, or business outing because it has a nice atmosphere and a lovely patio to enjoy your drinks and dinner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great Chinese food, average sushi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I've tried Otaku four times now. The first was when they first opened and the sushi was very, very good. I just tried them again - twice for lunch and once for dinner - over the past month. The sushi was barely average and I was really, really disappointed. The rolls were small, the shrimp tempura featured in some of the rolls was bland and chewy, and the rolls just didn't taste that great.

The Chinese food offerings, on the other hand, were very good. The fried rice dishes, orange chicken, sweet and sour chicken, and salt-and-pepper pork chops are absolutely delicious. The portions are very good, too.

Bottom line: good service, great Chinese food, average sushi. Plan accordingly!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Average food, bad service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

We just had a mediocre lunch here. What made it bad was mostly the service. Not sure if they were understaffed but it really wasn't that busy. It started out bad when we had to wait about 5 to 10 minutes just to be seated for lunch. There was nobody in front of us, nobody behind us, and nobody to even acknowledge our existence.

When someone finally said that he would be right there to seat us we thought he would finish up what he was doing and come seat us. Wrong, he proceeded to clear more tables and more tables before someone else had to come seat us. To me, that is not a good idea to keep customers waiting when you could do that after we sat down. It wasn't like they were busy or needed the tables. Just bad prioritizing.

The wait for our food was terribly long. The food was mediocre. We also had to wait quite awhile for our check. We hardly saw our waiter during our meal.

I think this place needs to work on customer service more before they continue to lose customers. I'm willing to give the place another try just in case it was a bad day and hope things are different.

The restaurant does look nice and has some potential.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Sushi and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Excellent sushi--esp the one wrapped in white (what is that called??). Manager helped me maximize use of my Groupon. Experience was top notch. Lovely decor.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otaku also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Otaku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otaku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.