We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smells smokey, awful service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Phoenix Chandler / Fashion Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Phoenix Chandler / Fashion Center to your Saves list
Residence Inn Phoenix Chandler / Fashion Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 North Federal Street, Chandler, AZ 85226   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Chandler
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Smells smokey, awful service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Room smelled badly of smoke. We immediately called the hotel front desk. We were told that it's likely someone smoked in the room since the hotel staff KNOW that people commonly smoke there. We were told housekeeping would be sent immediately to investigate. Housekeeping didn't arrive before we had to leave for a wedding. Room still smelled awful later that night so we again called the front desk. A deoderizing spray bottle was delivered. It did not improve the smell.

Check in time: 3:00. Room ready at 3:45. Shuttle for the wedding left at 4:00. No explanation for the delayed room was provided, nor any apology or offer of assistance.

The bathroom light fixture flashed multiple times when turned out and made an extremely loud buzzing sound when on.

The noise from other units was much louder than we expected for this type of hotel.

In the morning I expressed my concerns to the front desk. The employee stated she would reduce the charges and let the manager know I wanted to speak with her. The next day I was charged the entire amount, not the reduced amount. I had to call and explain to two different people what happened for the reduced rate to be applied.

I left messages on the manager's voicemail and with staff and sent in complaints through the website. It took several weeks to get any response from the manager, Lenka Pritchard, who only responded in a brief e-mail in which she stated she'll have all charges refunded.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    30
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
26
11
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mazkeret Batya, Israel
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Comfortable room, nice staff, great location close to shopping center restaurants and easy access to the highway.
Breakfast is good and evening snack as well.
Third time I was staying in this hotel and it maintains a good level.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The location is great as there a so many things at the surrounding. It is easily is buy or get food and things. The room is same as most residence inn, but it is cleaner and new. The breakfast and Snack provided at evening time is great too. The room service and lobby service staff are all very friendly and helpful, which make you feel ease to approach them if you need help.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Really nice, clean, modern hotel. 1 Bedroom suite had dishwasher, cooktop, microwave, 2 tv's, modern bathroom with separate sink area - bonus in my book! Complimentary hot cooked breakfast. We were there New Year's Eve. It would have been nice to have the breakfast time extended for this Holiday.

Room Tip: The 1 bedroom had a Queen bed rather than a King. Next time I stay here I will opt for the King Stu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The 2-Bedroom Suite was PERFECT for my family of six on our recent road trip through the Phoenix area. I will definitely stay here on my way through town. It is worth the extra little drive outside the city to come and stay here. Highly Recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed in one of the suites for several nights. The suite was spacious, with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms (with great shower heads), a living room and kitchen. I didn't sleep all too well here, for several reasons. 1) The mattress and pillows were pretty mediocre. 2) There was no fan in the bedroom - it got quite hot during the night when the A/C unit turned off, and there was no air circulation. 3) When other people in the hallway closed their doors, it made our door shake noisily! The staff were very friendly, but I don't think we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elko, MN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here last minute while visiting the area, and it was a great choice. I don't know where they find their employees, but from my initial call with questions to the time we left, everyone went out of their way to be firendly and helpful. Huge kuddos to Matt and Cassie with putting up for my requests and changes. I loved the "Guest of the Day" feature (and I'm not just saying that because it was me :)). The room was nice, and the breakfast was great as well. The only think I would change, would be a higher grade of sheets, but I'm very particular in that area. I highly reccomend staying here.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with family- ask for a 2 bedroom suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Phoenix Chandler / Fashion Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Phoenix Chandler / Fashion Center

Address: 200 North Federal Street, Chandler, AZ 85226
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Chandler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Chandler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Phoenix Chandler / Fashion Center 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Phoenix Chandler / Fashion Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Phoenix Chandler/Fashion Hotel Chandler
Residence Inn Chandler
Chandler Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Phoenix Chandler / Fashion Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.